TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

Is TalkTalk Broadband any good?

TalkTalk Great connection guarantee

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

TalkTalk - Fibre 35

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£22
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 264
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 35

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£22
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 264
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 65

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£25
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 300
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 65

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£25
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 300
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fast Broadband

Standard broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£24.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 309.35
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 35 TV

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£26
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 316.95
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 35 + Unlimited UK landline and mobile calls

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£27.5
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 330
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 65 TV

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£28
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 340.95
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fast Broadband TV

Standard broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£28.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 357.35
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 150

Offer ends Wednesday 21st of April 2021
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£29.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 359.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 150

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£32
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 384
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 150 - Data Only

145Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£32
18 month contract Setup cost £25
Total first year cost £ 409
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 150 TV

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£33.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 412.35
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 150 + Unlimited UK landline and mobile calls

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£35
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 420
Show cost details

Talk Talk Features

TalkTalk broadband options

Option 1 - Unlimited Broadband

This is TalkTalk's basic broadband option and is provided via a copper ADSL phone line. The speed of your connection will depend on the distance between your home and the phone exchange. TalkTalk will give you an estimated connection speed when you sign up. At least 50% of TalkTalk customers who choose this package achieve a connection speed of 11Mbps during peak times. This package is usually adequate for basic TV streaming and browsing the internet.

Option 2 - Unlimited Faster Fibre

The average download speed of this package is 38Mbps, over 3x faster than standard broadband! This package is perfect for homes with multiple devices streaming TV, playing online games and downloading large files at the same time.

Option 3 - Unlimited Superfast Fibre

Over 6x faster than standard broadband, TalkTalk Superfast Fibre has an average download speed of 67Mbps. It comes with the new, award-winning Wi-Fi Hub to offer you the best Wi-Fi signal around your home. This package is perfect if you want to stream Ultra HD movies without buffering, even when multiple users are online.

Can I use my own router with TalkTalk

Absolutely! If your tech savvy and want to use your own router you should have no problems connecting it to TalkTalk Broadband. The settings vary depending on the connection type, ADSL & Fibre. If you're using a non-TalkTalk router with TalkTalk's TV service, you'll need to configure IGMP for it to work correctly. IGMP is the data that your TalkTalk TV box uses to enable Internet channels, not all routers can support this. For the less adventurous customer don't worry the free WiFi router (worth over £120) supplied with TalkTalk Fibre broadband is an award winning bit of kit!

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pros & Cons

Key features for Talk Talk packages

Talk Talk Pros

  • No mid-contract price rises
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'The New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with Superfast Fibre broadband. The new TalkTalk router incorporates multiple antenna arrays to help maximise signal strength. It's basically a router that's worth having!

Talk Talk Cons

  • Minimum 18 month contract
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Above industry average Ofcom complaints for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2019)

30 Day Great Connection Guarantee

All internet service providers have to offer customers a cooling off period, this is normally about two weeks. However, they then advise you that your broadband speed will take up to two weeks to stabilise, after which you are locked into your contract. The 30 day great connection guarantee is a confident offer from TalkTalk. Here's how it works...

The 30-day guarantee applies to fibre connections only, fibre broadband customers are free to leave without any termination penalties if they're unhappy with their broadband connection within the first 30 days of being connected. All they need to do is call TalkTalk to cancel their contract within the first 30 days. They will then be sent a pre-paid bag to return TalkTalk's equipment. Once TalkTalk receive their equipment, a pro-rata refund is issued for any days the customer has not used the service. Set-up fees and delivery charges are non-refundable.

The 30 day great connection guarantee applies to all services purchased within a bundle from TalkTalk: For example, if a broadband customer has signed up for other services, like TalkTalk TV, then a termination of that service will be included within the guarantee.

Do I need Fibre broadband to watch TalkTalk TV?

To stream TalkTalk TV or other similar online TV services like Netflix & BBC iPlayer it’s advisable to have at least 3Mbps. This would be adequate to stream a Standard definition (SD) program. To stream TV in high definition (HD) it’s recommended you have a 5Mbps connection. To stream 4K TV ultra high-definition smoothly you’ll need to have a minimum speed of 25Mbps. It’s important to remember that your broadband connection speed is shared with other internet connected devices. So, streaming TV on two devices and a third device browsing the internet are going to need a combined broadband connection of at least 11Mbps. Remember broadband connection speeds can fluctuate during peak hours (8pm to 10pm). If you have multiple devices wanting to stream TV then a Fibre broadband package will give you the best experience. Use our broadband speed tester to check your download speed.

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. To get TalkTalk broadband without a phone line you would need to order FTTP (Fibre to the Premises) 'TalkTalk Future Fibre' or 'Ultra Fibre Optic'.

