BT Broadband

BT Broadband Reviews

Is BT Broadband any good?

BT Smart Hub

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

BT - Fibre Essential Only

36Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£27.99
24 month contract Setup cost £10
Total first year cost £ 355.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 1

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
50Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£28.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 357.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 1 Only

50Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£28.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 357.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 2

Offer ends Thursday 20th of May 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£32.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 405.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 2 Only

Offer ends Thursday 20th of May 2021
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£32.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 405.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 100

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£39.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 489.87
Show cost details

BT - Entertainment + Fibre 2

Offer ends Thursday 20th of May 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£44.99
24 month contract Setup cost £20
Total first year cost £ 569.87
Show cost details

BT - Sport + Fibre 2

Offer ends Thursday 20th of May 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£47.99
24 month contract Setup cost £20
Total first year cost £ 605.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 300

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
300Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£49.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 609.87
Show cost details

BT - Fibre 900

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
900Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£59.99
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 729.87
Show cost details

BT - Big Sport + Fibre 2

Offer ends Thursday 20th of May 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£72.99
24 month contract Setup cost £20
Total first year cost £ 905.87
Show cost details

BT Features

What is 'BT Complete Wi-Fi’?

BT Smart Hub2 with BT Wifi Complete

BT offer an additional service called ‘Complete Wi-Fi’. It comes with a ‘strong signal guarantee’, so BT promise that you'll have a seamless Wi-Fi reception in every room in your home. To get you started, BT will supply you with the latest Smart Hub 2 and a single Wi-Fi disk, to boost your Wi-Fi signal. If your Wi-Fi is not seamless, BT will send you an additional two Wi-Fi discs free of charge.

If after 3 months you aren't able to get at least 10Mbps in every room of your house, you can claim a one-off credit of £100 (poor speeds due to broadband faults are exempt from this offer). Prices vary, but you can expect to pay around £7 extra per month if you add this feature to a new contract.

BT Smart Hub router

BT Smart Hub

The BT Smart Hub is an amazing bit of kit. It's class leading and the best bundled broadband router currently available. It’s almost identical to its bigger brother the BT ‘Smart Hub 2’ (see details below). It now comes FREE with any BT Broadband package (Standard ADSL Broadband).

The BT Smart Hub can be purchased separately if you want to improve your current Wi-Fi, but it will cost £129 + P&P. BT stipulate that their Smart Hub is not compatible with other ISP’s, however user reports demonstrate that it will also work with Plusnet Broadband (Plusnet are owned by BT). Customers who were outside of their contract period with BT before the 13th December 2019 are able to keep their Smart Hub and use it with Plusnet Broadband to avoid BT’s out of contract prices (see 'Ownership of hubs' below for further details). Note: The BT Smart Hub will not work with BT ‘Complete Wi-Fi’.

BT review logo

BT Pros & Cons

Key features for BT packages

BT Pros

  • Widely available
  • Excellent Wi-Fi Router
  • Ofcom reported only 7 fixed broadband complaints per 100,000 users in Q2 2020

BT Cons

  • Can be pricey if not within contract
  • Short term contracts for students only
  • Best incentive deals for new customers

Smart Hub specifications:

1 Smart wireless feature – will scan to automatically find the least congested frequency
2 Modem type - ADSL, ADSL2+ and VDSL2
3 Network protocol - IPV4 and IPV6
4 Simultaneous dual-band
5 Supported frequencies - 2.4GHz (3x3 11n MIMO), 5GHz (4x4 11ac)
6 Data transfer rate - Max Physical interface rates are: 2.4GHz = 217Mbs | 5GHz = 1733Mbs
7 Beamforming (Implicit and Explicit Beamforming)
8 7 internal antennas (3x2.4GHz, 4x5GHz)
9 Data transfer rate between LAN to WAN, then 1G or WAN max line speed up to 300mbits
10 4 x 1 Gigabit ethernet ports
11 USB 2.0 1
12 1 x RJ45
13 Encryption WPA2, WPA (Auto)

BT Smart Hub 2 router with Fibre1 & Fibre2

BT Smart Hub 2

The BT Smart Hub 2 offers very similar features to the Smart Hub 1 and now comes free with any BT Fibre broadband package. Both the Hub 1 & 2 offer dual band Wi-Fi, but as the Hub 2 is designed for use with BT’s ‘Complete Wi-Fi system’ it’s not possible to split the SSID names for 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz. This won't bother most users, but if you want to have two independent network names, it’s not possible with the Smart Hub 2 (Note: If you don’t know what an SSID is then you don’t need to be concerned about this).

