Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Virgin Broadband Reviews

Is Virgin Broadband any good?

Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our broadband availability checker to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pros & Cons

Key features for Virgin Media packages

Virgin Media Pros

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • Free WiFi on the London Underground

Virgin Media Cons

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • No static IP option for residential customers

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

Virgin Media don’t use BT’s infrastructure, instead, they use their own cable network so you don't need a traditional copper phone line. Virgin can supply a broadband only package, but the best offers are for customer's combining TV, phone and broadband. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you're in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line. Other providers like Vodafone, B4RN and BT have options of FTTP (Fibre to the Premises) which does not require a phone line.

Virgin Media – Static IP address

If you switch to a Virgin Media residential broadband package you’ll be supplied with a dynamic IP address. This is standard practice with many ISP’s and is fine for most residential customers. However, those that require a static IP address for e.g. online webcams, security cameras or hosting their own webserver will need to switch to a Virgin Media business package. Virgin’s most basic business package doesn’t offer the option of adding a static IP address, customers would have to opt for ‘Voom Fibre 2’ or higher. The ‘Business Voom Fibre 2’ package is £47 + vat per month for a 350Mbps broadband only plan (minimum 2-year contract applies). If you want a free static IP address, we recommend Zen Broadband. Alternatively, Plusnet offer residential customers the option of a static IP address for free (£5 setup fee applies). However, neither of these alternative providers offer any TV packages.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you're switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M100 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Sunday 28th of February 2021
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£24
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 288
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M100 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£27.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 335.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Superfast M50 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
54Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£28
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 336
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M200 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Sunday 28th of February 2021
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£30
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 360
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big bundle

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
54Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£33
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 396
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M200 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£33.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 407.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M350 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Sunday 28th of February 2021
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£36
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 432
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big bundle + Drama Pick & Documentaries Pick

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£37.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 455.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M350 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£39.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 479.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M500 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Sunday 28th of February 2021
516Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£42
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 504
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Lightning Fast M500 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
516Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£45.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 551.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big Oomph bundle

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£47
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 564
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£49
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 588
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big Oomph bundle + Drama Pick

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£54
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 648
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£65
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 715
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Movies

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£62
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 744
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Sports

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£65
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 780
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Movies

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£70
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 840
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Sports

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£80
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 960
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Sports & Movies

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£86
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 1032
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultimate Oomph bundle

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
630Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£89
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 1068
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Sports & Movies

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£94
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 1128
Show cost details

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews
Compare Top 10 ISP Reviews

391 Virgin Media broadband reviews

1.0
391 Virgin Media broadband reviews
Post review
  • 3
  • 4
  • 9
  • 69
  • 306
  • Package price
    1.2/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Virgin Media broadband review
by Magie 3 days ago
Horrific
Shame on you. Leaving us without internet for hours, impossible to reach customer service.
Absolutely disgusting
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    1.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Virgin Media broadband review
by Emily 7 days ago
I would leave 0/5 if I could.
I would leave 0/5 if I could for customer service and satisfaction. Our WiFi has fully cut out on several occasions, preventing us from doing our jobs. We live in a one bed flat in central London but barely get internet access in the bedroom and none in bathroom when router is located less than 3 meters away. Upon trying to cancel our contract today, my partner has been on the phone for 2 hours, and has been hung up on three times, even when assured he would not be transferred. Appalling service that traps you in a contract. We will be forced to simply cancel our direct debit. DO NOT GET VIRGIN MEDIA BROADBAND, we definitely will never do this again.
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Virgin Media broadband review
by timmy 12 days ago
I give 1 star because 0 is not possible
Wired internet drops, paying for 350 speed but most of the time streaming is slow or not possible. Wifi is a joke need to go to 4G for WhatsApp video calls. Tv picture quality is nowhere as good as tv competitor whose name is sky why? I cannot comment much on landline as mostly used to contact virgin. They then ask for your mobile number and contact you that way. Then I am asked security questions by a private mobile number. It seems this is the only way I could try and cancel, but it is automated and asking security questions which I will not answer. So goodbye virginmedia thank you for letting me cancel early without notice as I cannot give you, but I can stop payment. If you decide to join virgin media, you will need help sometime, good luck. I would give 0 star but not possible, actually in my opinion they deserve minus star rating.
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Virgin Media broadband review
by Tom 14 days ago
Bad
Just so bad!! Avoid!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Virgin Media broadband review
by Andrii 16 days ago
AVOID AT ANY COST
Worst customer service
Can't reach them
Can't cancel
Can't fix anything
No matter what your problem is won’t be solved

Never ever try to do business with them
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Virgin Media broadband review
by Jacob 17 days ago
Avoid like the plague!
Wasted hours of my life calling them just to cancel my contract. I'm moving and the new house can't have Virgin Media. Why you can't do this online is beyond me. A simple button or live chat like literally everyone else!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Virgin Media broadband review
by Marsy 20 days ago
JOKE OF A COMPANY. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE
WORST COMPANY ON THE PLANET FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

Only gave 1 star because I couldnt give any lower. Been a customer for 18 months and I can honestly say that they have the worst customer service of any company I have dealt with. Totally incompetent, inept and ignorant.

Trying to sort basic issues out with them involves hours of calls and you just go round in circles. It is enough to give you a coronary.

They should be ashamed. They make the Keystone Cops look like a well oiled machine. Get it sorted Richard Branson. Do you actually realise how bad you are.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Comment (1)
  • Share
  • Report
  • Authors avatar
    r 19 days ago
    Absolutely Spot on. Virgin are up to something, Their behaviour is atrocious in the pandemic,
    Richard Branson sold Virgin Media a long time ago.
    • Reply
    • Report
Virgin Media broadband review
by Ross 21 days ago
You'll regret using Virgin, the only question is when
Worst customer services in the UK. 5 separate calls to cancel service after moving, each call 30-50 minutes on hold over a period of a week, every call cut off. Online member centre link to cancel service not working so you have no choice but to call. Awful, awful, awful
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to FasterBroadbands Terms & Conditions