Now Broadband

NOW Broadband

NOW Broadband from only £18 a month
including line rental & Free Anytime calls

Now TV and Broadband

Now Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest NOW broadband reviews.

52 NOW broadband reviews

1.7
52 NOW broadband reviews
Post review
  • 8
  • 2
  • 2
  • 7
  • 33
  • Package price
    2.2/5
  • Customer service
    1.6/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.6/5
AtsomepointTV Broadband
NOW broadband review by Mike 7 days ago
Review
One problem with using the internet for so much is that it needs to have enough bandwidth for several things at once! So we decided it was time to upgrade the internet connection. We went onto a popular Meerkat-fronted comparison site and settled on NowTV Broadband. They set a date of 21st May for a switch over.

We realised that, in for a penny in for a pound, it would make sense to upgrade to their super fast broadband. So we called on 15th May, a week after signing up, to ask if we could upgrade to an even faster package. We were told to ring back after the connection went live, to make the change.

The day of the connection change came and went with no switchover. The following morning we called again, to see what was happening. We were informed that it was being dealt with, that the change would happen in the next few hours. We were assured that our current connection wouldn’t be switched until after the new connection was ready.

A few hours later the internet and telephone lines cut out. We installed the new NowTV box and nothing happened.

We called back and were told that there was a problem. We were given no details on when it would be resolved, or what the actual issue was. We were told a manager would call us back at some point. The customer service agent couldn’t say when, simply gave a date 3 days later by which she ‘hoped’ a manager would be able to call us. They said the problem was showing as flagged on their system as being explained to us on 15th May. When asked if they could review the recordings of that call, they said they would not and refused to give them to us but admitted they existed.

We then called our previous provider and asked if there were any problems with them or with Openreach (the vague reasons for the problem we were given). An engineer assured us that there was and should be no problem.

No other contact from NowTV was received. No internet connection came online.

This morning we have called twice and both times have been given different information, which doesn’t match. We have been told that we will be called back multiple times, no calls have been forthcoming. They have refused to confirm these issues. When asked for information on how to check the fault with Openreach we were told to google the number and when it was explained that not having internet made this more difficult and asked for the number we were told that due to GDPR we could not be given a number, despite it being in the public domain.

We asked to make a formal complaint. We were told to go online.

Times are tough and they are obviously working under strain. Technical difficulties happen. The tone and support from NowTV has made it impossible to feel reassured that I will be able to work effectively. They indicate it could be up to 10 days before the fault is corrected. This is despite the two week period between signing up and the connection coming online. It has also been over a week since they claim (erroneously) we were informed.

Looking on NowTV’s own forums reveals that this exact issue has happened countless times before. Each time they have blamed other companies but been ultimately responsible. On occasions it has taken them more than 16 days to resolve the issue.

In the meantime, we are stuck with no broadband, no telephone line, and no clue when we will be able to even know when work can resume.

They have now said that they would escalate the problem to 'Tier 2' and call us within 72 hours. It has been over 100 hours since then. Still not a single call or email. No apology.

I’m not on the frontline but I value my work and I want to look after my clients. In these times isn’t fulfilling internet contracts, or at least being prompt and active in resolving issues, a basic moral duty?
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Honestly, go elsewhere .. anywhere but NOW.
NOW broadband review by Emma 1 month ago
Review
Where do I start?! Applied online 18th November to move to Now from PlusNet, given a start date of 2nd December during the process. Order failed. Multiple orders subsequently placed, all failed. REPEATEDLY told useless staff issue needed escalating, REPEATEDLY ignored. Ombudsman utter waste of time (industry bias). Finally lost it and emailed CEOs of Now (Sky), BT Openreach, PlusNet etc. Issue resolved by BT Openreach who found an issue between two systems. Still no help from Now other than placing further order. On 11th February Now advised I was entitled to compensation for the delay (114 days from start to end). Bear in mind they didn’t bother to even attempt to resolve the issue, they are now stating that as the start date was not confirmed (it was, I have a screen shot taken during the order process, plus subsequent dates confirmed verbally by staff) I am not entitled to compensation. They subscribe to an ‘automatic compensation’ scheme. Clearly nothing automatic about it, clearly they think it’s acceptable to breach their own policies, clearly a joke of a company. Send emails which they deny receiving, have requested deadlock letter, now have an email (4 days after last email to them) saying they are closing the complaint as they haven't heard from me. I'm at my utter wits end with these morons. Off to the equally useless Ombudsman again, and the press (having been told by Now that emailing others slows the process which is both ironic and a threat). Their broadband is absolutely nothing to write home about either. Just do yourself a favour, take account of all these poor reviews, they are poor for a reason. Go elsewhere. Honestly. Anywhere but Now. It’s just not worth the stress.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
4 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    Richard 10 days ago
    I have had a problem recently where I lost access to now tv I tried resetting my password and even though they take payment every month they never recognised my email address , I had the same problem last year and I was advised to try a different email address which ended up with me being charged twice , the excuse at the moment for not replying to any query is the covid 19 , but checking back on last year when no covid 19 i had the same poor response , they also do not make it easy to contact them , but now i have stopped payments lets see how quick they contact me
Appalling avoid at all cost
NOW broadband review by A 2 months ago
Review
I would give them zero stars if I could.