BT Smart Hub 2 – Dect phone compatible

One of the key benefits of the Hub 2 is the inclusion of dect phone compatibility built into the router. This means if you have any CATiq 2.1 compliant dect phones, they will work with the Smart Hub 2 without the need for an additional phone base station - How smart is that!

Smart Hub 2 specifications:

1 Same specifications as the BT Smart Hub (see above)
2 Compatible with BT’s ‘Complete Wi-Fi’ service
3 Dect phone compatible (Catiq 2.1)

FREE Access to over 5 million BT Wi-fi hotspots

BT Wi-Fi-Hotspot

When you become a BT Broadband customer, you'll gain access to over 5 million BT Wi-fi hotspots across the UK - very handy if you're low on mobile data or regularly travel. www.bt.com

FREE BT Call Protect

Call protect is designed to automatically divert known nuisance callers to a junk voicemail. It’s extremely effective and simple to use. You can also choose to block numbers by type, ie. international or withheld numbers. If a nuisance caller manages to contact you, it’s simple to bar them - just dial 1572 and follow the voice options to block the caller. Future calls from the same number will automatically be sent to a junk voicemail. BT call protect is free and is included with your BT landline.

FREE BT Parental Controls (optional)

BT Parental Controls is designed to help keep your family safe online. Once activated, all devices connected to your BT Hub will have content filtered to a restriction level that you set. The same safety filters also apply if you sign into BT Wi-Fi with your BT ID. It’s easy to setup and to manage. It’s preferable that you use a BT Hub router, but you don’t have to. To use the BT Parental Controls with your own router you would just need to update your router to use BT’s DNS settings.

FREE BT Cloud storage (up to 1TB of free cloud storage)

All BT Broadband packages come with BT Cloud. It's similar to alternative services like Apple iCloud, Google Drive & Dropbox and is a handy way to backup, share and store important files. BT Cloud is compatible with PCs, Android tablets & phones, iPhones, iPads, Windows phones and a recent update to the Mac iOS has improved the MAC iOS experience. You'll get 10GB of free storage with Broadband Unlimited, 200GB of free storage with Fibre 1 or 1TB with Fibre 2.

FREE BT ‘Stay Fast Guarantee’

Before you agree your new broadband contract with BT, they will advise you of your estimated download speed and minimum download speed (also classed as your guaranteed speed). If your broadband falls below your guaranteed speed and is not fixed within 90 days, you can claim a £20 reward card. A maximum of four claims per year can be made.

BT TV – Optional extra

BT TV

BT Offer a wide variety of flexible TV packages that you can swap and change every month. BT TV comes with a set top box that lets you pause, rewind and record up to 300 hours of TV. It also includes access to built in apps like; Netflix, NowTV, Amazon Prime Video & BT Sports. Note: All bolt-ons have a 1-month minimum term and renew automatically until cancelled.

Ofcom Voluntary codes of practice for broadband speed

In addition to BT’s ‘Stay Fast Guarantee’, BT have also signed up to Ofcom's Voluntary 'Code of practice for broadband speed'. This stipulates that if your broadband speed falls below your guaranteed minimum speed, and has not improved within 30 days of reporting the fault, you can leave your contract without being subjected to any early termination charges. You can read more about the right to exit (RTE) process on our broadband speed test page.

How much is BT Line rental?

BT phone line rental is £20.20 per month. If you sign up for any BT broadband and calls package, this will be included in your package price.

Can I buy my own BT ‘Complete Wi-Fi’ disks?

