Plusnet Broadband

£75 Cashback offer ends 2nd December
Compare Plusnet Broadband deals

Plusnet

Plusnet Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Plusnet broadband reviews.

174 Plusnet broadband reviews

1.3
174 customer reviews
Post review
  • 11
  • 5
  • 4
  • 21
  • 126
  • Package price
    1.9/5
  • Customer service
    1.4/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.9/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
AVOID MISLEADING DISMISSIVE DECEITFUL
 · 1 month ago
Review
Misleading AVOID - DO NOT BELIEVE THEIR OFFERS. Never received the promised £75 voucher I was promised and Plusnet claims I missed the supposed email to claim it!!!! Can't supply a copy of it though just a transcript!!!! Having read other reviews I'm not the only one this has happened to. Surely, if I had an email it would be in on my a/c ??? AVOID IF YOUR HOPEFUL OF THE VOUCHERS OR PROMISED WONDERFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Disgraceful broadband service - DO NOT USE THEM!
 · 1 month ago
Review
Joined Plusnet 3 months ago from BT. Had a brand new line into the house with BT and no problems with service but decided to move to reduce costs. Plusnet service is absolutely shocking!! The internet cuts out at all times of the day, fibre speeds are poor at best- no better that standard broadband speeds. The router is absolutely appalling! No signal in the bedroom or most of upstairs. We have had a new router... just the same. Why should we as consumers be paying for a service that doesn’t work?? I for one will be complaining formally as this is modern day robbery!
AVOID PLUSNET AT ALL COSTS
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Terrible
 · 1 month ago
Review
To many negative horrible story’s to go over again just stay away from plusnet
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
No Complaints Here
 · 1 month ago
Review
Been a Plusnet customer since 2008. Had minor speed issues but always sorted quickly. Always found customer service very helpful. Good average speed, though sometimes does drop to very slow. Usually the fault if Openreach. Always managed to get good deals at renewal time. Line rental saver. Pay annually, is very good.
  • Package price
    4/5
  • Customer service
    5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    4.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Shocking customer service
 · 1 month ago
Review
Truly hopeless
No phone for ten days
No hope of a resolution
If you want to waste your time speaking to a customer service and technical team who have no clue, who wont assist, who will pass the parcel then this is the company for you, the worst customer.service I have genuinely come across. Someone in this company which I believe is related to BT needs to get a grip! What a complete shower!!
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
PLUSNET = slower slower STOP
 · 2 months ago
Review
Slow to bad internet, got worse when we left, settled bill only to receive an aggressive let 3 months later saying we owed money and they had contacted us several times, called them talked to numerous people before they admitted the mistake all sorted, four months later another threatening letter, same response on the phone. ONLY USE PLUSNET IF YOU HAVE NO OTHER CHOICE
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Plusnet are liars
 · 3 months ago
Review
Signed up with Plusnet after moving house. They promised I could keep my telephone number, which I've had for over 20 years. After moving, they gave me a new telephone number without explanation. Took a number of phone calls to different departments before being told I couldn't get my old number back.

I was mid-conversation with a young man who was dealing with my request to leave Plusnet, when the phone call was taken over by the smarmiest person I've ever spoken to, who suggested I "have a sleep before making a decision to leave". He implied that I had misunderstood the guarantee of keeping my phone number, and he also said that they had recordings of my phone calls.

I've requested recordings of my phone calls because I'd like to hear exactly how I've misunderstood Plusnet, but they have not responded. Be very wary of getting into discussions with them, because they lie at every possible opportunity.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
4 people found the following review helpful
2013 - 2018 - Absolutely GREAT ... Not anymore!
 · 3 months ago
Review
I have been a Plusnet customer since 2013 (I was even a reseller for a few years as I thought the service and support was fantastic). Since January 2019, I've gradually saw a decline in both the support and service which I receive from Plusnet but over the past 3 months, it has been absolutely terrible.

