BT Broadband

BT Broadband Reviews

Is BT Broadband any good?

BT Smart Hub

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

BT - Fibre 1

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
50Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£0
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 242.91
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 2

Offer ends Thursday 3rd of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£0
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 287.91
Show cost details

BT - Fibre Essential Only

36Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£26.99
24 month contract Setup cost £10
Total first year cost £ 343.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 1 Only

50Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£27.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 345.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 100

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£0
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 359.91
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 2 Only

67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£31.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 393.87
Show cost details

BT - Entertainment + Fibre 2

Offer ends Thursday 3rd of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£6
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 413.91
Show cost details

BT - Sport + Fibre 2

Offer ends Thursday 3rd of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£7.5
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 445.41
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 300

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
300Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£0
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 449.91
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 900

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
900Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£0
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 539.91
Show cost details

BT - Big Sport + Fibre 2

Offer ends Thursday 3rd of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£20
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 707.91
Show cost details

BT Features

What is 'BT Complete Wi-Fi’?

BT Smart Hub2 with BT Wifi Complete

BT offer an additional service called ‘Complete Wi-Fi’. It comes with a ‘strong signal guarantee’, so BT promise that you'll have a seamless Wi-Fi reception in every room in your home. To get you started, BT will supply you with the latest Smart Hub 2 and a single Wi-Fi disk, to boost your Wi-Fi signal. If your Wi-Fi is not seamless, BT will send you an additional two Wi-Fi discs free of charge.

If after 3 months you aren't able to get at least 10Mbps in every room of your house, you can claim a one-off credit of £100 (poor speeds due to broadband faults are exempt from this offer). Prices vary, but you can expect to pay around £7 extra per month if you add this feature to a new contract.

BT Smart Hub router

BT Smart Hub

The BT Smart Hub is an amazing bit of kit. It's class leading and the best bundled broadband router currently available. It’s almost identical to its bigger brother the BT ‘Smart Hub 2’ (see details below). It now comes FREE with any BT Broadband package (Standard ADSL Broadband).

The BT Smart Hub can be purchased separately if you want to improve your current Wi-Fi, but it will cost £129 + P&P. BT stipulate that their Smart Hub is not compatible with other ISP’s, however user reports demonstrate that it will also work with Plusnet Broadband (Plusnet are owned by BT). Customers who were outside of their contract period with BT before the 13th December 2019 are able to keep their Smart Hub and use it with Plusnet Broadband to avoid BT’s out of contract prices (see 'Ownership of hubs' below for further details). Note: The BT Smart Hub will not work with BT ‘Complete Wi-Fi’.

BT review logo

BT Pros & Cons

Key features for BT packages

BT Pros

  • Widely available
  • Excellent Wi-Fi Router
  • BT regularly offer amazing incentive deals for new customers

BT Cons

  • Can be pricey if not within contract
  • Short term contracts for students only
  • In a customer survey for broadband satisfaction BT fell below the market average in 2019.

Smart Hub specifications:

- Smart wireless feature – will scan to automatically find the least congested frequency
- Modem type - ADSL, ADSL2+ and VDSL2
- Network protocol - IPV4 and IPV6
- Simultaneous dual-band
- Supported frequencies - 2.4GHz (3x3 11n MIMO), 5GHz (4x4 11ac)
- Data transfer rate - Max Physical interface rates are: 2.4GHz = 217Mbs | 5GHz = 1733Mbs
- Beamforming (Implicit and Explicit Beamforming)
- 7 internal antennas (3x2.4GHz, 4x5GHz)
- Data transfer rate between LAN to WAN, then 1G or WAN max line speed up to 300mbits
- 4 x 1 Gigabit ethernet ports
- USB 2.0 1
- 1 x RJ45
- Encryption WPA2, WPA (Auto)

BT Smart Hub 2 router with Fibre1 & Fibre2

BT Smart Hub 2

The BT Smart Hub 2 offers very similar features to the Smart Hub 1 and now comes free with any BT Fibre broadband package. Both the Hub 1 & 2 offer dual band Wi-Fi, but as the Hub 2 is designed for use with BT’s ‘Complete Wi-Fi system’ it’s not possible to split the SSID names for 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz. This won't bother most users, but if you want to have two independent network names, it’s not possible with the Smart Hub 2 (Note: If you don’t know what an SSID is then you don’t need to be concerned about this).

