Virgin Media

Free Gift: £50 bill credit or 8 bottle Virgin Wines
54Mb Fibre broadband + Phone £28per month

Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews.

332 Virgin Media broadband reviews

1.0
332 customer reviews
Post review
  • 1
  • 4
  • 7
  • 54
  • 247
  • Package price
    1.2/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.7/5
Broadband
 · 1 month ago
Review
Extremely poor. Had it for 6 weeks. It worked for 3 days in total. It took 1.5 - 2.0 hours to get through to speak to them and in the end they didn't sort out the problem. Now trying to get my money back.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Try any other option before you take them
 · 1 month ago
Review
Horrible customer service, if you have any other option try that before coming to them
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Rip off merchants
 · 1 month ago
Review
9 years customer, another price rise, also want £105 for the latest vivo box 6 which is included in the package for new customers. We signed up with Sky for a much less monthly fee, which included a new land line, and an extra mini box, so we can watch different channels in another room.
I had to pay Virgin for one whole extra month because our contract ended two days later. Been promised a part refund of £60-00 this was in August 2019, still waiting for a refund been told by virgin it will not be until some time in November.
STAY CLEAR OF VIRGIN THEY ARE COMPLETE RIP-OFF MERCHANTS
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Where do I start. I really think they are unethical crooks
 · 2 months ago
Review
I had service for 2 years.
Down several times a day. One time down for over a week.
Customer service is worse than awful. The only reason I generally wouldn't call when there was an issue is because I'd end up talking to someone without any knowledge, capability, skill or power to do anything useful.
Regular price increases when I eventually got around to switching (Plus Net), I had to endure an almost impossible task to get through to the dept. THEN they offered me all sorts of discounts to stay. NO WAY PAL. Why keep putting up my bill when you can afford to offer me a substantial discount?
Then, they said I have to send their router back - with cables and plug. If I don't send it back, they'll charge £40. They will send me a pre-addressed bag. OK. I never got the bag. Chased them for the bag. Wrote a complaint form saying I wanted the bag. Never got a response, got the bag yesterday. Got an email today to say they charged me the £40.

Total wankers.
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Rip off
 · 2 months ago
Review
Complete rip off. We have been with Virgin since past 6 years. No problem what so ever till 5.5 years. Since last 6 months sudden price jump to more than double without any written notice. And now on termination they hike the price again so in short they don't care about existing customer.
Worst thing is, the price is more for just broadband as compare to broadband with phone and tv. What a cheeky way to sell everything even though nobody uses telephone line these days
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Awful customer service
 · 2 months ago
Review
Cant believe how I have been treated by Virgin Media. Sales person lied to me about the contacting my old provider to transfer over. Engineer could not connect me. And to fix their error it is going to take a further 2 weeks. Wasn't even told about the new date. Customer support are really unhelpful. Would not recommend
  • Package price
    3/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
terrible
 · 2 months ago
Review
Only been with them 2 weeks already spent circa 8 hrs on the phone trying to resolve problems. untrained technicians, terrible customer service, misleading and contradictory advice, outright falsehodds, ridiculous waiting times on the phone and agents hanging up on simple issues they find hard to resolve. Be prepared to be passed around departments with nothing actually getting resolved. Be prepared to be the one to suggest solutions. be prepared to have virgin agents hang up on you. be prepared to spend minimum of 40 minutes on hold waiting before getting through to anyone. Record all conversations from the sign up point. Record any and all agreements. Finally the internet commitments are only related to direct ethernet connections not wifi. The guaranteed speed they speak of has a caveat that isn't mentioned anywhere so be prepared for subpar connections. OR maybe just DONT sign up with Virgin
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Virgin claim to provide fast broadband, not fast (or reasonable) service!
 · 2 months ago
Review
I feel my recent experience with Virgin Media does not even deserve 1 star.

Background
I wanted to save some money, so I contacted Virgin Media to find out what was the best price they could offer me. They were advertising a great deal for new customers. I had been with Virgin for 10 years and was told that new customer offer was only available once per household. Despite me telling Virgin Media that I was unemployed and was looking for ways to reduce my monthly outgoings, I was twice offered a new deal that would be more than I was already paying. A clear indication that they were not listening to me. I re-requested that they give me their best deal. The ‘best’ they could do was nearly double the new customer offer I mentioned earlier. I declined their offers and said I would be looking for an alternative provider. I was out of contract and was free to leave.