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews
Compare Top 10 ISP Reviews

930 TalkTalk broadband reviews

1.0
930 TalkTalk broadband reviews
Post review
  • 9
  • 6
  • 17
  • 90
  • 808
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
TalkTalk broadband review
by Vinz 2 days ago
Poor Internet and Customer Service
They are useless. In 1 year I had to complain 3 times for the terrible service and the agents on the phone don't even have your correct details on their system. They were unable to send an engineer to my place because they still had the previous address where I lived 5 years before!!! They are a proper joke!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
TalkTalk broadband review
by Davies 3 days ago
DO NOT EVER USE TALK TALK
DO NOT EVER USE TALK TALK!! As an elderly person who has been the main carer for their husband with dementia over the past 6 years, I had not realised until recently that they were taking two direct debit payments of +£75 and + £60 per month for the past +5 years. Unbeknown to me, I had two talk talk accounts but was only using one phone and broadband line. They were also charging me for media which I was not aware of. They clear take advantage of vulnerable elderly people which is criminal. Also their customer service is appalling. Each time I called them to find out why I was paying close to £140/month for phone and broad band, they would end the call, stating they would call me back but they never did. On one occasion I spent 3 hours calling them back. Use another more reputable telecommunications and broadband provider

  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
TalkTalk broadband review
by Annoyed 5 days ago
Avoid talk talk at all costs
The engineer left all but 1 phone sockets disabled in home, talk talk tried to sell me plug ins for each socket ,was charged for Youview even though I couldn't plug it in, broadband constantly disconnects, tried to sell me a new contract without telling me the price will go up next week, live chat boards you with inane questions from 2pm till 11pm (cringe), threat to charge £50 letter states everything you. Need to return including weight just a picture of the router, no mention of anything else, so dutifully made trip to post office, the weight was more than stated in letter, get email thanks for returning, then get new return bag threatened £50 to return unspecified cables which I no longer have, another trip to post office???
Take it from me talktalk will Rob you not just of your money but also your mental health, in 18 months I must have spent 30 hrs on phone, to people who act dumb, talk louder and faster over you and. Have zero interest other than taking your money for services that just don't deliver
If you want to dance with the devil ,talk talk are by far the worst 18 miserable months of my life, I will never sign another contract, get a SIM card router and cut the cord literally forever from these torturess entities, snake in the grass!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Comment (1)
  • Share
  • Report
  • Authors avatar
    Annoyed 5 days ago
    Just to say talk talk after your engineer disconnected my phone sockets and ethernet I told them I have disabilities and now have no emergency landline in other rooms I will be taking this further
    • Reply
    • Report
TalkTalk broadband review
by Sandy 16 days ago
Disgusting service
I’ve subscribed to talk talk this January.
Ever since, my internet speed dropped and it makes almost impossible video calls or regular streaming. Spent well over 2hours, wasted time, chatting with customer service, running tests and the conclusion was I have to pay for an engineer to come over and check the issue or pay if I brake the contract...
Disgusting.. I don’t recommend this company at all!😡
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
TalkTalk broadband review
by m s 21 days ago
Avoid steeling from customers
AVOID worst ever. They continue charging even after contract expired and another person had broadband connected in new name with new number. Engineers visited address and did manual disconnect and then connected new line. When contacting them online i was told i need to cancel even if contract has expired and I can't do it online. I have to call on phone. cancelation takes 30 days for which they charge you even when they do not provide any service to you. So if you do not look at your bank statements they will continue to take your money until you figure it out. Then after you do they will charge you for another 30 days to kill your account. ( Their words kill the account) do not take it escalate a complaint. It is criminal what they get away with.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
TalkTalk broadband review
by Kenny D 1 month ago
Price increase during fixed price contract !!!
I am part way through an 18 month fixed price contract with talktalk and they have increased the monthly fee. I contacted the online agents who could only suggest that I terminated the contract which would be penalty free until the end of the month, then cancellation would be subject to a penalty charge, which is a bit rich as they broke the agreement in the first place by increasing the price during the fixed price period. I no longer trust talktalk to stick to their agreement and would be suspicious about any further "fixed price contracts". Best avoided and deal with a more trustworthy company.
  • Package price
    3.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
TalkTalk broadband review
by M Jakubik 1 month ago
Absolutely DISGUSTING
Bad is not even the word to describe the overall service.
Extra fast internet absolutely slow, when moving house, weeks waiting for anyone to sort things out, "technical problems" each time I want to login to my account. When told them I'll be leaving they told me I can't and gave me a different offer- I had 2weeks to change, and because swapping the provider is legal in the contract I've swapped, before the deadline, I've also phoned them on the last day, to double check everything. Now 2 months later talk talk charges me £245 for the services I've never had.. there's even a charge for "homeowners setup fee"£60. How magical..huh, when no one set up anything, no engineer has ever been here, I've never used their internet since the move as I'm with Virgin...yet talk talk claims I'm with them...hmm... interesting.

If you're thinking about going with talk talk and have them as your provider.. don't..Simply don't because the customer service will conveniently "forget" to write on your account that you've left them (that means less customers, and less money for them doesn't it?) you will pay for something you've NEVER USED...and for set-up that never happened, your account will never work, and you'll be frustrated. I'm not saying Virgin in better,.no they are not... but wow..Talk Talk you have some "balls" to charge customers like that, oh...and then send you letters from other companies to take money for them! Yes, that was how I've found out I "owe" them £245! No letter, no email, no phone call..no nothing-...but hey.. according to them I'm their customer..right?! So why sending someone else ...
Absolutely DISGUSTING.
Absolutely AWFUL.
And...even if you read the small print and do everything "by the book" they'll tell you otherwise, charge you and not even contact you. DISGRACEFUL. and waiting time... prepare for at least half of your day to be wasted ..
  • Package price
    2/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
TalkTalk broadband review
by Kim 1 month ago
Miss
The nightmare company! I am not sure if they are actually trying to be as bad or they just can’t do better! Either way it’s a waste of time and money and a lot of nerves!
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
  • Add a comment
  • Share
  • Report
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to FasterBroadbands Terms & Conditions