Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Virgin Broadband Reviews

Is Virgin Broadband any good?

Virgin Media Broadband

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M100 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Monday 31st of May 2021
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£24
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 288
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M200 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Monday 31st of May 2021
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£28
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 336
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Superfast M50 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
54Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£28
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 371
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M350 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Monday 31st of May 2021
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£32
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 384
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big bundle

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
54Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£33
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 431
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M500 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Monday 31st of May 2021
516Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£36
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 432
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M100 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£34
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 443
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big bundle + Drama & Documentaries Pick

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£37.99
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 490.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M200 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£40
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 515
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M350 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£46
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 587
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big Oomph bundle

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£47
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 599
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£49
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 623
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Lightning Fast M500 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
516Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£52
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 659
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big Oomph bundle + Drama Pick

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£54
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 683
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£65
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 750
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Movies

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£62
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 779
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Movies

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£70
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 875
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Sports

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£72
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 899
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Sports & Movies

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£79
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 983
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Sports

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£80
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 995
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultimate Oomph bundle

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
630Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£89
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 1103
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Sports & Movies

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£94
18 month contract Setup cost £35
Total first year cost £ 1163
Show cost details

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our broadband availability checker to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pros & Cons

Key features for Virgin Media packages

Virgin Media Pros

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • Free WiFi on the London Underground

Virgin Media Cons

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • No static IP option for residential customers

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

Virgin Media don’t use BT’s infrastructure, instead, they use their own cable network so you don't need a traditional copper phone line. Virgin can supply a broadband only package, but the best offers are for customer's combining TV, phone and broadband. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you're in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line. Other providers like Vodafone, B4RN and BT have options of FTTP (Fibre to the Premises) which does not require a phone line.

Virgin Media – Static IP address

If you switch to a Virgin Media residential broadband package you’ll be supplied with a dynamic IP address. This is standard practice with many ISP’s and is fine for most residential customers. However, those that require a static IP address for e.g. online webcams, security cameras or hosting their own webserver will need to switch to a Virgin Media business package. Virgin’s most basic business package doesn’t offer the option of adding a static IP address, customers would have to opt for ‘Voom Fibre 2’ or higher. The ‘Business Voom Fibre 2’ package is £47 + vat per month for a 350Mbps broadband only plan (minimum 2-year contract applies). If you want a free static IP address, we recommend Zen Broadband. Alternatively, Plusnet offer residential customers the option of a static IP address for free (£5 setup fee applies). However, neither of these alternative providers offer any TV packages.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you're switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews
Compare Top 10 ISP Reviews

1.0
411 reviews
Post review
  • 4
  • 4
  • 9
  • 73
  • 326
  • Package price
    1.2/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Virgin Media broadband review
by T 1 day ago
Horrendous, infuriating. 20hrs on the phone and no broadband
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Review
Absolutely horrendous service. Don't get VM. I'm mad enough to write a long review. If you want fast speed, get 5G broadband from EE or 3 or Vodafone.

I spent at least 20hrs on the phone talking to over 10 agents who lied, deflected, and hung up my call. Today I cancelled my service and I'm a happy man again.

Not an ad but switch to EE5G broadband if you get 5g signal at home. Speed is AMAZING, experience was AMAZING. I ordered and got the device the next day. No fuss, no engineers, my calls went straight to a call centre in the UK, 5min later I was set.

I won't mention the two week wait time for an engineer's visit. To summarise, I had two things I needed to check with VM over the phone - turned out to be 20hrs of lies from them. 1. land lord approval 2. external work when no one showed up. In both instances they lied to me and said everything is set. No one showed up to do external work, no one contacted my landlord. They will transfer you so you are not their responsibility any more, or they will lie and hope you hang up, or they just hang up. There was one time when I got angry when no one came at scheduled date, the representative hung up the phone. They even promised they have escalated the issue and an area manager will call, guess what, no one called and my cables are still not there. I was done so I made one last call to cancel. Took me an hour to cancel.

Telemarketing was also unpleasant. I ordered over the phone and the lady texted me her personal number so I could order through her. She simply could not ask for all required info in one call. Her email was unprofessional. I felt unsafe giving her my direct debit account info. I thought she was scamming me but it was actually really VM.