BT Smart Hub 2 – Dect phone compatible

One of the key benefits of the Hub 2 is the inclusion of dect phone compatibility built into the router. This means if you have any CATiq 2.1 compliant dect phones, they will work with the Smart Hub 2 without the need for an additional phone base station - How smart is that!

Smart Hub 2 specifications:
- Same specifications as the BT Smart Hub (see above)
- Compatible with BT’s ‘Complete Wi-Fi’ service
- Dect phone compatible (Catiq 2.1)

FREE Access to over 5 million BT Wi-fi hotspots

BT Wi-Fi-Hotspot

When you become a BT Broadband customer, you'll gain access to over 5 million BT Wi-fi hotspots across the UK - very handy if you're low on mobile data or regularly travel. www.bt.com

FREE BT Call Protect

Call protect is designed to automatically divert known nuisance callers to a junk voicemail. It’s extremely effective and simple to use. You can also choose to block numbers by type, ie. international or withheld numbers. If a nuisance caller manages to contact you, it’s simple to bar them - just dial 1572 and follow the voice options to block the caller. Future calls from the same number will automatically be sent to a junk voicemail. BT call protect is free and is included with your BT landline.

FREE BT Parental Controls (optional)

BT Parental Controls is designed to help keep your family safe online. Once activated, all devices connected to your BT Hub will have content filtered to a restriction level that you set. The same safety filters also apply if you sign into BT Wi-Fi with your BT ID. It’s easy to setup and to manage. It’s preferable that you use a BT Hub router, but you don’t have to. To use the BT Parental Controls with your own router you would just need to update your router to use BT’s DNS settings.

FREE BT Cloud storage (up to 1TB of free cloud storage)

All BT Broadband packages come with BT Cloud. It's similar to alternative services like Apple iCloud, Google Drive & Dropbox and is a handy way to backup, share and store important files. BT Cloud is compatible with PCs, Android tablets & phones, iPhones, iPads, Windows phones and a recent update to the Mac iOS has improved the MAC iOS experience. You'll get 10GB of free storage with Broadband Unlimited, 200GB of free storage with Fibre 1 or 1TB with Fibre 2.

FREE BT ‘Stay Fast Guarantee’

Before you agree your new broadband contract with BT, they will advise you of your estimated download speed and minimum download speed (also classed as your guaranteed speed). If your broadband falls below your guaranteed speed and is not fixed within 90 days, you can claim a £20 reward card. A maximum of four claims per year can be made.

BT TV – Optional extra

BT TV

BT Offer a wide variety of flexible TV packages that you can swap and change every month. BT TV comes with a set top box that lets you pause, rewind and record up to 300 hours of TV. It also includes access to built in apps like; Netflix, NowTV, Amazon Prime Video & BT Sports. Note: All bolt-ons have a 1-month minimum term and renew automatically until cancelled.

Ofcom Voluntary codes of practice for broadband speed

In addition to BT’s ‘Stay Fast Guarantee’, BT have also signed up to Ofcom's Voluntary 'Code of practice for broadband speed'. This stipulates that if your broadband speed falls below your guaranteed minimum speed, and has not improved within 30 days of reporting the fault, you can leave your contract without being subjected to any early termination charges. You can read more about the right to exit (RTE) process on our broadband speed test page.

How much is BT Line rental?

BT phone line rental is £20.20 per month. If you sign up for any BT broadband and calls package, this will be included in your package price.

Can I buy my own BT ‘Complete Wi-Fi’ disks?

