Virgin Media

Black Friday - Save £96
100Mb Fibre broadband now only £25 per month

Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews.

332 Virgin Media broadband reviews

1.0
332 customer reviews
Post review
  • 1
  • 4
  • 7
  • 54
  • 247
  • Package price
    1.2/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.8/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.7/5
Avoid!!!!
 · 1 year ago
Review
A very simple scenario: me calling Virgin to move my services (Broadband) to new address. A very straightforward instruction given to Virgin advisors...presumably... Yes, I am moving to my new flat in 2 weeks time, yes I want to move my services with me; no, I don't require faster internet for few extra pounds. Will my contract stay the same?? Yes, it will continue the same. About two weeks later: 2 bills arrive at the same time. One saying I terminated my first contract, hence termination fee of £65. Second one saying I opened a new account, hence installation fee (I installed existing router on my own), double charge for monthly services that also went up from £27 to £33- small bill of £80 in total. I am being left with paying two bills (£145). All I expected was to pay £27 plus moving home admin, if only. Where is the logic here?! I spent 40 minutes holding the line to discuss this farce, only to be told to call a different department... As billing team have no power to help me out. Appalling!
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
Show more
5 people found the following review helpful
Think twice - very inconsistent apart from price rises!
 · 1 year ago
Review
I have been with Virgin for about 20 years, not impressed with the installation, but once in it was OK if typical of a large company, (difficult to get hold of and like talking to a brick wall : ) ). The problem being everyone else has a similar reputation.
However, things have now come to a head. As a thanks for my loyalty Virgin have seriously yanked my bill up every year without warning. When it reached £35 i rang and said I would have to leave. They then offered me a rate that was very similar to my starting rate of £24, so obviously i said yes. Next year came and they yanked the price up again, then within 8 months again. when i rang they said the lowest they could offer me was £3 more than they were currently charging and this month they have added that amount to my bill as well! This equates in total to about a 27% rise in my bill over the last 18months..
To add insult to injury when they came round to fix a problem they said i was lucky to be getting reception at all, so they couldn't really help, even though i had had no problem with reception over the las 10 years in my current house. I have to say customer service has always been polite if not necessarily effective, but the last time I rang, although not polite it was not as it has been.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
Show more
6 people found the following review helpful
AVOID to preserve your mental health!!!
 · 1 year ago
Review
I am not one to post on these websites, but I felt my experience with Virgin Media was so extraordinary that I had to vent and warn others. The broadband and TV service were of high quality - fast and clear TV signal with great content and user friendly. However - we had a problem with the home phone line - we lost any dial tone or ability to make and receive calls from December 2017. Despite 8 calls and 3 technician visits, the line is still not working as of today July 2018. Most disturbing is the complete lack of any follow-up with the problem. I have been told at least three times over this period to expect a call back from a supervisor technician and this has never happened - forcing me to call the customer support line and go through an agonizing process of explaining the problem all over again. It has literally taken hours and hours of phone time going through this several times since December to try and get technicians on the scene again and to get a loss of service credit. Today on the phone, my last attempt to get things sorted out before we move, I had a customer service agent scolding me that I should have called earlier after the last technician visit in June to tell them that the line wasn't working. For the first time ever, I found myself yelling at a stranger on the phone. To protect your valuable time and mental health, please consider other options before signing a contract with Virgin - they look great on the outside but have a rotten core with a disrespectful and completely dysfunctional customer service culture.

  • Package price
    3/5
  • Broadband speed
    4/5
Show more
7 people found the following review helpful
Poor Service In East London, Avoid if Possible
 · 1 year ago
Review
I joined Virgin Media thinking that I would be able to get outstanding Wifi speeds all around my house. When talking to a sales adviser when I initially bought their service, they said that it would be perfect for homes where many devices are connected and also for gaming. Fast forward a month into the contract I am unable to get sufficient speeds to browse the internet let alone game online.

I have tried contacting them but every time I had the same response- staying on the phone with them for over an hour to just get the same response again later on. Please be aware that speeds advertised are only for wired connections or when you are sitting directly on top of the router and because they advertise for the wired speeds (which I only receive 70% of) even if you are getting below 10% of their advertised speeds they can't and won't help. You are also unable to leave due to their outrageous cancellation fee of £125 plus 30 day payment.