Don't get Virgin if you love yourself. 5G broadband is faster, no fuss and no infuriating calls needed.
Show more
Virgin Media broadband review
by Jonathan Holland 2 days ago
Go to BT
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Review
Worse service possible, personally through my experience I will be avoiding virgin air, virgin rail, virgin radio, virgin media after my experience.
Show more
Virgin Media broadband review
by Now a BT user 3 days ago
Go to BT
  • Package price
    -1/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Review
Absolute garbage, once you sign a total nightmare to cancel. This company should not be operating
Show more
Virgin Media broadband review
by Michael 4 days ago
Virgin Media you're rubbish
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Review
Virgin Media you're rubbish! 😡
So TV box is "up the pole" in a cycle that keeps it crashing, never gets to start up.
Took me an absolute age to get to speak to a human being who couldn't help. He advised me that he had sent a code that might resolve the problem in about 3 hours! Then I had to strongly insist on an engineer to come out to bring a new media box. Who it now transpires can't come until mid to late evening on Tuesday!!!

Been with them since 2009 well after your awful customer service and the fact that I'm paying £68 a month for my package, I then check out deals for new customers and what do I find? A similar package for £39! Of course they won't do me that, so customer loyalty counts for nothing, in short rubbish customer service and charge me 30 quid more for my loyalty.
Well shove it found a deal with BT for £44.99 😀👍🏻

Rant over...
Show more
Virgin Media broadband review
by D.O 7 days ago
STAY CLEAR OF THIS COMPANY
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Review
I closed my account with Virgin and moved else where as they are too expensive and all ways had issues with there service. My account was all paid off when I left them. Little did I know six months down the line Virgin Media didn't finalise there end and send off to Equifax that my account was settled and paid. My credit score has been impacted impacted greatly in a negative way and can't take credit out. Credit is everything these days and virgin have taken this away from me. I paid my bills on time how can this happen to a PAYING CUSTOMER!?

Customer service is none existent, their service is intermittent and ruin your credit score!

Show more
Virgin Media broadband review
by Pilar 7 days ago
Don't. They are bad. They are evil
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Review
Don't. Just don't. I don't even know how such a scam can be legal. I think their business model is screwing up their customers as much as they can. After 8 years together we are moving to a place where they cannot offer broadband. So WE are forced to terminate the contract early, as they say it is "per property". The exist fee is OVER 200 QUID.
They new owners are porting their Virgin contract. But when we ask about that they say the contract is "per customer". It depends on what suits them best.
They won't even bother justifying how this is remotely fair to long time customers, they just point to the contract and how they legally achieved such a scam. They must be proud.
The service is alright. When it works. Which isn't always the case. We had to buy another router because the virgin one simply doesn't work for more than 2 hours straight and will throw sparks when switched on and off. They refuse to replace it. We are paying over 60 quid for our broadband.
Just don't. Find someone else if you can.
And then there is the neverending yearly call to ask them to charge you something a bit more reasonable. Just a bit.
They don't even have a reasonable broadband-only package. We've been stuck with this virgin tv thing we don't use, chucked in a cabinet for years, trying to at least get the bill a bit under 60 quid a month (what?!! - yeah, that).
Show more
Virgin Media broadband review
by . 7 days ago
A load of crap!!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Review
This is the worst thing I’ve ever purchased, when ever you try to watch a film it tells you its temporary unavailable or watch something on catch up it’s temporary unavailable. So you try to watch Netflix or prime and all it does is buffer when I’m ment to have 600 mbps internet which I’ve just done a speed test on and came back at 38 mbps. You can’t get through to any one unless you have 2-3 hours to waste on the phone, the company is a joke. Once they got you tied into the contract they couldn’t give a crap about you, can’t wait for another six months when my contract is up and can go back to sky. It was a massive mistake going with virgin,
Show more
  • Plusnet user 7 days ago
    Netflix should not be buffering on 38mbps I have 30mbps with Plusnet and it's never buffered once. Do Virgin use a traffic management system?