I'm self employed and for the past 2 months I have been paid later than normal from my clients. I tried to change my payment date this month and even contacted Plusnet (both online and over the phone) about the situation. They said they would give me a "grace" period and no restrictions would take place on my account. Both months, the day after my normal payment date, I received an email stating "your payment has not been received, please pay within 14 days at www.plus.net/pay or your service may be restricted". It wasn't really a massive surprise to see that my service was restricted within an hour of receiving this email (which by the way isn't entirely legal!).

I borrowed some funds and rang Plusnet to pay my bill, even though I agreed a "grace" period with them - which by the day was only 3 days. I couldn't pay online because the restriction blocked me from accessing the Plusnet website (even though all other sites work OK, although very slow) so rang them but there systems were down so couldn't pay my bill. I tried again 3 times over the course of three days and also made customer services aware that I have tried paying numerous times. What sort of messed up procedures do Plusnet have where they let their customers access Facebook/Twitter/YouTube etc when "restricted" but won't let them access their own website to make payment?

Today, I received an email stating that I have breached my terms and conditions because I didn't pay by the "grace" date, they have cancelled my Direct Debit and have threatened me with debt collection if I do not pay within 54 days. They have also added late fees. All because I asked for 3 days extra to pay a bill and couldn't pay either before or on this date because their "systems were down".

ARE THESE GUYS ACTUALLY HAVING A LAUGH??? Luckily I have all of the online chat transcriptions and all email responses. I'll also be requesting all phone call recordings. I hope nobody else has this issue but for me, I'll be looking at migrating away at the first available opportunity, which is a shame as Plusnet were by far the best on the UK market back in the day.
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
  • Linda clarke 2 months ago
    I have made the the biggest mistake by going with Plusnet. I was with talk talk for years and found them brilliant, but since I've moved talk talk don't cover my area. I've moved in to a house which has had broadband and a land line for 8 years and they are telling me i need a line to connect me. Open reach has been out and told me I'm already connected and all my broadband provider needs to do is switch me on but no they are sending open reach out on Thursday again to connect cables which I already have. Over 4 weeks now I've been waiting they've definitely broke there contract. It's like pulling teeth trying to get sorted.
Absolute rubbish
 · 3 months ago
Review
Service constantly dropping out. Delays in setting up. Rude and unhelpful customer service staff. Excess of extortionate hidden fees buried deep in the terms and conditions. I would sooner advise using carrier pigeons to keep in contact with the world than using this absolute farce of a company.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
No problems
 · 4 months ago
Review
I disagree, I have had no problems with Plusnet broadband or with my phone line in the three years I have been with them. Customer service are also good in my experience.
  • Package price
    5/5
  • Customer service
    5/5
  • Broadband speed
    5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    5/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful

Find the best Plusnet Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best Plusnet Broadband deals

 
 

Plusnet Features

How do I switch my broadband to Plusnet?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Plusnet broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Plusnet. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Plusnet and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Plusnet broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Plusnet broadband calculator above to see which Plusnet broadband deals are available in your area.

Can I keep my phone number if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Plusnet?

From the moment you order your new Plusnet broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Plusnet review logo

Plusnet Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Plusnet

Plusnet Pro's

  • Line rental saver discount available
  • Super value SIM only mobile phone contracts. Supported by the EE mobile network. Special offers for Plusnet broadband customers
  • FREE Plusnet call protect, very good at blocking nuisance calls to your landline

Plusnet Con's

  • Selected offers available to new customers only
  • No frills router
  • VAT bills unavailable for residential packages

FREE additional features - Plusnet call protect

Plusnet Call Protect is a fantastic FREE feature which automatically diverts known nuisance calls to a junk voicemail box. You can also add your own additional numbers to the list. Call protect can also ban incoming International calls which are quite often nuisance related. If you have family and friends abroad you can add them to your VIP list to make sure they don't get diverted. Plusnet call protect is simple to set up and extremely effective at blocking unwanted callers.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Plusnet and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Plusnet broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Plusnet broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Plusnet). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.r