BT Broadband

Exclusive deal £40 Amazon voucher + £80 BT reward card
50Mb broadband £28.99 per month

BT Smart Hub

BT Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest BT broadband reviews.

175 BT broadband reviews

1.1
175 BT broadband reviews
Post review
  • 5
  • 7
  • 3
  • 13
  • 137
  • Package price
    1.3/5
  • Customer service
    1.2/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.7/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
shocking service
BT broadband review by Nikki  · 1 month ago
Review
My advice is stay clear of BT have caused me so much worry , Have not delivered the service they promised , seem to avoid putting it right and now I am in a contract , however I will fight on .
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
customer service
BT broadband review by ordinaryguy  · 3 months ago
Review
checking my broadband speed, I`m still not happy with result, so I go through BT help and all you get is options that are completely useless.
for example I pay for superfast fibre no less than 55mbs but most the time I get 5mbs and the speed test is just deceiving, I do a Ookla speed test which
is completely different results to BT`s speed test results.
which is correct Ookla results 5.23mbps or BT speed results 66mbps which is correct?
yet my internet is sluggish and absolutely terrible, and its very frustrating when doing online competition gaming.
I don't recommend BT to anyone.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Early termination fee= £600
BT broadband review by ugly brit  · 5 months ago
Review
Be careful what you choose in life. choosing BT will grab food and goods from your family, my sons have broken shoes at school and go to bed hungry.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Worst
BT broadband review by Emine  · 6 months ago
Review
Worst customer service ever.
They don't help at all they just ignore you. Please do not use BT they have taken a lot of money from me without reason.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Appalling service and customer service
BT broadband review by RSP  · 6 months ago
Review
9.9.19 - I am having lots of problems with BT who wont allow me to leave until my contract is up (July 2020). When I re took my contract out with them it was on my understanding that we would continue getting the speed we were being provided. Since then it has dramatically dropped and they don't seem to care and say they are still providing us with the minimum speed in there terms and conditions (which is practically nothing!). If I had of know the internet speed would have dropped that dramatically then I would have never taken out the contract with them. There customer service is appalling. We turn off our wifi as it is that bad and use 4G so I really don't understand what we are paying for!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Odious Company
BT broadband review by Babsebabes  · 6 months ago
Review
I have just left BT after my 18 month contract expired and I realised my bills has been fluctuating from £48 in May 2019 to most recent £76.98 in August 2019 for no apparent reason. When I complained and asked why the bill had increased so much I was told it was because my contract had ended and the discounts had therefore expired. I understand this happens but it’s a disgusting practice not to inform the customers of the state of play. Also the BT guy was obnoxious and after offering me a ‘better deal’ which I didn’t jump at he then ‘threatened’ that the price would probably go up next time I phone to accept
Since I have switched my package I’ve had a deluge of ‘spam’ calls..
Oh and we got a very poor reception on TV where programmes were interrupted with static and jumped forward so we missed half the drama. Don’t touch BT with barge pole!!
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Terrible services and expensive
BT broadband review by Paulo  · 7 months ago
Review
Not honest people not professional only there to reaping people money. Hallelujah I’m finished my contract first and last time with them, 100% regretted. Out there better and cheaper networks available. Don’t take bt contract the customers services is the worse ever and ready to make money every way from you won’t let you know about any change condition or additional fees.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Would not even give 1 star for customer service for time to fix issue
BT broadband review by Louise  · 7 months ago
Review
Engineer came and cut down line left hanging for 2 weeks. Left with no phone and broadband after many mobile calls finally got an engineer to come and attach line again. Very poor customer service at the call centre.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
Terrible!
BT broadband review by B.F  · 7 months ago
Review
Why Even bother with BT. You could simply just save your money and go on a nice holiday and the internet would be better there. BT are literally terrible ripping us off and slow internet. They are liars saying Superfast internet. They also rob your money and you should go with a better supplier like sky or talk talk. Only good thing is they are quite friendly to talk to but that’s it.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
BT = Big Trouble
BT broadband review by Sara  · 7 months ago
Review
BT is the worst company I have met so far. I have been with BT since January and since the beginning, I have told BT to make sure if they can provide the service they were offering because I would need it. They kept saying that absolutely they could provide me and guarantee me a specific speed. Well, since January I complained as they never ever provided me with that speed that they said they would and that I was paying for. I spent so many hours to try to help them in solving the problems and having engineerings in and out, for absolutely nothing! Plus, they kept saying they would call me and they would not. I normally do not write reviews but this I really had.

BT the worst ever in service, price, and communication.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
  • faisal rashid 7 months ago
    worst customer service ever......false promises every time.......keep sending me Bill's for the tel line never been activated.........scale between 1 to 5.....I give 0.25........worst ever

Find the best BT Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best BT Broadband deals

 
 

BT Features

How do I switch my broadband to BT?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to BT broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by BT. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both BT and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a BT broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our BT broadband calculator above to see which BT broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to BT broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

BT review logo

BT Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of BT

BT Pro's

  • Reliable service
  • Fast connection
  • Widely available

BT Con's

  • Can be pricey if not within contract
  • Short term contracts for students only
  • Topped Ofcom Complaints League for Pay TV (1st Quarter 2018)

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to BT?

From the moment you order your new BT broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Can I get BT broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to BT broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to BT and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your BT broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to BT broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (BT). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.