Yes! But they're an expensive way of boosting your Wi-Fi when purchased individually. BT ‘Complete Wi-Fi’ is not compatible with the first-generation Smart Hub, so you'll need to have a Smart Hub 2 - currently priced at £100. Then, each additional Wi-Fi disk will cost a further £100. One disk is likely to get you full Wi-Fi coverage, but if you live in a multi-storey or large house, we would advise adding a package to your contract as BT offer up-to 3 FREE Wi-Fi disks. The main benefit of buying your own disk is that you don’t need to return them at the end of the contract. If you plan to stay with BT for a long time, it may be worth investing in your own new or pre-owned equipment (see ownership of hubs below for further details). Note: If you're using equipment that's been separately purchased by you and is not owned by BT, the 'Stay Fast Guarantee' (see above) doesn't apply. Visit the BT Shop www.bt.com

BT’s new ownership rules – Can I keep my Smart Hub?

As of 13th December 2019, BT changed their rules regarding the ownership of equipment at the end of a contract. We commend BT’s approach as it will reduce what is sent to landfill. We understand that this will irritate some customers who would prefer to use their Smart Hub with another provider. However, BT stipulate that their Smart Hub is not compatible with other ISP’s. Although, we do know that it will work with Plusnet Broadband (who are owned by BT). Those with contracts taken out after 13th December 2019 won't be able to retain their Smart Hub to use with Plusnet. At the end of your BT contract you have 60 days to return their equipment in the pre-paid jiffy bag supplied by BT. Alternatively, it can be handed in at any EE store. This ownership rule applies to the following equipment: BT Broadband Hubs (Hub 4, Smart Hub, and Smart Hub 2) and TV Boxes (Z4, G4 and G5). It's not applicable to Hubs and Wi-Fi Discs that have been purchased outright.

Can I get BT broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection, the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband, the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still uses the phone line. To get BT broadband without a phone line, you'll need to have access to 'Full Fibre Broadband' - often referred to as 'fibre to the premises' (FTTP) or 'Cable Broadband' like Virgin Media. The availability of FTTP broadband is rapidly increasing and to-date (June 2020) BT FTTP has an 8% UK coverage. But, it still has a long way to go to match the 91% coverage that BT fibre to the cabinet (FTTC) network currently enjoys in the UK. If you're in a city or built up area, you're more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to BT?

From the moment you order your new BT broadband online, to the date of installation it's usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within 30 minutes on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

BT Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest BT broadband reviews.

186 BT broadband reviews

1.1
186 BT broadband reviews
Post review
  • 5
  • 7
  • 6
  • 14
  • 154
  • Package price
    1.3/5
  • Customer service
    1.2/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.7/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Appalling - if only there had been a choice
BT broadband review by Jeff in Bath 1 day ago
Review
I have just moved into a house with BT fibre to the door. In all I estimate that I have spent 6 hours on the phone to BT trying to get it to work as advertised.

It didn't work on installation (fixed by very helpful BT engineer). Nothing arrived on the date they said. Took three phone calls to sort out a 'confirmed' engineer visit that they couldn't actually make because it was more than a fortnight away. Visit to connect TV etc was cancelled (OK, that was a Covid issue, but are they so short of "engineers' that they can't find someone to plug in a TV?). Missing equipment needed another 45min phone call to sort out. Every phone call is at least a half hour wait for a response, although, given what they have to deal with, the call centre people were very helpful.

As for the "help" system on My BT it's about as much use as a chocolate teapot - answers questions that wouldn't strain the intellect of a mentally deficient gerbil, and fails to answer simple questions like "Where's my xxxxing kit?"

To be quite honest, BT's reputation preceded it and I wouldn't have touched them with a bargepole, but because it was a newish fibre to the door installation there was no choice.

NEVER AGAIN!!!



