Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Broadband Reviews

Is Virgin Broadband any good?

Virgin Media Broadband

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

Virgin Media - M100 Fibre Broadband Only

Offer ends Wednesday 30th of September 2020
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£24
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 288
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big bundle

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£29.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 309.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M100 Fibre Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£27
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 324
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M50 Fibre Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
54Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£28
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 336
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big Oomph bundle

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£33.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 357.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M200 Fibre Broadband Only

Offer ends Wednesday 30th of September 2020
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£30
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 360
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M200 Fibre Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£33
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 396
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big bundle + Drama Pick

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£39
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 418
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M350 Fibre Broadband Only

Offer ends Wednesday 30th of September 2020
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£36
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 432
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M50 Fibre Broadband

54Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£38
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 456
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M500 Fibre Broadband Only

Offer ends Wednesday 30th of September 2020
516Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£42
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 504
Show cost details

Virgin Media - M500 Fibre Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
516Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£45
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 540
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£57
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 584
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£65
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 615
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Movies

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£62
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 644
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Sports

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£65
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 680
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Movies

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£70
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 740
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Sports

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£73
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 776
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Sports & Movies

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£79
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 848
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultimate Oomph bundle

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
516Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£79
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 848
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Sports & Movies

Offer ends Sunday 27th of September 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£87
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 944
Show cost details

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our broadband availability checker to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pros & Cons

Key features for Virgin Media packages

Virgin Media Pros

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • All services can be installed during the same engineer visit

Virgin Media Cons

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • Some drilling into the property may be necessary

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media don’t use BT’s infrastructure, instead, they use their own cable network so you don't need a traditional copper phone line. Virgin can supply a broadband only package, but the best offers are for customer's combining TV, phone and broadband. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you're in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line. Other providers like Vodafone, B4RN and BT have options of FTTP (Fibre to the Premises) which does not require a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you're switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews.

348 Virgin Media broadband reviews

1.0
348 Virgin Media broadband reviews
Post review
  • 1
  • 4
  • 9
  • 60
  • 274
  • Package price
    1.2/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Does not work with VPNs - AVOID
Virgin Media broadband review by nuraika 1 month ago
Review
I need a VPN connection to work from home. Especially in current pandemic. However using Virgin the VPN link to the company server drops out continuously. Colleagues with other ISP's have NO problem. Virgin's noddy online troubleshooter tells me all is fine. When I finally got thru to customer service they tried to get me to upgrade to a higher speed (50Mb is enuff thaks!!). When I demanded they passed me on to Gadget Rescue. They tell me its a problem with the VPN, but they can fix it if I give them the port number on the server and allow them to remotely access the (company) laptop to make changes. No thanks. 1st its a security risk. 2nd if their network worked properly this would not be an issue.

So in short.
NOT RECOMMENDED. AVOID Virgin. Use any other ISP.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
MORE THAN SHOCKINGLY BAD
Virgin Media broadband review by Louis Smith 2 months ago
Review
I've never had issues with Virgin Media until now. My monthly cost are about to rise as I'm at the end of agreement. I called and gave the usual I'm leaving if I don't get a better deal. I was offered a Broadband only deal 200mb which I accepted and arranged to take place on the 6th August. About an hour 2 hours after upgrading I receive a call from someone from Virgin Media explaining I was put on the wrong deal and that he can offer me better. I told him I was happy with my deal and stated I was not interested.
This same advisor then called my wifes phone 20 mins or so after speaking to me and explain he would arrange a change in the deal and that she or I didn't have to do anything. My wife unaware as to what he was on about other than he was from Virgin media. I then receive an email with a new deal that I had not agreed to and this was processing on the 8th August.
I call Virgin Media and explain I want my original deal and ask for that to be re-instated which the advisor agreed to. I then get an email showing my original agreement was back on 200mb but I am being charged more per month than the original agreement and the upgrade is not taking place again till a later date than originally agreed. So again back on the phone and then this is where things just go out of control. I'm place on hold by a rather rude individual for 30-40mins I then have to hang up and call them again and this time I'm at the end of my tether and tell them to disconnect me. The disconnection is set for the 12th August so again I have to call as this is not fair I agreed an package for the 6th then Virgin Media took it upon themeselves to break that agreement fraudulently as I did not agree.
I cannot tell you how many phone calls I have made but trust me there have been many and at least 4 of those occasion they have cut me off and not called me back. I have not been untowards, I have not swore or been rude I just want what I originally agreed to and have email confirmation too. I have complained and they called me today to further this complaint I said hello they explained who they where and why they were calling and then hung up.
Seriously people Virgin Media have took a shockingly bad nose dive their customer service is really really bad. I even had one advisor swear under his breath because I ask to speak with a manager politely.
Richard Branson wants to claw back his pennies and putting up my monthly cost and delaying tactics on upgrades is a plan of action.
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    5.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
NEVER, NEVER, EVER USE THIS COMPANY
Virgin Media broadband review by JohnMc 2 months ago
Review
Virgin Media is useless. The complaints department is inept and you will get no sense unless you happen to speak Hindu. The website is next to useless, don't bother to even try to resolve an issue on it. I will never use this company again. Having been advised to contact the CEO to complain, I did. Then I was diverted to the complaints department, at which point I told them I would never use them again - AND THEY WEREN'T BOTHERED - Ergo, Neither am I!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Dont believe what they say
Virgin Media broadband review by Ash 2 months ago
Review
I gave my 30 days notice to end my contract because what they offered was too expensive. 2 days later gets a phone call offering me £34 a month and £50 credit if I stayed, so I took the deal. What a fuc7king bad choice I made. The first bill was nearly £50 so I called customer morons service and they basically called me a liar, they had no record of the deal. I had the mobile number the virgin rep who called me. He said that what he had offered was correct but customer service still had no idea. I've got 10 months left on my contract and I will never renew. STAY AWAY!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Appalling Customer Service
Virgin Media broadband review by Cosh123 2 months ago
Review
Appalling Customer Service very difficult to contact by phone, internet service desk or text service. When you get through you a passed from one person to another then dropped I have been trying to resolve An issue for three months having spent hours on the phone, internet and text service. Don’t use this Company you will regret if you do
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Awful service, stealing from their customers
Virgin Media broadband review by Panthera 2 months ago
Review
Virgin Media steals money from their customers. They owe me money from an overpayment which wasn’t my fault. They deliberately keep brushing my claim under the carpet and passing me from one team to another. I’ve contacted them more than 10 times now since the beginning of March and I get ignored or given false promises. The worst company I’ve ever dealt with. Thanks for wasting hours of my time.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    Cosh123 2 months ago
    I agree with everything you have said appalling customer service
Overcharged, lied to and unprofessional customer service!!!!
Virgin Media broadband review by Ayman 4 months ago
Review
I recently disconnected from Virgin Media after my bills shot up to £50.50 per month for just fiber. Now that was already an issue as they do not call or email to inform you that your contract is coming to an end or that you are being moved on to a rolling contract.

The bigger issue is their incredibly rude, unprofessional and dishonest call center staff. When I called to disconnect I was informed that as I pay in advanced I would not be charged going forward. Fast-forward to today where I have been charged.

I have called the call center again to discuss and let them know that I was misinformed by the previous colleague I spoke to and have now been charged. Their response was to refer to their online payment system and pay no attention to what I was saying at all. The person I was speaking to (John) did not listen to a thing I said and kept on rattling on about how it is explained on my online bill without listening to my complaint that their staff member (A human) had lied to me.

After him repeating the same sentence to me about 5 times without trying to understand what I was saying I left the call with no solution and still having been lied to and charged.

Overall they are absolutely despicable, their conduct is incredibly unprofessional and dishonest. This is the worst experience I have ever had with an ISP. You are better paying for BT as they are less likely to rip you off and lie to you (Or their customer service will at least resolve your issues and accept responsibility). If you want just fiber hyperoptic looks great and there are so many options to explore which we will be doing.

Please be aware that no matter how much you pay them their customer service and support will always be terrible.
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
I have been CONNED
Virgin Media broadband review by Martin 4 months ago
Review
I purchased 200MB/s download speed - NOT! - I actually get between 4 and 38MB/s -- very very poor broadband speeds even on ethernet cable. DO NOT BUY from Virgin Media - poor service - poor speeds and false advertising - OFCOM next..........
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions