TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk Faster fibre broadband
Only £21.95 per month | 38Mb Average speed

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

828 TalkTalk broadband reviews

1.0
828 customer reviews
Post review
  • 8
  • 6
  • 14
  • 71
  • 699
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.7/5
Atrocious company with attrocious Customer Service
 · 1 day ago
Review
Use this company at your peril, they provide no customer service, they are allegedly in the communications business, you will be lucky to get any communications from them. They are staffed by rude, incompetent and illiterate members of society. AVOID AT ALL COST
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Wow just wow
 · 8 days ago
Review
Wow signed up in October just moved into my flat the engineer had to drill a f**king hole in my wall and made me get my vacuum cleaner and suck all the dust from under the drill basically my fingers were inches away from the drill like WTF putting holes in my walls and risking my fingers. FOR WHAT THEN THE internet was slow, the engineer goes u do online gaming?yeh ps4 m8...hmm u might wanna upgrade to fibre..ok m8 so 2 weeks of slow internet buffering youtube videos basically sh*t broadband u can't even watch Netflix with. I decide to follow the engines advice and upgrade to fibre I was using my phone as a mobile hotspot for my ps4 as it was faster than the TalkTalk lol. After getting confirmation of upgrading I was then told it would be 2 weeks to switch it on even tho the guy said it's a simple job. After waiting with anticipation for fast broadband for 2 weeks I get an email...Hey your FIBRE IS LIVE hmm guess what u don't have any internet at all now that's right orange light on my router now. So I went from sh*t wifi to no wifi so i ring them another 2 weeks to get a engineer out wow. So it's nearly Christmas now still no wifi the engineer didn't even show up and i went all Christmas with no wifi I've cancelled u and u wont accept it. You are still trying to take money i have cancelled you via my bank but you still think you can take money. Avoid this company. Just got Virgin Media installed today yay do much better than u putting HOLES IN MY F**KING FLAT WALL NOW ITS FREEZING COLD AND YOUR F**KING CUSTOMER SERVICE CANT EVEN SPEAK ENGLISH U LEFT ME WITH NO INTERNET ALL OVER CHRISTMAS THEN TRY AND CONVINCE ME NOT TO LEAVE ON THE PHONE FU^KKK YOU!!!!!!!!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Appalling
 · 26 days ago
Review
Worst, generates bill even after leaving and asks to call back to cancel late payment charge for December when you actually left in September!!! The worst is they think its normal!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Poor internet
 · 1 month ago
Review
I received an email from Talk Talk telling me that I was to receive a faster broadband and get connected to fibre and that I will receive a call from openreach.. A couple of weeks later a further email saying that I was now on a faster speed and this was going to work so much better. Two visits to Broadband speed checker over 2 days and the fastest I can get is about 3.7mb/s. I pay for 18 mb/s . How can these companies charge for something that they never deliver and promise everything and 2 years later never get anywhere near this. This should be classed as criminal and they should not get away with this. Stay away from this company.!!!!!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
AVOID THESE CHARLATANS LIKE THE PLAGUE
 · 1 month ago
Review
Seriously people whatever you do avoid this shower of charlatans and con merchants. I tried to sign up to a Superfast Broadband deal they advertised online at £32.45. per month, I was told it was no longer available at this price and the best they could offer was £36.00 per month. I foolishly agreed this and asked them to go ahead, I was sick and tired at this stage of searching for deals. An hour later my partner phoned them to verify that the cheaper price was no longer available. Surprise, surprise, yes it was and they'd be very happy to go ahead with it. When it came to the go live date, nothing happened. I phoned them and was told I'd got the date wrong despite having four emails all confirming the date. The next day nothing happened again, no phone and no internet. After spending the whole afternoon on the phone to different people who didn't speak intelligible English I was told I'd connected the router up incorrectly, the wiring was faulty in my house, my telephone socket was faulty and every lie and excuse you can imagine. This went on for another 48 hours after which they reluctantly offered to send an Openreach engineer to check my 'faulty' house wiring and telephone socket and tried to charge me £65.00 for this despite my telling them it wasn't the problem. The engineer arrived and traced the problem immediately to their router. He phoned them, told them this and they started arguing with him. He passed the phone to me and I had the same response. I politely asked what they were going to do as I'd now been without a phone or any internet for four days, and nobody could come up with an answer. I then phoned them and cancelled the deal. Not as easy as I thought. They starting threatening me and telling me what 'their' rights were and how I would be penalised and punished with fines and costs for not staying with them. They refused to hand over my line to another provider for another seven days and refused to allow my telephone number to be transferred. In total I made over 28 phone calls to their Philippine call centre and God knows how many to the African one. The emails and text messages continued these were threatening and many others were pleading with me to change my mind and continue with them. By the time my new provider sets up my new Broadband I will have been without it now for four weeks. As I work from home this has been a very serious and costly problem apart from the indescribable stress of dealing with these utterly incompetent morons.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
BROADBAND
 · 2 months ago
Review
Moved in to new house in 18/07/2019 told number would be transferred moved in no phone for two weeks and should have had fast broadband still not sorted (all you get are false promises and lies not happy).
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Talktalk - Avoid like the plague
 · 3 months ago
Review
Absolutely appalling service - Took over a week, and numerous phone calls, emails and messages to secure a router. Information provided by customer service was misleading and inaccurate. Lodged a complaint and Talktalk expected me to ring them to resolve it! Deeply regret having chosen them.
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Please read BEFORE choosing TalkTalk
 · 3 months ago
Review
I do not normally leave bad reviews for any service.

TalkTalk will be one of the first.
I took out a contract in September 2018 at £24 a month.
The internet connection was reliable and average speed for the first two weeks. It went downhill from there, getting slower and connection issues occurring regularly.
I’m talking about 0.5Mbps - and it wasn’t a constant, there were periods it dropped. The ping was awful 500ms+ at times.