Appalling customer service, couldn’t care less what you think only interested in money huge mistake signing with them. I have lodged a formal complaint against them with the regulator.

If you are thinking of using any of Now TV services, DONT.
GO anywhere else than with them
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Now TV internet, retro?
NOW broadband review by Zanx 2 months ago
Review
Given how long broadband has been available, there's no excuse for constant interruptions, down time and slow connections. You might think that SKY has the clout to provide A1 broadband but frankly, even Plusnet and TalkTalk were more reliable. I'm at end of contract now and will not be renewing, even if it's free.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Not recommended, avoid NOW Broadband!
NOW broadband review by Ayano 2 months ago
Review
No words to describe how bad they are. Waiting two weeks for line to go live and after calling them every day now they told us that we have to cancel the contract and make a new one. They ensure us before that NO engineer work is needed because previous tenant was with them but now they changed their mind and will send us second box and if engineer work is needed it will be in June! Also on their official page you can find information that they will give you £5 back for every day of delay, looks like we will have free internet for next 6 months.
Not recommend, avoid NOW Broadband!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Poor service when leaving.
NOW broadband review by Elguajiro 5 months ago
Review
I have been with NOW Broadband for almost 18 months and wanted to change my provider but they are making it difficult for me by refusing to transfer my phone number which I have had for over 30 years. As I am in business I will lose repeat customers. I am now stuck in a useless position.
  • Package price
    3.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
5 people found the following review helpful
STAY AWAY FROM NOW FAB FIBRE
NOW broadband review by Rob 8 months ago
Review
NOW FAB FIBRE
Is rubbish, it is only fibre to the outside cabinet !!! then the signal is so poor, if you also had the galaxy TAB4 from NOW that will not work with Now fab fibre.
I rang twice complaining about the poor signal, then in frustration cancelled, Now they want early termination charge.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
Glad I moved
NOW broadband review by Will 8 months ago
Review
I did my research on various broadband providers before I switched. Maybe I dodged a bullet and landed lucky, but so far my new Now broadband is faultless.
  • Package price
    4.0/5
  • Customer service
    5.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    5.0/5
Show more
6 people found the following review helpful
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

NOW Broadband - Entertainment Pass (TV only 1 month)

Average speed*
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£8.99
1 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £107.88
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Sky Cinema Pass (TV only 1 month)

Average speed*
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£11.99
1 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £143.88
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Brilliant Broadband + Free Anytime Calls

Standard Broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£18
12 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £221
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Fab Fibre + Free Anytime Calls

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
36Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£22
12 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £269
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Brilliant Broadband + Entertainment Pass Attachment + Free Anytime Calls

Standard Broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£22.99
12 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £280.88
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Brilliant Broadband + Free Anytime Calls (Monthly contract)

Standard Broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£18
1 month contract Setup cost £60
Total first year cost £281
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Brilliant Broadband + Sky Cinema Attachment + Free Anytime Calls

Standard Broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£23.99
12 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £292.88
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Fab Fibre + Entertainment Pass Attachment + Free Anytime Calls

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
36Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£26.99
12 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £328.88
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Fab Fibre + Sky Cinema Attachment + Free Anytime Calls

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
36Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£27.99
12 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £340.88
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Super Fibre + Free Anytime Calls

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
63Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£28
12 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £341
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Fab Fibre + Free Anytime Calls (Monthly contract)

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
36Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£25
1 month contract Setup cost £60
Total first year cost £365
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Super Fibre + Entertainment Pass Attachment + Free Anytime Calls

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
63Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£32.99
12 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £400.88
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Super Fibre + Sky Cinema Attachment + Free Anytime Calls

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
63Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£33.99
12 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £412.88
Show cost details

NOW Broadband - Super Fibre + Free Anytime Calls (Monthly contract)

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
63Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£30
1 month contract Setup cost £60
Total first year cost £425
Show cost details

NOW Broadband Features

Does Sky own Now TV?

In short, yes it does! Now TV was founded in 2012 as a division of Sky Limited. Now TV was originally just a TV streaming subscription service trying to rival Netflix. But, in 2016 Now TV launched 'Now Broadband' to it’s UK customers with phone and broadband packages starting from just £18 per month, and fibre broadband and line rental from just £25 per month.

Is Now TV as good as Sky TV?

It’s hard to see why anyone would join Sky TV when Now TV can stream Sky cinema, Sky sports, and 1000’s of ad-free children TV episodes without a contract. Now TV can also offer other channels that won’t be found on Freeview like: Sky One, Sky Atlantic, MTV, Gold, Discovery channel and more.

Now TV is all about flexible, hassle-free TV. One of the advantages of Now Broadband over it’s sister company Sky is the option to sign up without a contract. Customers who are happy to sign up to a 12-month contract will get a reduced rate. Dip in and out for a month whenever you choose. It’s perfect for keeping children entertained during the summer holidays. Or, add Sky Cinema pass for a treat over the Christmas Holidays.

NOW Broadband review logo

NOW Broadband Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of NOW Broadband

NOW Broadband Pro's

  • Broadband without a contract available, £60 setup fee applies. Or no setup fee if you opt for a 12 month contract
  • Cheap broadband with a guaranteed download speed. If you don't receive the speed your contract states you can leave without a charge!
  • Free phone line installation (if applicable)

NOW Broadband Con's

  • No ability to record or download streamed TV programs
  • TV service is not comprehensive compared with Sky TV
  • If you want to watch Now TV you will need a compatible device, it does not come free when you join Now TV

Compare Now TV with Sky TV

When it comes to the amount of TV channels available, SKY wins hands down. Now TV will work out cheaper if you only want select channels, or only want Sky cinema passes to entertain the children during the holidays. Other things to consider are that Sky TV generally offer a free Sky box (installation fee may apply). Now TV does not come with a Smart Box device, so watching Now TV would require the additional purchase of a Now TV device (prices range from £14.99 to £45.99). Before you splash out, you may already have a compatible device. Now TV supports over 60 devices including: iPad, iPhones, Samsung Smart TV’s (from 2015), Apple TV, PS4, Xbox One, EETV, LG Smart TV’s and more. The key feature missing from Now TV is the ability to record streamed TV - less of a problem with TV on demand, but there’s no guarantee your program will be there when you want it. Sky however is the master of TV planning and recording, so if recording TV programs is important to you, Now TV may not be the best option.

Compare Sky Broadband and Now Broadband

Both Now TV and Sky offer a broadband package, but to be honest - they are practically the same. They both use the same Openreach network and offer an average download speed of 11Mb for standard broadband and between 36Mb-63Mb for fibre broadband. Compare Sky Broadband deals

Now TV Entertainment options

Entertainment Pass (£7.99 per month) – watch over 300 Box Sets and 11 channels not on Freeview
Sky Cinema Pass (£11.99 per month) - enjoy over 1,000 movies on demand
Sky Sports Pass (£9.99 per day) – enjoy the biggest live sporting events on 11 Sky Sports channels
Kids Pass (£3.99 per month) – watch six live channels and thousands of episodes on demand
Hayu Pass (£3.99 per month) - over 5000 episodes of US reality TV
7 day free trial available on all Now TV passes

Can I watch BBC and ITV on Now TV?

If you want to watch freeview channels, this can be done via apps like: BBC iPlayer, ITV Hub, My5, & 4OD, which are built into the NowTV Smart Box. Other paid TV services like Netflix are also available via apps (additional subscription required).

How do I switch my broadband to NOW Broadband?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to NOW Broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by NOW Broadband. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both NOW Broadband and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a NOW Broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Broadband calculator above to see the best NOW Broadband deals available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, compare all broadband providers here.