Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Media

M50 Fibre Broadband only £28 per month
54Mbps average download

Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews.

345 Virgin Media broadband reviews

1.0
345 Virgin Media broadband reviews
Post review
  • 1
  • 4
  • 9
  • 58
  • 269
  • Package price
    1.2/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Dont believe what they say
Virgin Media broadband review by Ash 2 days ago
Review
I gave my 30 days notice to end my contract because what they offered was too expensive. 2 days later gets a phone call offering me £34 a month and £50 credit if I stayed, so I took the deal. What a fuc7king bad choice I made. The first bill was nearly £50 so I called customer morons service and they basically called me a liar, they had no record of the deal. I had the mobile number the virgin rep who called me. He said that what he had offered was correct but customer service still had no idea. I've got 10 months left on my contract and I will never renew. STAY AWAY!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Appalling Customer Service
Virgin Media broadband review by Cosh123 13 days ago
Review
Appalling Customer Service very difficult to contact by phone, internet service desk or text service. When you get through you a passed from one person to another then dropped I have been trying to resolve An issue for three months having spent hours on the phone, internet and text service. Don’t use this Company you will regret if you do
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Awful service, stealing from their customers
Virgin Media broadband review by Panthera 14 days ago
Review
Virgin Media steals money from their customers. They owe me money from an overpayment which wasn’t my fault. They deliberately keep brushing my claim under the carpet and passing me from one team to another. I’ve contacted them more than 10 times now since the beginning of March and I get ignored or given false promises. The worst company I’ve ever dealt with. Thanks for wasting hours of my time.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    Cosh123 13 days ago
    I agree with everything you have said appalling customer service
Overcharged, lied to and unprofessional customer service!!!!
Virgin Media broadband review by Ayman 1 month ago
Review
I recently disconnected from Virgin Media after my bills shot up to £50.50 per month for just fiber. Now that was already an issue as they do not call or email to inform you that your contract is coming to an end or that you are being moved on to a rolling contract.

The bigger issue is their incredibly rude, unprofessional and dishonest call center staff. When I called to disconnect I was informed that as I pay in advanced I would not be charged going forward. Fast-forward to today where I have been charged.

I have called the call center again to discuss and let them know that I was misinformed by the previous colleague I spoke to and have now been charged. Their response was to refer to their online payment system and pay no attention to what I was saying at all. The person I was speaking to (John) did not listen to a thing I said and kept on rattling on about how it is explained on my online bill without listening to my complaint that their staff member (A human) had lied to me.

After him repeating the same sentence to me about 5 times without trying to understand what I was saying I left the call with no solution and still having been lied to and charged.

Overall they are absolutely despicable, their conduct is incredibly unprofessional and dishonest. This is the worst experience I have ever had with an ISP. You are better paying for BT as they are less likely to rip you off and lie to you (Or their customer service will at least resolve your issues and accept responsibility). If you want just fiber hyperoptic looks great and there are so many options to explore which we will be doing.

Please be aware that no matter how much you pay them their customer service and support will always be terrible.
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
I have been CONNED
Virgin Media broadband review by Martin 2 months ago
Review
I purchased 200MB/s download speed - NOT! - I actually get between 4 and 38MB/s -- very very poor broadband speeds even on ethernet cable. DO NOT BUY from Virgin Media - poor service - poor speeds and false advertising - OFCOM next..........
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
BLAME THE CORONA VIRUS!
Virgin Media broadband review by darek 2 months ago
Review
BLAME THE CORONA VIRUS!
I have ordered installation business broadband in our two business sites.
The sweet salesmen Randeep from the business team will sell you everything, fast with.

The first installation didn’t go as a plan: I have to wait the whole day in the empty site, no buddy come as arranged despite asking for an hour half a day slots - sorry, only daily slots.
No phone call no email. Waste of my day!

I managed to contact virgin media, to reschedule the appointment. Finally success.

After installation, the engineer from virgin media took the “old” hub with him and disappear.
Domestic team invoiced me £90 fo the old router (it has been taking by your installer). It took me many hours on the phone to New Delhi holding and explaining again, again and again.

The worst: I have ordered the business broadband in January this year, The installed at the beginning of February. The complaint took around two months, 5 emails sent to a virgin - no reply.
When I finally spoke to VIRGIN MEDIA they blamed COVID19 for messing the installation! The first week of February? Seriously? No sorry, they don’t care!

I have planned to set up another five sites with a business broadband connection from virgin media - I am staying with the current provider.

Please avoid. AVOID!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Worst decision ever
Virgin Media broadband review by Eebz 2 months ago
Review
We switched from Sky to Virgin Media because of the promised download and upload speeds.
We got Virgin Media installed 2 months ago and we are stuck on a 12-month contract. The sooner the 12 months are up the better and we can ditch the Virgin Media equipment.
We can’t get proper and continued wi-fi unless we are in the same room as the hub, and even then the wi-fi is rubbish.
There’s next to no signal throughout the house and when you do get it, it is intermittent and cuts out continually.
I can no longer work from home properly. My kids can’t get online to do uni work or any social media using the wi-if.
We have tried all the suggestions and rebooted the hub and reset it to factory settings. It’s still rubbish.
  • Package price
    4.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Great product, but.................
Virgin Media broadband review by BobT 3 months ago
Review
Great product fast and reliable, but the company are disgusting, they lie to you right from the start, use overseas help centres, don't give a damn about you once you have signed up and try to charge you extra when you leave, I have had to stop my direct debit to stop them getting any more money off me, as its very difficult to contact them to leave
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

Virgin Media - M100 Fibre Broadband Only

Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£24
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £288
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M50 Fibre Broadband + Phone

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
54Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£28
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £336
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big bundle

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
54Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£33
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £396
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M200 Fibre Broadband Only

Average speed*
218Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£34
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £408
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M100 Fibre Broadband + Phone

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£34
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £408
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M350 Fibre Broadband Only

Average speed*
370Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£40
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £480
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M200 Fibre Broadband + Phone

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
218Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£40
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £480
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big Oomph bundle

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£41
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £492
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£45
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £540
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M350 Fibre Broadband + Phone

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
370Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£46
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £552
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M500 Fibre Broadband Only

Average speed*
528Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£46
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £552
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
218Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£53
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £583
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M500 Fibre Broadband + Phone

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
528Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£52
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £624
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Movies

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£62
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £744
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Sports

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
218Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£65
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £780
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Movies

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
218Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£70
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £840
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Sports

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
370Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£73
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £876
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Sports & Movies

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
218Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£79
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £948
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Sports & Movies

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
370Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£87
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £1044
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultimate Oomph bundle

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
528Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£89
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £1068
Show cost details

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an Engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an Engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Virgin Media broadband calculator above to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Virgin Media

Virgin Media Pro's

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • All services can be installed during the same engineer visit

Virgin Media Con's

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • Some drilling into the property may be necessary

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you are switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Virgin Media broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Virgin Media). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.