It is unreal how rubbish I feel being detained in a company for another 10 months, where I cannot get a good wifi service and also where their advisers and technicians can't even help. If you live in the East London area please avoid if you want your moneys worth.
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
No service for the second week
 · 1 year ago
Review
Been with Virgin for less than two weeks, in that time I have had a network problem that rendered the phone out of order, then when the engineer came he said the wires had been connected wrong in the box. I was without a phone for three days. Tonight the phone doesn't work again and I am told that an engineer will call again in three days. I have had Virgin for 12 days and in that time for six of the days I have had no service. This is extremely poor and I wouldn't recommend Virgin to anyone, the grass isn't always greener I should have stayed with my previous supplier they may have been more expensive but I did have a service.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
Show more
6 people found the following review helpful
Wow, just wow
 · 1 year ago
Review
Truly the worst customer service and wifi speeds in the world. I have been trying to give notice ending my contract for 3 hours now, the automated options funnily enough don't include anything about leaving them and I can not get through to an operator, our wifi has been dreadful all year, I think a potato would make a better router than the one they provide, Virgin Media are the only company I've ever interacted with that make me want to walk into their office and slap every single person with a wet fish, unfortunately I'd have to get a flight to India for this, which I can't afford to do because I've been paying for Virgin Media instead. Virgin Media, beyond dreadful.
Show more
7 people found the following review helpful
  • Joe 1 year ago
    100% agree with your comments. They are less than useless at sorting wifi issues out and need to replace their so called superhub 3 with a decent router that sends out a better wifi signal.
Lost touch with reality and customers
 · 1 year ago
Review
The company has clearly lost touch with its customers. They decided to replace a part in the system that caused a cascading fault in Area 26. Then they try to cover their tracks by claiming its a fault without admitting it was their fault. What a disgrace. Six hours later it finally gets sorted at 6.10pm well after the close of business day causing my company a loss of business of an entire day, all because of an installation not properly tested beforehand, as opposed to a lightening strike, or bad weather and not admitting it was their fault on the first call but on the third call lol. I had to speak to one of their technicians on the street to get the real story. The phone team is a joke. I am leaving and going to Sky right away (not that I trust any of them really). Your promises are ridiculous, you give no power to your managers who are really supervisors anyway, and your reaction, we will give you money for the lost time online. What a joke, we lost business full stop and you owe us this instead of £1.85. I am done with this company.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
Rubbish service
 · 1 year ago
Review
Last 16 days have been the service from hell from Virgin, customer service rock bottom would not recommend to anyone, they would not thank me, it has taken 16 days to get service fixed and told day after day NO problem, turns out 10 others were out on our patch.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
Be ashamed of yourselves part two
 · 1 year ago
Review
The title says everything.
Over priced and money grabbing.
Incorrectly sold packages that could never be achieved.
Sell!Sell!Sell! Seems to be their motto!
Does anyone get through to the right department without being passed on? More importantly, without being cut off?
We have been accused of being liars, as their system did not have a record of us calling three times on one day, although both our phones logged the call and duration.
No clear pricing policy and you will always end up paying more than you think every month.
Shocking customer service.
No replies to complaints letters we've sent...and best bit...
'Unless you hard wire ONE laptop, you will NEVER get the 'super' speeds they quote.
Its not designeed for WIFI!!
Isn't that called 'mis selling a product' and 'not fit for purpose'.
Richard Branson, you should take a leaf out of the newer, smaller companies coming on board the broadband bandwagon.
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
Cancelling service - Rude staff and overpriced services
 · 1 year ago
Review
I called just to cancel my TV broadband package as I find alternative package more suited to my needs and price. I've have been a Virgin Media customer for over 20 yrs. Initially she was helpful and professional. However as I refused to have a package review and declined all potential better deals, it transpires that I was being charged for a second top box that I had cancelled in November 2017. On hearing this I requested to be looked into and she then become quite interragative when I informed her that I called back then to cancel it. "Who did you talk to, what date" etc. I could not recall the date but then why would I as you expect an eliminate of trust.on the cancel of the service you have requested. However her tone and attitude suggested that I was lying. I asked her why on earth I would I continue to pay for a second top box when it wasn't being used and was told to disgard it as it was the very old top box. However according to "their records" I had not made that call. I mirrored her tone and stated that this is one of the reasons why Im leaving ....rude service. Once I highlighted that I was mirroring her behaviour she calmed down.
The fact that they can trace when the second box was last used as it was the model with the smart card is neither here or there but the attitude and manners of some of these employees is not acceptable. I informed her I would be putting in a complaint of which she replied she would start the process. I told her not to bother as the phone call may have never happened, and she may not forward the complaint. The trust has gone. I was going to send a letter (recorded delivery) however putting the complaint on here is better.
This company needs to understand that whilst they take our money for a service we agree to pay for, we don't pay for being ripped off, rudeness and frankly a total disregard of their customers feedback.

P.S I do not have phone service hence a 0 score

  • Broadband speed
    2/5
Show more
7 people found the following review helpful

Find the best Virgin Media Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best Virgin Media Broadband deals

 
 

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an Engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an Engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Virgin Media broadband calculator above to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Virgin Media

Virgin Media Pro's

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • All services can be installed during the same engineer visit

Virgin Media Con's

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • Some drilling into the property may be necessary

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you are switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Virgin Media broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Virgin Media). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.