Yes! But they're an expensive way of boosting your Wi-Fi when purchased individually. BT ‘Complete Wi-Fi’ is not compatible with the first-generation Smart Hub, so you'll need to have a Smart Hub 2 - currently priced at £100. Then, each additional Wi-Fi disk will cost a further £100. One disk is likely to get you full Wi-Fi coverage, but if you live in a multi-storey or large house, we would advise adding a package to your contract as BT offer up-to 3 FREE Wi-Fi disks. The main benefit of buying your own disk is that you don’t need to return them at the end of the contract. If you plan to stay with BT for a long time, it may be worth investing in your own new or pre-owned equipment (see ownership of hubs below for further details). Note: If you're using equipment that's been separately purchased by you and is not owned by BT, the 'Stay Fast Guarantee' (see above) doesn't apply. Visit the BT Shop www.bt.com

BT’s new ownership rules – Can I keep my Smart Hub?

As of 13th December 2019, BT changed their rules regarding the ownership of equipment at the end of a contract. We commend BT’s approach as it will reduce what is sent to landfill. We understand that this will irritate some customers who would prefer to use their Smart Hub with another provider. However, BT stipulate that their Smart Hub is not compatible with other ISP’s. Although, we do know that it will work with Plusnet Broadband (who are owned by BT). Those with contracts taken out after 13th December 2019 won't be able to retain their Smart Hub to use with Plusnet. At the end of your BT contract you have 60 days to return their equipment in the pre-paid jiffy bag supplied by BT. Alternatively, it can be handed in at any EE store. This ownership rule applies to the following equipment: BT Broadband Hubs (Hub 4, Smart Hub, and Smart Hub 2) and TV Boxes (Z4, G4 and G5). It's not applicable to Hubs and Wi-Fi Discs that have been purchased outright.

Can I get BT broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection, the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband, the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still uses the phone line. To get BT broadband without a phone line, you'll need to have access to 'Full Fibre Broadband' - often referred to as 'fibre to the premises' (FTTP) or 'Cable Broadband' like Virgin Media. The availability of FTTP broadband is rapidly increasing and to-date (June 2020) BT FTTP has an 8% UK coverage. But, it still has a long way to go to match the 91% coverage that BT fibre to the cabinet (FTTC) network currently enjoys in the UK. If you're in a city or built up area, you're more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to BT?

From the moment you order your new BT broadband online, to the date of installation it's usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within 30 minutes on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

BT Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest BT broadband reviews
Compare Top 10 ISP Reviews

1.1
186 reviews
Post review
  • 5
  • 8
  • 6
  • 14
  • 158
  • Package price
    1.3/5
  • Customer service
    1.2/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.7/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.9/5
BT broadband review
by Gay Nor 1 month ago
A load of crap
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Review
Equipment charges are a rip off. I have been paying BT nearly £90 a month for 18 months.
Rip of f!!!!!!!!!!
Show more
BT broadband review
by PPPPP 1 month ago
Avoid
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Review
Avoid, Avoid, Avoid, Avoid. BT. They will not look after you as they promise, all they want is to place you on to a contract for 18 months and supply you with rubbish Broadband 💩 waste of time. Remember your paying for this service. If they find out your leaving they will for sure cut your broadband off and still want to charge you. Do not become a customer Avoid.

Show more
BT broadband review
by Jackie 2 months ago
Doesn’t even deserve one star! AVOID!!!!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Review
Doesn’t even deserve one star! So I signed up for BT on the 6th of January didn’t hear anything from Bt after so I had to get back in touch and order again on the 25th of January. My hub arrived pretty quickly to be fair but this was literally the only quick and efficient part. Opened the box and half of the connections were missing, there was no adsl filter or grey connection cable. So I waited for a couple of days and still herd nothing from BT so I made a call to find out when I would be connected. They told me I would go live on the 5th of February, this date came and went so I had to contact BT again, they then said I would be live on the 12th of feb, which was fine. The 12th came and still no connection, so of course I called BT again, they told me they needed to get an engineer out and that one would come on the 15th, yes you know what’s coming next, still no broadband or engineer.
I had to make yet another call to Bt to then be told that an engineer would be out to get the connection up and running etc on the 4th of March and I would be live between the 4th-6th, yet again still no connection so I had to make another phone call yet again today! To my frustration I was told the same bulls*it and that they would speak to the connections team so I was told she would one be a few short moments.....55mins I was on hold for to then be cut off. So yes at this point I’m done, someone was good enough to call me back and apologise for the loss of connection and said they just needed to go through some security questions with me before he could look into it, I stopped him at this point and told him to cancel my order, he said again he was sorry on behalf of Bt and will get this sorted rite away, I said cancel my order and have gone with a different provider now, sky promise I will be live on the 16th of March. Music to my ears, my children mite finally be able to connect to the internet and do their schoolwork log onto google classroom and try and somewhat catch up with the work they have not been able to do thanks to BT.

