Virgin Media

M50 Fibre broadband + Phone £26 per month
£75 bill credit exclusive offer

Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews.

336 Virgin Media broadband reviews

1.0
336 Virgin Media broadband reviews
Post review
  • 1
  • 4
  • 7
  • 55
  • 250
  • Package price
    1.2/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.7/5
Do not sign, you will regret it
Virgin Media broadband review by EP  · 5 days ago
Review
The worse company ever! the worse customer service it is shocking. I have called them 10 times in two months to return my router. Every time they say they will send a new return package -they refuse to send a tracked one- and despite the fact that I am home all the time I never receive one. They keep texting me, emailing me, harassing me about a £40 charge if I do not send it back by the end of the month!! I call them and email them without reply. There is no way to contact them and solve their fault. Do not sign with them! You will regret!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Think Twice
Virgin Media broadband review by James  · 7 days ago
Review
I was with Virgin some time back and what an unfortunate experience that was. Started off OK but internet speed declined and they hiked up their prices on a regular basis. Was paying for a landline for a bit which I rarely used so tried to cancel. After an eternity I got through to someone and it was agreed that the landline would be cut and my bill would be reduced significantly. True to their word they did cut the landline but for nearly two years I was still paying for it. Further still internet speeds declined to the stage that some days I was lucky to get a signal at all. E-mailed several times but never once got a reply. Tried numerous occasions to speak to them again, which was an ordeal. Finally got through to someone in Asia who ran some diagnostics or whatever from afar. There was a slight improvement in performance but that was short lived. Things went from bad to worse so I contacted my bank and cancelled my direct debit, leaving my last bill unpaid. Surprise, surprise it wasn't long before they got in touch. I was well out of pocket but these money grabbing morons were adamant I owed them. Anyone seduced by their TV ads think twice. There are some rubbish companies out there but nothing comes close to Virgin Media.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Rubbish service, get charged once left company
Virgin Media broadband review by Anonymous  · 25 days ago
Review
I've been with virgin for 3 years now and I ended my broadband and landline phone on end of March 2019 . I was told once i cancelled my phone number it will only be active for 10 days provided another supplier takes over, so mid April 2019 my broadband and landline phone got cancelled however I was still charged up until now even though I've been going back and forth to get my landline phone cancellation all sorted. They still kept my number even though I didn't go with another supplier. Absolutely disgusting behaviour, and the sad reality is virgin media are ok to take out money on monthly basis for a number that I no longer need or use and when I ask for a refund, they firstly don't want to listen to the phone call conversation I had with the customer service personnel even though I told her that I will not be going with another supplier and so I won't need my landline phone number. I won't be using virgin media again that's for sure. Don't waste your time with them. Their customer service is is awful. I don't even think they are worth the one star to be honest.
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Awful customer service - beware
Virgin Media broadband review by Seuqaj  · 1 month ago
Review
Awful customer service. Was trying to find out how much notice I needed to give to cancel my contract, and potentially renegotiate a new deal. The cancellation team were awful. The woman was aggressive, rude and patronising, and refused to pass me on to a supervisor or someone else. I eventually had to put the phone down. When I called back I spoke to another woman who went to check / speak to the first person I had spoken to. She then came back and immediately informed me my account would be cancelled in 30 days.No attempt was made to keep me as a customer or apologise. The best way to judge a company is how they deal with an issue. Virgin Media are awful.
  • Package price
    3.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband
Virgin Media broadband review by David B  · 5 months ago
Review
Extremely poor. Had it for 6 weeks. It worked for 3 days in total. It took 1.5 - 2.0 hours to get through to speak to them and in the end they didn't sort out the problem. Now trying to get my money back.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Try any other option before you take them
Virgin Media broadband review by Savi  · 5 months ago
Review
Horrible customer service, if you have any other option try that before coming to them
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Rip off merchants
Virgin Media broadband review by Leo  · 5 months ago
Review
9 years customer, another price rise, also want £105 for the latest vivo box 6 which is included in the package for new customers. We signed up with Sky for a much less monthly fee, which included a new land line, and an extra mini box, so we can watch different channels in another room.
I had to pay Virgin for one whole extra month because our contract ended two days later. Been promised a part refund of £60-00 this was in August 2019, still waiting for a refund been told by virgin it will not be until some time in November.
STAY CLEAR OF VIRGIN THEY ARE COMPLETE RIP-OFF MERCHANTS
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Where do I start. I really think they are unethical crooks
Virgin Media broadband review by Tongzie  · 5 months ago
Review
I had service for 2 years.
Down several times a day. One time down for over a week.
Customer service is worse than awful. The only reason I generally wouldn't call when there was an issue is because I'd end up talking to someone without any knowledge, capability, skill or power to do anything useful.
Regular price increases when I eventually got around to switching (Plus Net), I had to endure an almost impossible task to get through to the dept. THEN they offered me all sorts of discounts to stay. NO WAY PAL. Why keep putting up my bill when you can afford to offer me a substantial discount?
Then, they said I have to send their router back - with cables and plug. If I don't send it back, they'll charge £40. They will send me a pre-addressed bag. OK. I never got the bag. Chased them for the bag. Wrote a complaint form saying I wanted the bag. Never got a response, got the bag yesterday. Got an email today to say they charged me the £40.

Total wankers.
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Rip off
Virgin Media broadband review by Vimal  · 5 months ago
Review
Complete rip off. We have been with Virgin since past 6 years. No problem what so ever till 5.5 years. Since last 6 months sudden price jump to more than double without any written notice. And now on termination they hike the price again so in short they don't care about existing customer.
Worst thing is, the price is more for just broadband as compare to broadband with phone and tv. What a cheeky way to sell everything even though nobody uses telephone line these days
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Awful customer service
Virgin Media broadband review by Sion Paul  · 5 months ago
Review
Cant believe how I have been treated by Virgin Media. Sales person lied to me about the contacting my old provider to transfer over. Engineer could not connect me. And to fix their error it is going to take a further 2 weeks. Wasn't even told about the new date. Customer support are really unhelpful. Would not recommend
  • Package price
    3/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful

Find the best Virgin Media Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best Virgin Media Broadband deals

 
 

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an Engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an Engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Virgin Media broadband calculator above to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Virgin Media

Virgin Media Pro's

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • All services can be installed during the same engineer visit

Virgin Media Con's

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • Some drilling into the property may be necessary

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you are switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Virgin Media broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Virgin Media). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.