Plusnet Broadband

Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Is Plusnet Broadband any good?

Plusnet Broadband £55 reward card

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

Plusnet - Unlimited Broadband

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Standard broadband
Average speed*
10Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£18.5
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 222
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
36Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£22.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 275.88
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre Extra

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
66Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£24.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 299.88
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Broadband

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Standard broadband
Average speed*
10Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£26
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 312
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Broadband & Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Standard broadband
Average speed*
10Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£27.5
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 330
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre & Evening & Weekend UK & Mobile Calls

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
36Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£27.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 335.88
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre Extra & Evening & Weekend UK & Mobile Calls

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
66Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£29.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 359.88
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
36Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£30.49
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 365.88
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre & Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
36Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£31.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 383.88
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre Extra

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
66Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£32.49
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 389.88
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre Extra & Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
66Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£33.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 407.88
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Broadband + Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Standard broadband
Average speed*
10Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£35
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 420
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre + Evening & Weekend UK & Mobile Calls

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
36Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£35.49
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 425.88
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre Extra + Evening & Weekend UK & Mobile Calls

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
66Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£37.49
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 449.88
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre + Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
36Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£39.49
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 473.88
Show cost details

Plusnet - Unlimited Fibre Extra + Unlimited UK & Mobile Calls

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
66Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£41.49
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 497.88
Show cost details

Plusnet Features

Great value award winning broadband

Plusnet broadband is renowned for great value broadband and award-winning customer service. Plusnet have been around for longer than you probably think. They started out in 1997. The Company is now owned by BT, but operates as an independent business. So, if you’re currently with BT and want to move to Plusnet, you’ll receive all the benefits of being a new customer whilst effectively receiving the same broadband at a discounted rate!
Visit Plusnet

Plusnet Home Hub one router width=

Is Plusnet broadband as good as BT broadband?

Plusnet broadband is very good, and their offers are very tempting. So, why would anyone pay more and go with BT? Plusnet is basically the cheap version of BT. Plusnet is for customers who want good phone and broadband service at a sensible price; whilst being happy to have a wi-fi router that is not the very latest model. Plusnet offer 3 broadband options: 10Mb standard broadband, 36Mb fibre broadband and a 66Mb Fibre extra package. If you’re looking for a connection faster than that you would need to look at BT, Vodafone or Virgin Media. You can enter your postcode into our broadband availability checker to see what else is available in your area.

Plusnet review logo

Plusnet Pros & Cons

Key features for Plusnet packages

Plusnet Pros

  • Plusnet offer good value broadband with regular cashback incentives
  • Super value SIM only mobile phone contracts. Supported by the EE mobile network. Special offers for Plusnet broadband customers
  • Above average Wi-Fi router supplied with any fibre broadband package. (Plusnet Home Hub one router)

Plusnet Cons

  • Selected offers available to new customers only
  • No frills router with the 10Mb ADSL package
  • No public Wi-Fi options

Is the Plusnet router any good?

Plusnet router hub zero front and rear

If you order the standard 10Mb (ADSL) broadband package, you’ll get the basic Hub Zero router. This Hub Zero supports 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi, it also has options to change firewall settings, DNS management, Port Forwarding and the option to control device access during selected times. It’s not going to give you the best Wi-Fi signal range, but for a basic router it still offers some level of user management. It’s very compact too, measuring just 140mm wide x 115mm high. The nine LEDs on the front give you a clear indication of the status of the device.

Plusnet Hub One router review

Plusnet hub one router rear

If you order any Plusnet Fibre broadband package, you’ll receive the Plusnet Hub One router. The Hub One is a rebranded version of the BT HomeHub 5A router (aka the Home Hub One). It supports dual band Wi-Fi 2.4Ghz 802.11 b/g/n and 5Ghz 802.11 a/n/ac and has 4x gigabit ethernet ports. There are various control features including: access control settings, Port forwarding options and Firewall settings; but, disappointingly Plusnet do not let you change the DNS on the router. This may not be something that the average user will be concerned about, but it will be frustrating for customers who do want to have router-level DNS control. Overall the Hub One punches above its weight for a low-cost broadband provider. Should you wish to upgrade to the latest BT smart hub, then you can as it’s compatible with Plusnet broadband. You can, of course, always choose to use your own router if you prefer.

Do Plusnet use traffic management?

Each ISP (Internet Service Provider) has its own approach to managing data traffic during busy periods. i.e. prioritising video streaming and VoIP calls over uploading and downloading files. Plusnet stopped traffic management techniques in 2017. All Plusnet broadband options now come with “truly unlimited” downloads which means that they won’t artificially slow your broadband connection down during busy periods.

