BT Broadband

BT Broadband

50Mb Fibre 1 BT broadband £28.99 per month
Including line rental & £80 BT Reward Card

BT Smart Hub

BT Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest BT broadband reviews.

179 BT broadband reviews

1.1
179 BT broadband reviews
Post review
  • 5
  • 7
  • 5
  • 13
  • 146
  • Package price
    1.3/5
  • Customer service
    1.2/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.7/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.9/5
Awful Sales and Customer Service
BT broadband review by mark 1 month ago
Review
Worst customer service ever. Took an 18 month broadband contract with them over the phone. Agent convinced me to take BT Tv as an add-on but didn't mention that this extends broadband contract to 24 months, and because I didn't check small print as I assumed it was as discussed on the phone, BT are now insisting on 24 months contract. However broadband offer was for 18 months so now have 6 months off paying way very the odds for broadband. Legal scam for them to make more money, disgusting.
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    Laura 29 days ago
    I fell for the same trick, but they seem a safe bet considering some of the other reviews on here
Mediocre
BT broadband review by Nick 2 months ago
Review
It works but wish it was cheaper.
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    3.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    3.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
shocking service
BT broadband review by Nikki 3 months ago
Review
My advice is stay clear of BT have caused me so much worry , Have not delivered the service they promised , seem to avoid putting it right and now I am in a contract , however I will fight on .
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
customer service
BT broadband review by ordinaryguy 5 months ago
Review
checking my broadband speed, I`m still not happy with result, so I go through BT help and all you get is options that are completely useless.
for example I pay for superfast fibre no less than 55mbs but most the time I get 5mbs and the speed test is just deceiving, I do a Ookla speed test which
is completely different results to BT`s speed test results.
which is correct Ookla results 5.23mbps or BT speed results 66mbps which is correct?
yet my internet is sluggish and absolutely terrible, and its very frustrating when doing online competition gaming.
I don't recommend BT to anyone.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Early termination fee= £600
BT broadband review by ugly brit 7 months ago
Review
Be careful what you choose in life. choosing BT will grab food and goods from your family, my sons have broken shoes at school and go to bed hungry.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Worst
BT broadband review by Emine 8 months ago
Review
Worst customer service ever.
They don't help at all they just ignore you. Please do not use BT they have taken a lot of money from me without reason.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Appalling service and customer service
BT broadband review by RSP 8 months ago
Review
9.9.19 - I am having lots of problems with BT who wont allow me to leave until my contract is up (July 2020). When I re took my contract out with them it was on my understanding that we would continue getting the speed we were being provided. Since then it has dramatically dropped and they don't seem to care and say they are still providing us with the minimum speed in there terms and conditions (which is practically nothing!). If I had of know the internet speed would have dropped that dramatically then I would have never taken out the contract with them. There customer service is appalling. We turn off our wifi as it is that bad and use 4G so I really don't understand what we are paying for!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Odious Company
BT broadband review by Babsebabes 9 months ago
Review
I have just left BT after my 18 month contract expired and I realised my bills has been fluctuating from £48 in May 2019 to most recent £76.98 in August 2019 for no apparent reason. When I complained and asked why the bill had increased so much I was told it was because my contract had ended and the discounts had therefore expired. I understand this happens but it’s a disgusting practice not to inform the customers of the state of play. Also the BT guy was obnoxious and after offering me a ‘better deal’ which I didn’t jump at he then ‘threatened’ that the price would probably go up next time I phone to accept
Since I have switched my package I’ve had a deluge of ‘spam’ calls..
Oh and we got a very poor reception on TV where programmes were interrupted with static and jumped forward so we missed half the drama. Don’t touch BT with barge pole!!
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

BT - Broadband

Standard Broadband
Average speed*
10Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£26.99
24 month contract Setup cost £10
Total first year cost £343.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre Essential

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
36Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£26.99
24 month contract Setup cost £10
Total first year cost £343.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 1

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
48Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£28.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £357.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 2

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£31.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £393.87
Show cost details

BT - Entertainment + Fibre 1

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
48Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£33.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £417.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 100

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£39.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £489.87
Show cost details

BT - Broadband + BT Sport on the go

Standard Broadband
Average speed*
10Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£41.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £513.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 1 + BT Sport on the go

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
48Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£43.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £537.87
Show cost details

BT - Entertainment with Sky Cinema + Fibre 1

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
48Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£45.98
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £561.75
Show cost details

BT - Broadband + BT Sport on Sky

Standard Broadband
Average speed*
10Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£46.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £573.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 2 + BT Sport on the go

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£46.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £573.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 1 + BT Sport on Sky

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
48Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£48.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £597.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 250

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
300Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£49.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £609.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 2 + BT Sport on Sky

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£51.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £633.87
Show cost details

BT - Entertainment with Sky Sports + Fibre 1

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
48Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£67.98
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £825.75
Show cost details

BT - Entertainment with Sky Sports and Sky Cinema + Fibre 1

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
48Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£79.97
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £969.63
Show cost details

BT Features

How do I switch my broadband to BT?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to BT broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by BT. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both BT and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a BT broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our BT broadband calculator above to see which BT broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to BT broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

BT review logo

BT Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of BT

BT Pro's

  • Reliable fast connection. BT came 2nd place
  • Widely available
  • We regularly get exclusive offers from BT, with some amazing offers for new customers

BT Con's

  • Can be pricey if not within contract
  • Short term contracts for students only
  • In a customer survey for broadband satisfaction BT fell below the market average in 2019.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to BT?

From the moment you order your new BT broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Can I get BT broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to BT broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to BT and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your BT broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to BT broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (BT). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.