Sky Broadband

Sky Broadband Reviews

Is Sky Broadband any good?

Sky Broadband

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

Sky - Broadband Essential + Line Rental

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Free Router Monthly cost
£25
18 month contract Setup cost £10
Total first year cost £ 309.95
Show cost details

Sky - Broadband Superfast

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
59Mb
Sky line rental included Monthly cost
£28
18 month contract Setup cost £10
Total first year cost £ 355.95
Show cost details

Sky - Broadband Ultrafast

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Sky line rental included Monthly cost
£35
18 month contract Setup cost £10
Total first year cost £ 439.95
Show cost details

Sky Features

How do I switch my broadband to Sky?

Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Sky broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Sky. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Sky and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Sky broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our broadband availability checker to see what Sky broadband deals are available in your area.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Sky broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

Sky review logo

Sky Pros & Cons

Key features for Sky packages

Sky Pros

  • Great TV options
  • Sky Go lets you watch Sky TV anywhere in the EU
  • Sky generated the lowest volume of Ofcom complaints per 100,000 subscribers (1st Quarter 2018)

Sky Cons

  • Prices may go up during your contract
  • 18 month minimum subscription
  • Best offers are for new customers only

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Sky?

From the moment you order your new Sky broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Sky broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Sky and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Sky broadband has been installed and is live.

Sky Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Sky broadband reviews
Compare Top 10 ISP Reviews

119 Sky broadband reviews

1.4
119 Sky broadband reviews
Post review
  • 6
  • 8
  • 5
  • 8
  • 92
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.7/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.2/5
Sky broadband review
by Ben Davies 3 days ago
Sky outprices normal people from being able to watch the sports they love
I’m not interested in sports outside Formula 1, and yet I have to buy an entire Sky TV Sports package for £34 per month minimum (through NOW TV) just to watch Formula 1, which I can’t afford. So I just can’t watch it. Absolutely disgusting behaviour - Sky should be ashamed of themselves for owning the monopoly and making this inaccessible to normal people.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Sky broadband review
by Mark Donachy 7 days ago
APPALLING COMMUNICATIONS FROM A “COMMUNICATIONS COMPANY”
Took several days to pluck the courage to phone SKY, because of previous experience.
Reported faulty Broadband.
Over a week 7 phone calls, obviously to 7 different “operatives”, totalling just over 3 hours. Appointment scheduled for engineer visit 4 texts to confirm appointment. Phoned day before (40 minutes) to double check for the next day, anticipating the likely outcome! Appointment made between 0800-1300. Phoned at 12:25 to check on proceedings. Was told all on schedule PLUS would be another engineer on site following day. Phoned at 13:15 (25 minutes) to find out what was happening. Was told the appointment had been cancelled and next visit was guaranteed!

I am sick of scripted explanations/excuses from these unresponsive, inflexible entities about how their systems run their businesses.

DO NOT USE SKY. But god knows who to use!
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Sky broadband review
by Chris Booth 24 days ago
Awful, avoid like the plague
Dreadful. We spend a fortune monthly and have no value for money. Wifi is patchy and we frequently spend hours a week unplugging and resetting routers/Q boxes trying to get a better signal. We are supposed to get 80MBs but routinely get 1.4MBs. When we ring up, we are told that its because we have too many devices. This is the 21st century - everyone is working from home and everyone has a couple of laptops, mobiles, nest and X boxes. If these cant be supported in the current world, then it isnt fit for purpose.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Sky broadband review
by jay 1 month ago
switchover day to fibre - 0.5MB speed!! shite customer services
Today is switchover day - no internet since 2pm. Had to stop work went out, got home and checked speed - 0.5mb in my room and 47 near the hub. Told I could have a booster - as used previously with ee anyway - the bt 600 range - doesn't work with sky q hub. Over 2 hours on the phone - WORST CS EVER. Manager wont speak to me even though she is relaying messages to and fro with this useless agent (no wonder some jobs such as these taken over by AI)
says have to wait 20 days and then they will change hub, suggest we pay fiver a month more for the boost manager would not speak to me - said can only call tomorrow afternoon!!!

I said get someone else to - nope - not gonna happen - his literal words

he hung up!

absolutely disgusting - can not wait to get away from sky now - compensation for lack of service and ombudsman complaint too. She was communicating with this tw*t of an agent and yet refused to just talk to me directly.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Sky broadband review
by Ramon 2 months ago
Only lies!
Only lies from the moment you make your order until the day of activation of the service that you never receive... customer (lies) service, all of them... you will " waste " hours of your life over the phone for nothing ( 45 minutes waiting time!!!) RIDICULOUS service...
Lies, lies, lies... avoid, avoid avoid avoid avoid...!
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Sky broadband review
by Mohammed 4 months ago
Great Sky Broadband and TV
Joined Sky Broadband Super Fast x 5 faster than the essential and speed for uploading is 61 mbps and uploading is 15 mbsp. I never had any problems with Sky broadband. I also have the full TV package with Sky. Customer services are in my opinion the best.
  • Package price
    5.0/5
  • Customer service
    5.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    5.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    5.0/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Comment (1)
  • Share
  • Report
  • Authors avatar
    Amine 2 months ago
    Unless you're from their useless and non-existent management team!!! All what is mentioned here is totally wrong.
    • Reply
    • Report
Sky broadband review
by Paul J 5 months ago
Sticking with Sky
Managed to get a better price on my renewal. Never had a single problem with any of my sky services.
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    4.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    4.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Sky broadband review
by Marcus846 5 months ago
Don’t get Sky broadband
I’ve had sky broadband for 1 year and it’s never work properly, it’s always dropping out, disconnecting and runs so slow it’s frustrating. When you ring up to complain they basically blame you for having 5 devices connected which I don’t think is unreasonable. Avoid!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to FasterBroadbands Terms & Conditions