Virgin Media

Exclusive M50 Fibre Broadband & Phone offer via this page. £75 bill credit & No setup fee + Now only £26 p/m usually £35

Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews.

330 Virgin Media broadband reviews

1.0
330 customer reviews
Post review
  • 1
  • 4
  • 7
  • 53
  • 246
  • Package price
    1.2/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.7/5
Landline failures
 · 1 month ago
Review
My virginmedia-provided landline has gone dead again. Second time in about a year. 3rd or 4th time since I've been with them. As before trying to pass it off as a problem with my handset. Heaven knows how long it will take them to fix it. Last time it was weeks: a combination of appointments they didn't meet; engineers who couldn't fix it. At last a competent engineer spotted that the previous hadn't noticed the wires were disconnected in the control box! This time yet again no acknowledgement that it's their job to provide a decent service.
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Appalling Service
 · 1 month ago
Review
Like other reviews, I dread making calls to these people, they never seem to understand what you are saying and can't divert from a script that they are obviously reading. I arranged for them to come and fix my phone line and after calls and texts from them to say they would be there on a certain day, nobody showed! Now been 5 days without a phone? Had to ring them again to rearrange date but they could not explain why nobody came in first place! Please make call centres more locally based as this is obviously not working and is going to lose you business aschool I for one will be looking for a new provider at this rate!
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Unprofessional behaviour.
 · 1 month ago
Review
My mother who is 62 years old suffers with bad depression and anxiety along side struggling with disabilities. Virgin called my mother today about how she had missed her bill and threatened if they didn’t receive the payment they would cut everything off (standard procedure) along side her being liable for some issue they had with broadband connection and she would be responsible once the engineer visited her home. She was aware of the late payment and was going to make payment when she was able!

I have never had any provider myself ring my phone to scare me about missed payments. We all know how it works and don’t need phone calls as such like my mother’s to worry her half to death as if she’s done something so wrong by missing a payment. Then saying she’s liable for some issue is is unaware of and arranging engineers to visit her home regarding it. They should be email/sms reminders only for vulnerable elderly that suffer from everyday stress as it is. And to top that all off I contacted virgin three months ago with my mother so that I was her speaker when she isn’t able yet they never send the form out and still had the cheek to NOT apologise for this and refuse to help after their own error not filling a customers request. Appalling experience!
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Disgusting service, Avoid at all cost
 · 1 month ago
Review
Overcharging, service keeps crashing, waiting time on the phone too customer service well over an hour, worse service I have ever used.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Price
 · 1 month ago
Review
Broadband speed is perfect with occasional drop in services due to maintainence but the price is ridiculously high compared to Vodafone.
Vodafone 75mbps - £23 a month
Virgin 50mbps- £27 a month plus this price increases after a year or 3 years depending on the contract. It increased until £35 a month for me and asked them to reduce but unfortunately Vodafone were way off. You have lost a customer and never coming back again and will always recommend d Vodafone over virgin by a ridiculous mile. Until virgin price is reduced to below or on par with Vodafone will never come back and even ask existing customers to switch to Vodafone because u guys don't deserve it in terms of price. Ridiculous.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    2/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Dramatic price increase without informing you
 · 1 month ago
Review
After being with Virgin media broadband for a few years i have decided to end my contract with them. What i signed up for was a reasonable amount to pay monthly for internet service, however, every few months they keep adding on an additional amount that you have to pay, so for e.g. if you signed up to a £28 p/m contract after 18 months this goes upto £29 and keeps increasing. They don't even notify you of dramatic increases - anyway one day i woke up to find that they have been charging me £40 p/m. I was not even notified of this. A disgusting money grabbing company that is clearly losing it's valuable customers. DO NOT SIGN UP! STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Bibek 1 month ago
    That's right pls stay away from virgin fu*king sh*t bags in terms of price. They Dont deserve any customers. Money hungry. Try Vodafone trust me its better with the same or higher speed.
Dishonest virgin media service
 · 1 month ago
Review
Eighteen months ago virgin media asked if I would like to upgrade my internet service to 350Mbps and I accepted. Virgin media advertises that the average speed should be 362Mbps download with a minimum of 181Mbps download. I have monitored my speed and I have never reached the advertised minimum download speed. I have spent hours waiting on the phone and talking to people in India, have had technicians to the house many time and nothing has been resolved. The technician have checked and there is no issue as far back as the cabinet in the street but they find and issue with the signal coming into the cabinet. I was told this was also affecting business customers and would be fixed but would take a few weeks and that I would be informed as to the progress. The technicians told me that there was a technical problem as the upload speed was 36Mbps and it should be about a tenth of the download speed. That was a month ago and I have heard nothing.

Yesterday when I spoke to virgin media technical support I was told that I should never expect more than about 150Mbps and virgin media technicians are never sent out. That is not true as I have had technicians out to look at the problem a number of times and each time they say there is a problem with the service in to the cabinet in the street.

In my calls to customer service which are not cut off -- which is about 1 in 4 -- I have been told a lot of conflicting information. One customer service person tells me one thing and the next tells me something else, and customer service technical support claims that the technicians that have come to the house and have checked the cabinet in the street do not know what they are doing. The customer service technical support person I spoke to yesterday said he was arranging for a customer service person to call at 0900 this morning to discuss the internet issues -- it is now 1045 and there has been no call so far. It would be good not to believe anything virgin media says. Virgin media does not provide the service they advertise and virgin media does not provide the service they charge for. And virgin media customer service is abysmal.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Incapable of a setup
 · 1 month ago
Review
This is the biggest shower of sh*t I've ever came across . .. 5 times let down just to get a broadband connection fitted, full of bullsh*t and time wasters, wasted 4 days waiting for them not to turn up Shame on you virgin media don't touch with a barge poll.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
  • John Robinson 17 days ago
    I had same experience with a damaged landline most of the engineers are subcontractors, none of them communicate with each other I feel like this once good company is just being asset stripped very sad and very annoying.
Been on hold now for 43 min....
 · 1 month ago
Review
Been on hold now for 43min... grrrrr
No internet at all......
Worst customer service ever!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Trust the negative reviews!
 · 1 month ago
Review
Why isn't it possible to leave a zero?

This company is the absolute worst pile of excrement I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. I dreaded making calls to them because they never understand what you are calling for - the language barrier is extremely hard to navigate, considering they have the majority of their call centres overseas. They overcharge/charge for random things, but woe betide you if you try to resolve it. I'd imagine I'm somewhere around £300 out of pocket for constant errors you cannot resolve. You can ring & get one result, but call about the same issue & get a completely contradictory response, usually resulting in them trying to charge you again. I have never once had a decent experience with them, and am so glad I left for Sky. I tried to contact the complaints department and the contact box never even transferred to an agent! It's appalling that such a huge company would have 0.4/10 & not do a single thing to resolve it - tells you all you need to know about their customer care vs money grabbing. Eurgh, they've been an absolute nightmare from start to finish, & by the end I was paying £10 extra for a bill than the deal I initially signed up for & was 'guaranteed' indefinitely. I used the company for various different products, but I have since changed every single one, and could not be happier with the choice. Trust the negative reviews, they are completely accurate!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful

Find the best Virgin Media Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best Virgin Media Broadband deals

 
 

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an Engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an Engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Virgin Media broadband calculator above to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Virgin Media

Virgin Media Pro's

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • All services can be installed during the same engineer visit

Virgin Media Con's

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • Some drilling into the property may be necessary

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you are switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Virgin Media broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Virgin Media). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.