‘Good’ Deals
I did some research and found what looked like a fairly good deal with Plusnet. Contacted Plusnet, I accepted their deal and agreed an installation date. I called Virgin Media back to confirm that I wanted to leave. After trying again to sell me a new ‘better’ deal and then realising they couldn’t come close to the price from Plusnet. I told them I wanted my phone number transferred to the new service provider and a member of the Virgin Media team talked me through the service termination and phone number export process. I agreed to their ‘minimum 30-day’ termination clause, making my last day with Virgin Media day 13 September. I was told by Virgin Media that only live phone numbers can be exported, so they would leave my phone service as active until after the export had completed. The other services (TV and broadband) would be set to end on 13 September as agreed.

I new service was due to go live with Plusnet on 11 September, so this date seemed to provide a good overlap, in case there were any hiccups.

Hiccups
On 29 August, my broadband and TV service stopped working. I called Virgin Media to ask for help. I was told that my service was terminated ‘as agreed’, when Plusnet issues the phone number export request on 29 August. I said that was not what I agreed and was told, but Virgin insisted that there was nothing they could do to turn my TV and broadband services back on until the previously agreed date of 13 September. Virgin suggested I ask Plusnet if they could bring the installation date forward. I called Plusnet and was told they could not move the date forward, as there were not free slots before 11 September. I called Virgin back and spoke to a more friendly individual, who did some research and said she could request a reconnection, she would need to fill in some forms and it would take up to 72 hours.

72 Hours
Can and went, still not service, another called to Virgin Media, another unhelpful team member. The only option to get the service back is to if I “cancel the export and revert back to Virgin Media” as my service provider. If I do that, I get my service back in around 3 days, but I will lose my phone number, forever. I decide not to do this and the issue to be escalated. “It won’t help” to escalate my issue I’m told by the Virgin Media team member. I ask to speak with her supervisor. No that can’t be done either. I ask for a formal complaint to be raised. In a later phone call, I am told that a Virgin Media team member in the ‘Export team’ made the mistake that caused my service to be terminated 14 days earlier than agreed.

No response
Still heard nothing about anything except a few curt, apparently automated, emails telling me to send back their equipment or I will be charged. I sent back all their equipment 13 days prior to the most recent demanding email, so I call Virgin Media again, to be told “we know the equipment is on its way”, but the system takes 10 working days to notify them of this. I suggest they should change the tone of their emails if the biggest delay in the process is caused by their internal system communication. I was treated like it was my fault that a Virgin Media internal system takes 10 days to notify another Virgin Media team. And Virgin Media isn’t responsible if an automated email causes upset. If an email sent by Virgin Media to a Virgin Media customer causes upset, whose fault it then? It must be my fault; I mean I am the customer. Based on my previous experience this should have been obvious, my mistake.

45 Days
Moving on to more pleasant things then, the Virgin Media team member I’m speaking with tells me my refund cheque with me mailed to me within the next 45 days. I ask for clarification, “Did you say 4 to 5 days?” The reply was a definite “No, 45 days”. Forty-five days to send me a refund cheque. What The ****? They have to be kidding me, right? No, it turns out I’m silly for thinking otherwise. Apparently, 45 days is normal and acceptable.

The only thing
The only thing that takes longer than the time Virgin Media take to respond to complaints is how long it will take them to send a refund! This is not actually true, as I haven’t received any communication from Virgin Media about my complaint yet, so don’t know how long I will have to wait for that, but I won’t be at all surprised if it’s longer than 45 days!
  • Package price
    3.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Don't do it
 · 2 months ago
Review
Do not get involved with this company it sounds great but it's like the Hotel California you can check in but you can never leave.
I was a customer for years but the prices kept going up and up so you say you are leaving and they come up with a great deal so you stay and it goes up again so you say your leaving and they come up with a better deal but then it goes up finally you downgrade your package and they say it's a great deal then it goes up so your paying as much for less service and on it goes till you say that's enough then they keep sending you bills and threats . Customer service is crap you will be on the phone trying to get through for hours only to be cut off when you finally get through . Crap crap crap DO NOT GET INVOLVED WITH THIS COMPANY YOU WILL REGRET IT!
  • Package price
    3/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Useless
 · 2 months ago
Review
After numerous problems with our tv. And unhelpful arrogant staff. I received a new tv box. Easy you said to set up on our own. And now no tv over the weekend as the new box is even worse than the old (which I got this year). Will be leaving virgin media in December and looking elsewhere.
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful

Find the best Virgin Media Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best Virgin Media Broadband deals

 
 

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an Engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an Engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Virgin Media broadband calculator above to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Virgin Media

Virgin Media Pro's

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • All services can be installed during the same engineer visit

Virgin Media Con's

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • Some drilling into the property may be necessary

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you are switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Virgin Media broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Virgin Media). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.