I know I have gone on a little but I am so frustrated and angry with the customer service and the whole service of Bt infact, to keep getting told and promised that we would be connected after two months is a bloody joke, and yes I know circumstances are difficult for us all at the moment because of Covid so why keep moving the goalpost and postponing connection for me and lie everytime I called. Appalling!

I will never ever go with Bt again after this experience, I will avoid at ALL costs, certainly will not be recommending BT to anyone ever.

Also when you call customer services expect to be on the phone for atleast two hours, you will spend around 110mins listening to music on hold while they go and make a cup of tea and eat cake, to pop on the phone for about a min to tell you it will be connected at such and such a date then hang up, and guess what......you don’t get connected.

Very unhappy customer and angry
Show more
BT broadband review
by unknown 3 months ago
This is the worst broadband ever
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Review
Review
This doesn't work and most of the time it just stops working, it takes ages to reload and impossible to video call someone! I have lost all my coursework due to the poor connection. Would not recommend
Show more
BT broadband review
by Stearman 4 months ago
Actually quite happy
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    4.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    4.5/5
Review
I think that BT has improved massively over the past 6 years of me being a customer. When contract ends they hold price and if you call them they usually match the deals for new customers. Previous frustrations with getting hold of support are a thing of the past (in my experience). I genuinely haven't had a day when it doesn't work. Excellent for high definition games with Google stadia, we only use Internet TV and it has always been excellent. Multiple devices using Internet at the same time causes no problems. This is with an older version of the hub. New one arriving soon so I can only imagine it's going to better. Also, having bt sport for the rugby and football is great. Had I have reviewed 5 or 6 years ago this would have been a rant. Local community Facebook page is full of moans about other providers with Internet getting knocked out of service and slow speeds etc as I sit happily watching iplayer, Amazon prime and Disney plus. Good job BT.
Show more
BT broadband review
by Jeff in Bath 5 months ago
Appalling - if only there had been a choice
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    -1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Review
I have just moved into a house with BT fibre to the door. In all I estimate that I have spent 6 hours on the phone to BT trying to get it to work as advertised.

It didn't work on installation (fixed by very helpful BT engineer). Nothing arrived on the date they said. Took three phone calls to sort out a 'confirmed' engineer visit that they couldn't actually make because it was more than a fortnight away. Visit to connect TV etc was cancelled (OK, that was a Covid issue, but are they so short of "engineers' that they can't find someone to plug in a TV?). Missing equipment needed another 45min phone call to sort out. Every phone call is at least a half hour wait for a response, although, given what they have to deal with, the call centre people were very helpful.

As for the "help" system on My BT it's about as much use as a chocolate teapot - answers questions that wouldn't strain the intellect of a mentally deficient gerbil, and fails to answer simple questions like "Where's my xxxxing kit?"

To be quite honest, BT's reputation preceded it and I wouldn't have touched them with a bargepole, but because it was a newish fibre to the door installation there was no choice.

NEVER AGAIN!!!
Show more
BT broadband review
by cyberdoyle 8 months ago
It isn't fibre broadband if it comes down a phone line
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Review
None of the products on this page is fibre. Just sayin.
Show more
  • Trev 8 months ago
    They are fibre, it's just fibre to the cabinet FTTC. - Just sayin... BT sell two types of broadband, 1st FTTC & 2nd FTTP which delivers direct fibre to the property.