FREE additional features - Plusnet call protect

Plusnet Call Protect is a fantastic FREE feature which automatically diverts known nuisance calls to a junk voicemail box. You can also add your own additional numbers to the list. Call protect can also ban incoming International calls which are quite often nuisance related. If you have family and friends abroad you can add them to your VIP list to make sure they don't get diverted. Plusnet call protect is simple to set up and extremely effective at blocking unwanted callers.

Plusnet Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Plusnet broadband reviews
Compare Top 10 ISP Reviews

192 Plusnet broadband reviews

1.4
192 Plusnet broadband reviews
Post review
  • 14
  • 8
  • 4
  • 27
  • 139
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.9/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.2/5
Plusnet broadband review
by Robert 10 days ago
Absolute Rubbish
It is hard to select which element is the worst. Over priced, unreliable, slow, etc. Probably no1 is the shocking customer service, squirmy contact blaming everyone but Plusnet. I am cancelling my contract and paying the price to put this lot behind me as the worst broadband supplier in the universe. AVOID
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Plusnet broadband review
by Kevin 21 days ago
Router
Just joined Plusnet on a 24 month contract had the deal I wanted but the router keeps restarting itself, so someone said get a BT Hub 6, so why can't Plusnet upgrade there router
  • Package price
    5/5
  • Customer service
    5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    2.0/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Comment (1)
  • Share
  • Report
  • Authors avatar
    Rick 19 days ago
    Plusnet broadband is a lot cheaper than BT, but it's effectively the same product just re-branded. The hub 1 that Plusnet supply is fine for most users, if it's restarting itself it sounds more like a problem with the line. If Plusnet were to offer the latest router with their broadband the price would go up which defeats the brand USP. I recommend using the cheapest ISP but investing in your own router, the one's that ISP provide are generally crap and it's what makes the difference.
    • Reply
    • Report
Plusnet broadband review
by Pam 1 month ago
I am not very technical but found the switch to plusnet super simple
Ex sky tv customer, switched to plusnet after sky would not offer us a better deal. I am now paying less than I did with sky and getting a faster connection. I was half expecting sky to produce a final bill riddled with small print termination charges but they didn't, I now have TV with Sky and broadband with plusnet which is proving to be a great combo. It took about 2 weeks before I received my email to claim the £70 gift card. The email also states it may take up to 30 days before it arrives in the post. The only advice I would give is that you have to claim your voucher if you don't they will not sent you one. Make sure you check your emails!
  • Package price
    5.0/5
  • Customer service
    5.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    5.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    5.0/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Plusnet broadband review
by Hutkiii2000 1 month ago
Bad Customer Service
This was my 2nd phone call regarding speed problems, I pay for fiber optic broadband but in the evenings I can’t even use my facebook
  • Package price
    2/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    2.0/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Plusnet broadband review
by Ian 1 month ago
Slow speeds and even slower service
AVOID AVOID AVOID

I switched from BT fibre to Plusnet fibre one month ago, expecting roughly the same speeds. After a few days the speeds dropped dramatically (from over 50Mbps to 20-30Mbps). Another two weeks later and they still have not had an engineer investigate the issue on the Plusnet network, just tried to blame the usual “internal wiring” despite no physical changes to any equipment that was providing 56Mbps on BT fibre for years.

I have sent multiple speed tests to prove that the issue is intermittent but persistent. My fault ticket is forever on hold with no actions taken, other than one brief call to ask me if they could close the ticket yet.

I’m actually astounded at how poor the response has been.
  • Package price
    4.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Plusnet broadband review
by Steve 2 months ago
Shocking
Have to say the broadband is shocking, I'm in east London, not the styx, the router seems to drop off almost every night between 9-11pm, yep that's when i'm home and want to use it, customer service, mmm, lacking, can't wait to leave.
  • Package price
    2/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Comment (1)
  • Share
  • Report
  • Authors avatar
    Tanya 1 month ago
    I'm also in East London Hackney and getting the same service, no internet in the afternoons, or dropping out for 24 hours. Had 4 Telecoms Engineers out now and getting nowhere.
    • Reply
    • Report
Plusnet broadband review
by ijustwantthe broadbandthatipayfor 3 months ago
junk
constant disconnects, customer service and technical not interested. never again
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Plusnet broadband review
by jack 3 months ago
I am very happy with Plusnet
Have been with them for many years. My kids complained about wifi in the house. The router was 8 years old, I called and asked what could be done and they sent me the latest router that came 2 days later. Installing was a matter of minutes, straight forward and it looks we are indeed a load better. I find customer service is excellent. The few times I called I spoke with people that took care of the issue immediately and professionally. I always say, that everything is kind of the same anywhere else, but service makes the difference. So far Plusnet has not disappointed me.
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    5.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    5.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    5.0/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to FasterBroadbands Terms & Conditions