Tried many times to have them diagnose an issues - was simply passed around when one test/check did not work.
Long story short - haven’t used TalkTalk for 9 months out of the 12 month contract - it was faster tethering my phone to my laptop to watch Netflix.

Then tried to cancel before my bill went up to £36 a month. They messed around with ‘Maintenance ongoing’ while I was trying to cancel my account.
Now I have been charged £36 and it will take 28 days to leave on something I have not signed up for (meaning a further £36 charge).
Will absolutely be taking this as far as I can, it’s a very unfair business practice.

Ignore the half star, they’re just the lowest rating possible.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE OF A COMPANY.
 · 3 months ago
Review
I ordered superfast broadband on the 3rd of Sept, 6 weeks later and it's still not up and running, I've actually lost count how many times I've called them to sort this out and still my mbps is sitting at 7.now they're sending an engineer out tomorrow, fkn joke ,the stress and hrs dealing with them Beggars belief, I'm changing provider tomorrow, STAY WELL CLEAR ,my advice.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
1 star is generous
 · 3 months ago
Review
I have had the worst experience with TalkTalk I could imagine.

From being told different things by 3 people including the call centre manager, being given £100 Bill's that I was never told i would receive when I cancelled my package, plus an additional £20 for service that I was never told I told receive.

Every person in that call centre, once again, even the manager was extremely unhelpful and wasn't willing to listen.

The agent told me the same thing over and over for 25 minutes, plus had me on hold for 20 just to come back and tell me the same thing again.

I would rather play word searches in the daily newspaper than have TalkTalk internet.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Gerry Clark 3 months ago
    FKN DISTRESSING, INCOMPETENT, can't understand they're language most of the time ,the waiting time is beyond a joke. I hate them with a passion.
  • Karen Wilkes 3 months ago
    Report your issues to OFCOM.
    0300 123 3333, there you can make a complaint and they will advise you of your rights.

Find the best TalkTalk Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best TalkTalk Broadband deals

 
 

Talk Talk Features

TalkTalk broadband options

Option 1 - Unlimited Broadband

This is TalkTalk's basic broadband option and is provided via a copper ADSL phone line. The speed of your connection will depend on the distance between your home and the phone exchange. TalkTalk will give you an estimated connection speed when you sign up. At least 50% of TalkTalk customers who choose this package achieve a connection speed of 11Mbps during peak times. This package is usually adequate for basic TV streaming and browsing the internet.

Option 2 - Unlimited Faster Fibre

The average download speed of this package is 38Mbps, over 3x faster than standard broadband! This package is perfect for homes with multiple devices streaming TV, playing online games and downloading large files at the same time.

Option 3 - Unlimited Superfast Fibre

Over 6x faster than standard broadband, TalkTalk Superfast Fibre has an average download speed of 67Mbps. It comes with the new, award-winning Wi-Fi Hub to offer you the best Wi-Fi signal around your home. This package is perfect if you want to stream Ultra HD movies without buffering, even when multiple users are online.

Can I use my own router with TalkTalk

Absolutely! If your tech savvy and want to use your own router you should have no problems connecting it to TalkTalk Broadband. The settings vary depending on the connection type, ADSL & Fibre. If you're using a non-TalkTalk router with TalkTalk's TV service, you'll need to configure IGMP for it to work correctly. IGMP is the data that your TalkTalk TV box uses to enable Internet channels, not all routers can support this. For the less adventurous customer don't worry the free WiFi router (worth over £120) supplied with TalkTalk Fibre broadband is an award winning bit of kit!

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Talk Talk

Talk Talk Pro's

  • No mid-contract price rises
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'The New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with Superfast Fibre broadband. The new TalkTalk router incorporates multiple antenna arrays to help maximise signal strength. It's basically a router that's worth having!

Talk Talk Con's

  • Minimum 18 month contract
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Above industry average Ofcom complaints for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2019)

30 Day Great Connection Guarantee

All internet service providers have to offer customers a cooling off period, this is normally about two weeks. However, they then advise you that your broadband speed will take up to two weeks to stabilise, after which you are locked into your contract. The 30 day great connection guarantee is a confident offer from TalkTalk. Here's how it works...

The 30-day guarantee applies to fibre connections only, fibre broadband customers are free to leave without any termination penalties if they're unhappy with their broadband connection within the first 30 days of being connected. All they need to do is call TalkTalk to cancel their contract within the first 30 days. They will then be sent a pre-paid bag to return TalkTalk's equipment. Once TalkTalk receive their equipment, a pro-rata refund is issued for any days the customer has not used the service. Set-up fees and delivery charges are non-refundable.

The 30 day great connection guarantee applies to all services purchased within a bundle from TalkTalk: For example, if a broadband customer has signed up for other services, like TalkTalk TV, then a termination of that service will be included within the guarantee.

Do I need Fibre broadband to watch TalkTalk TV?

To stream TalkTalk TV or other similar online TV services like Netflix & BBC iPlayer it’s advisable to have at least 3Mbps. This would be adequate to stream a Standard definition (SD) program. To stream TV in high definition (HD) it’s recommended you have a 5Mbps connection. To stream 4K TV ultra high-definition smoothly you’ll need to have a minimum speed of 25Mbps. It’s important to remember that your broadband connection speed is shared with other internet connected devices. So, streaming TV on two devices and a third device browsing the internet are going to need a combined broadband connection of at least 11Mbps. Remember broadband connection speeds can fluctuate during peak hours (8pm to 10pm). If you have multiple devices wanting to stream TV then a Fibre broadband package will give you the best experience. Use our broadband speed tester to check your download speed.

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.