Sky Broadband

11Mb Sky Broadband from just £20 including phone line rental Compare Sky Broadband deals

Sky Broadband

Sky Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Sky broadband reviews.

109 Sky broadband reviews

1.3
109 customer reviews
Post review
  • 4
  • 6
  • 5
  • 8
  • 80
  • Package price
    1.9/5
  • Customer service
    1.6/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.7/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Absolute dog shite
 · 1 month ago
Review
Family of 5 have sky broadband, parents work from home so they can’t work as they have no internet access, me and my brothers all spent 50 quid each on a game which now can’t be played for a week so that’s a waste of money for everyone, internet constantly drops out on a regular basis, wouldn’t recommend at all, they could offer me it for free and I’d still decline. Shite.
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
The Worst Customer Server EVER!
 · 1 month ago
Review
The worst customer service I've ever experienced. I closed my Sky account in June 2019, the packaging arrived for the Broadband Hub only, I returned this. Sky sent numerous communications about not receiving the package, to which I responded that I had sent it. They have now referred this to a debt collection agency. They have continued to contact me, then immediately email to say they couldn't contact me, no offer of resolution. They will offer seemingly amazing deals to get you to become a customer, once you try and leave the service you receive will be appalling. I would urge anyone considering becoming a Sky customer to reconsider.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Truly awful
 · 2 months ago
Review
Never leave reviews usually but I'm so appalled by the service I received from sky today I simply had to let off steam. I joined a text chat with their customer service department at 10.25am about changing my broadband and phone package and after being passed to about 7 or 8 different people throughout the day I just received a text saying they cannot now offer me the package at the price agreed earlier and the service is now closing so someone would be in contact in the morning. Think I'll be telling them where to go and I've previously been happy with sky for the many years I've been with them
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Re: Appalling customer service
 · 2 months ago
Review
When I say appalling customer service, that means I don't know any other words to say how bad they are.
I have never come across any other service provider this bad.

Avoid like plague.
Thanks Kiran
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Atrocious broadband provider - avoid like the plague
 · 2 months ago
Review
Atrocious broadband service. Keeps hiking the prices up. Locks you in for another 12 months so you can't leave. Service keeps dropping, I keep calling up to get engineers to come fix the problem, the engineers can't find a problem but then miraculously the service is fine for a month after the engineer visit and then starts dropping again the month after. I call up again, they say there are no faults on the line, and the cycle repeats. Last time I called up yesterday they blamed ME for poor service because I was doing things on the internet that would make it break like WATCHING NETFLIX?! C'mon guys, EVERYONE who has internet streams TV. If your poor excuse of a broadband provider cannot cope with TV streaming then clearly something is terribly wrong with your service! The rude lady then said I needed to upgrade to fibre to get a better service at an extra £15/month! I said no way so she said she'd send an engineer out to fix the problem at a £15 cost!!! To fix SKY'S problem!!! When I questioned this, she said it was because the engineer was coming on a Saturday (a "premium" day) and the lady was "doing me a favour" so I didn't have to take time off work. I said I work from home so am happy to have the engineer come during the week. She was clearly just trying to make an extra £15 for Sky. What absolute scam artists! AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Never had a problem
 · 3 months ago
Review
Sky TV is without doubt the best ISP we have used. The billing is easy to understand and the website is simple to find what you need. Always seem to have offers for existing customers. Was going to switch to try and save some money but having read the other reviews will stick with Sky.
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    4.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    5.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Kiran 2 months ago
    you are very right.
    But when you have any issues to sort then it seems like you can never get hold of the customer service.
    Their customer service is appalling.
    • Henry 2 months ago
      Just tell them you want to leave and it will get sorted. The retentions team seem to be based in Ireland and are fantastic.
Be careful of sky
 · 3 months ago
Review
I've been a loyal customer to sky for 19 years and the prices have gone up terrible now when I said I was leaving them there reply that's fine and you ask to speak to a manager it's either ones not available and they will ring you back when available and don't or you have to be stern with the customer service advisors as they just keep say why all the time even though you have told them why 5 times before. The customer service is so rude I won't ever go back to them again. Unfortunately If I could give you no stars all over I would but guess you wouldn't like getting no stars in everything.
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Abysmal
 · 3 months ago
Review
Abysmal service. They have been charging higher and higher fees year on year. Then threatened to join another provider and they agreed to reduce the fees by over 70%. Agreed one thing in writing with them and now they are claiming higher fees using feeble excuses. Once you sign with them then it's extremely difficult to get out as they have t&c's within t&c's. Will leave as soon as I can and NEVER return
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Rubbish
 · 4 months ago
Review
Been on this sky broadband for 4 years and its been the worst service ever. internet gets cut out in the middle of the night for no reason and when my internet stops working it takes them 3-4 weeks sometimes for sky to fix the problem. I requested a home move for 2 weeks advance and asked for my internet to stay on until then. the next day my internet gets cut out. when i phoned about the problem ive been told nothing can be done and the internet wont get turned on. i try to explain that is not what i want or asked for but the rubbish manager that i spoke to said he will look back into the phone and see what was said. but even so what is the point. i wanted to cancel my move with sky and let the contract run out with them which expires next month but they wont even let me do that. managers do not know how to speak to a customer aswell some being very cheeky. in the area i live in no they is no other services thats why we choice and stayed with sky but after today i am happy after 4 years i will be leaving
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
rip off company
 · 4 months ago
Review
rip off company tried cancelling over 2 years ago, thought account was now closed as spoke to many people at sky, now they have pased on to a *third* debt recovery company even after sending me letters every few weeks : come back to Sky! no Way!!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful

Find the best Sky Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best Sky Broadband deals

 
 

Sky Features

How do I switch my broadband to Sky?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Sky broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Sky. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Sky and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Sky broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Sky broadband calculator above to see which Sky broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Sky broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Sky?

From the moment you order your new Sky broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Sky review logo

Sky Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Sky

Sky Pro's

  • Great TV options
  • Sky Go lets you watch Sky TV anywhere in the EU
  • Sky generated the lowest volume of Ofcom complaints per 100,000 subscribers (1st Quarter 2018)

Sky Con's

  • Prices may go up during your contract
  • 18 month minimum subscription
  • Best offers are for new customers only

Can I get Sky broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Sky broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Sky and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Sky broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Sky broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Sky). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.