  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
It isn't fibre broadband if it comes down a phone line
BT broadband review by cyberdoyle 2 months ago
Review
None of the products on this page is fibre. Just sayin.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    Trev 2 months ago
    They are fibre, it's just fibre to the cabinet FTTC. - Just sayin... BT sell two types of broadband, 1st FTTC & 2nd FTTP which delivers direct fibre to the property.
Generally works
BT broadband review by DaveyG 2 months ago
Review
I have Halo 1. The speed to the house is good at 45mb but am limited with where I can put the router so it sits in a cupboard. Generally speeds are pretty good, I'm at home on my own during the day but it doesn't handle MS Teams meetings very well depending on when they are. Rarely have problems with Netflix etc, bit for some reason it doesn't always like Motorola phones and refuses to let them on the network, necessitating a reboot. MyBT app is ok, but frequently fails to do the speed test. The router is infinitely better than its poorer relation Plusnet.
  • Package price
    3/5
  • Customer service
    3.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    2.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
IF you have Virgin go with them. I move house because of BT.
BT broadband review by Andrew 3 months ago
Review
3.4 Mbps Downaload and 0.6 Mbps Upload.
Netflix, Gaming, Streaming to Twitch or simmilar, basically anything modern, forget about it.
BT is only good for 80yo people with severe dementia who still think is 1990 with dial up phones.

Avoid this Company at all costs. just get mobile data from any provider on your phone and you have the same quality if not better than BT.
They are rated 1 star everywhere. I wonder why?
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Abysmal customer support
BT broadband review by James 4 months ago
Review
I have been with BT fibre for about 3 years now and to be fair, I don't get many issues.

But damn, when you do have an issue are they shockingly terrible at fixing it! I'll explain the problem I have;

2 weeks ago I woke up to not having an internet or phone connection. After a few phone calls (on my mobile) to BT they sent me an engineer the next day.
The next day arrives and the engineer turns up on time, all well so far. 3 hours later he figures out that my fibre cable had been disconnected from my port in the underground rack, broken in the process and put back into a different port. Basically a contractor stole my connection for someone else.
He then fixed my cable and plugged it in to a new port telling me that BT would need to disconnect my connection on one server and reconnect me on another as I'm now using a different port, which "should take 24 hours".

2 weeks and many...many phone calls later, they should have me disconnected from my old connection by Friday the 10th. So now I am looking at 3 weeks of no phone and internet for them to disconnect a connection and connect a new one. That is actually abysmal customer support and service on their part, for a problem that shouldn't have happened in the first place.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
Stay away!
BT broadband review by David 5 months ago
Review
Horrible experience with BT you get missinformed from day one and then they change your contract and ask you to pay more without telling you.
Also they refuse to let you open a complaint and most of the people you speak to over the phone are racist and rude!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
DO NOT SIGN ANY CONTRACT WITH BT
BT broadband review by AngryBTCustomer 6 months ago
Review
DO NOT SIGN ANY CONTRACT WITH BT! Sorry for the capital letters but I really cant emphasize this enough. I signed an 18-month contract with BT. The broadband speeds were incredibly slow (less than 1mbps) to the point where I couldn't even open emails. BT were unable to fix the problem but flatly refused to free me from my contract. I consequently had to get my broadband from another provider (Hyperoptic) while continuing to pay BT every month for their useless internet...so two monthly broadband bills! The BT staff are extremely unpleasant too. Since their service is so poor I suspect they are unable to retain customers based on quality, so instead focus on making leaving contracts as difficult and time-consuming as possible. Their website is a perfect example of this. Avoid at all costs!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Awful Sales and Customer Service
BT broadband review by mark 7 months ago
Review
Worst customer service ever. Took an 18 month broadband contract with them over the phone. Agent convinced me to take BT Tv as an add-on but didn't mention that this extends broadband contract to 24 months, and because I didn't check small print as I assumed it was as discussed on the phone, BT are now insisting on 24 months contract. However broadband offer was for 18 months so now have 6 months off paying way very the odds for broadband. Legal scam for them to make more money, disgusting.
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    Laura 7 months ago
    I fell for the same trick, but they seem a safe bet considering some of the other reviews on here
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions