Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Virgin Broadband Reviews

Is Virgin Broadband any good?

Virgin Media Broadband

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M100 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Sunday 6th of December 2020
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£24
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 288
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M100 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£27.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 335.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M200 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Sunday 6th of December 2020
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£30
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 360
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big bundle

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
54Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£33
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 396
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M200 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£33.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 407.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M350 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Sunday 6th of December 2020
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£36
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 432
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M350 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£39.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 479.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big Oomph bundle

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£41
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 492
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultrafast M500 Fibre Broadband

Offer ends Sunday 6th of December 2020
516Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£42
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 504
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big bundle + Drama Pick

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£43
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 516
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Lightning Fast M500 Broadband + Phone

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
516Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£45.99
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 551.88
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Big Oomph bundle + Drama Pick

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£54
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 648
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
108Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£57
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 684
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Movies

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£57
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 684
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£65
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 715
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Sports

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£65
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 780
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Movies

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£65
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 780
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Sports

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£73
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 876
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger bundle + Sports & Movies

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
213Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£79
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 948
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Bigger Oomph bundle + Sports & Movies

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
362Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£87
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 1044
Show cost details

Virgin Media - Ultimate Oomph bundle

Offer ends Wednesday 9th of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
516Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£89
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 1068
Show cost details

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our broadband availability checker to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pros & Cons

Key features for Virgin Media packages

Virgin Media Pros

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • All services can be installed during the same engineer visit

Virgin Media Cons

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • Some drilling into the property may be necessary

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media don’t use BT’s infrastructure, instead, they use their own cable network so you don't need a traditional copper phone line. Virgin can supply a broadband only package, but the best offers are for customer's combining TV, phone and broadband. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you're in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line. Other providers like Vodafone, B4RN and BT have options of FTTP (Fibre to the Premises) which does not require a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you're switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews.

364 Virgin Media broadband reviews

1.0
364 Virgin Media broadband reviews
Post review
  • 1
  • 4
  • 9
  • 65
  • 285
  • Package price
    1.2/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Horrid, keep away
Virgin Media broadband review by IrHIM 2 days ago
Review
Persistent 2-3 week area outages, since the summer, which they have admitted they cannot fix. Yet, they also fail to compensate us for any of this. It takes 45-50 minutes to get through to their customer service. Not fit for purpose and they should be stripped of their Ofcom license or fined a huge amount. Stay far away. Do not be fooled by their claims for high speeds over fibre cables - they cannot provide a consistent service.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Abysmal customer service communication in fact for me non existent
Virgin Media broadband review by tony edwards 6 days ago
Review
I joined NTL when it began, it was a good company to deal with. Broadband has been generally good. Although when two others in my multiple occupation house had virgin broadband installed I immediately had drop in speed and frequent drop outs in service, Virgin call out 'its not us its your pc at fault'. When the other two virgin lines were removed I immediately had a return of speed and no drop outs. Since the spring I have attempted to phone Virgin about extortionate increase in my bills as my contract ended, resulted in no answer or being put on hold for about 15 minutes and then disconnected. Virgin have no customer email contact address, incredible! Having had more than enough of this incompetent 'customer service' I have now moved to BT who I had no trouble communicating with. The only cancellation option to me was to write Virgin a (registered!) letter. Never again will I have a monopoly supplier, when my contract with BT ends I can move easily to another supplier who use BT open reach. If they can damage my credit rating as I have cancelled my direct debit so be it I do not need one.
  • Package price
    2/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Awful
Virgin Media broadband review by Bex 7 days ago
Review
Don’t event bother - SO BAD
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
I've gone
Virgin Media broadband review by Sue 7 days ago
Review
Internet dropping for last month. Promises of fixing it on website never honoured. Agony of exciting Netflix programmes suddenly cutting out. Never know when it's going to happen..Uncaring customer services. I said I'm cancelling. They said OK.! Can't wait for new provider in a few days.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    2.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    Fran B 7 days ago
    👍
    • Authors avatar
      tony edwards 6 days ago
      We are finding BT wireless much better than Virgin. Having both Virgin and BT for a month given accounts of Virgin cutting customers off before the leaving date.
don't bother!!!
Virgin Media broadband review by pdm10 8 days ago
Review
Customer service is shocking, i'm currently on hold and have been for 3 hours, in that time i've spoken to two people neither of whom could help me! I pay for the 350 super fibre, i actually get a download speed of 16.9 and upload speed of 4.54, you don't have to be Einstein to know that this is wrong. I have never had signal in half of the house despite getting a booster installed. Furthermore i have never had a bill in 12 months, I have had to resort to phoning up each month to pay whatever they tell me the cost is, despite regular phone calls over this time frame i have this evening found out why i don't get bills, my account has someone else's email address attached to it, someone i've never even heard off and i've been paying £88 a month for this!!! Thankfully im now out of contract and am starting research into an alternative provider!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Not fit for purpose, stay away
Virgin Media broadband review by IR.HI 9 days ago
Review
After a 3 week outage in October, we have another 2 week outage in November - in central London, following outages in April and July in the middle of the lockdowns. Of course the Ofcom compensation they have to pay comes in only after 30 days, so they time it perfectly to 3 weeks every month so far. Incompetent (cannot get their signal strength up to speed long enough, and obviously have no clue how to and prevent intermittence which sees their speed oscillating between 400mbps and 20 in the space of one minute), very poor customer service (takes 45-50 minutes to answer the phone), totally not fit for purpose. Stay away. Our whole building is migrating to a competitor, finally. Only thing they deserve, is a license revocation by Ofcom - they are pretending to provide a service - a necessary utility in fact - they cannot actually provide. They should not exist.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    tony edwards 6 days ago
    Zen have super customer feedback we are moving to BT, already have wireless signal before first billing superior to virgin wireless performance.
  • Authors avatar
    pdm10 8 days ago
    Did you find an alternative provider? if so would you recommend? I'm looking into voting with my feet, i have now been on hold for over 3 hours
    • Authors avatar
      Cara 8 days ago
      Hi PDM10, Don't blame you leaving them. Zen are very good, Sky are also pretty good or plusnet if you are looking for a cheap alternative. If you want to retain a similar TV package Sky are the best, if you want a decent broadband connection and don't require a TV add on then try ZEN.
Would give minus stars if I could
Virgin Media broadband review by Glen George 10 days ago
Review
Absolutely awful. Never works. Hours on hold to speak to anyone. Truly dreadful
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Guest
Virgin Media broadband review by Aji chandy 14 days ago
Review
Terrible customer service. Yesterday I call them for moving my house. They accepted it and fixed the new contract from 28th of this month for my new house. From today morning there is no Internet connection. When I logged in they said the contract ended. I call them twice, kept on hold for over 1 hour and cut off. As an nhs staff, we expect at least a minimum standard from our provider. This is terribly frustrating...
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions