TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

Is TalkTalk Broadband any good?

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

TalkTalk - Fast Broadband

Standard broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£22.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 275.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Faster Fibre

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£23.5
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 282
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Faster Fibre

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£23.5
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 282
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Superfast Fibre

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£26
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 312
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Superfast Fibre

Offer ends Wednesday 28th of October 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£26
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 312
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Faster 150 Fibre

Offer ends Wednesday 28th of October 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£32
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 384
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Fast Broadband + Entertainment Boost

Standard broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£38.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 467.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Faster Fibre + Entertainment Boost

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£39.5
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 474
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Superfast Fibre + Entertainment Boost

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£42
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 504
Show cost details

Talk Talk Features

TalkTalk broadband options

Option 1 - Unlimited Broadband

This is TalkTalk's basic broadband option and is provided via a copper ADSL phone line. The speed of your connection will depend on the distance between your home and the phone exchange. TalkTalk will give you an estimated connection speed when you sign up. At least 50% of TalkTalk customers who choose this package achieve a connection speed of 11Mbps during peak times. This package is usually adequate for basic TV streaming and browsing the internet.

Option 2 - Unlimited Faster Fibre

The average download speed of this package is 38Mbps, over 3x faster than standard broadband! This package is perfect for homes with multiple devices streaming TV, playing online games and downloading large files at the same time.

Option 3 - Unlimited Superfast Fibre

Over 6x faster than standard broadband, TalkTalk Superfast Fibre has an average download speed of 67Mbps. It comes with the new, award-winning Wi-Fi Hub to offer you the best Wi-Fi signal around your home. This package is perfect if you want to stream Ultra HD movies without buffering, even when multiple users are online.

Can I use my own router with TalkTalk

Absolutely! If your tech savvy and want to use your own router you should have no problems connecting it to TalkTalk Broadband. The settings vary depending on the connection type, ADSL & Fibre. If you're using a non-TalkTalk router with TalkTalk's TV service, you'll need to configure IGMP for it to work correctly. IGMP is the data that your TalkTalk TV box uses to enable Internet channels, not all routers can support this. For the less adventurous customer don't worry the free WiFi router (worth over £120) supplied with TalkTalk Fibre broadband is an award winning bit of kit!

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pros & Cons

Key features for Talk Talk packages

Talk Talk Pros

  • No mid-contract price rises
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'The New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with Superfast Fibre broadband. The new TalkTalk router incorporates multiple antenna arrays to help maximise signal strength. It's basically a router that's worth having!

Talk Talk Cons

  • Minimum 18 month contract
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Above industry average Ofcom complaints for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2019)

30 Day Great Connection Guarantee

All internet service providers have to offer customers a cooling off period, this is normally about two weeks. However, they then advise you that your broadband speed will take up to two weeks to stabilise, after which you are locked into your contract. The 30 day great connection guarantee is a confident offer from TalkTalk. Here's how it works...

The 30-day guarantee applies to fibre connections only, fibre broadband customers are free to leave without any termination penalties if they're unhappy with their broadband connection within the first 30 days of being connected. All they need to do is call TalkTalk to cancel their contract within the first 30 days. They will then be sent a pre-paid bag to return TalkTalk's equipment. Once TalkTalk receive their equipment, a pro-rata refund is issued for any days the customer has not used the service. Set-up fees and delivery charges are non-refundable.

The 30 day great connection guarantee applies to all services purchased within a bundle from TalkTalk: For example, if a broadband customer has signed up for other services, like TalkTalk TV, then a termination of that service will be included within the guarantee.

Do I need Fibre broadband to watch TalkTalk TV?

To stream TalkTalk TV or other similar online TV services like Netflix & BBC iPlayer it’s advisable to have at least 3Mbps. This would be adequate to stream a Standard definition (SD) program. To stream TV in high definition (HD) it’s recommended you have a 5Mbps connection. To stream 4K TV ultra high-definition smoothly you’ll need to have a minimum speed of 25Mbps. It’s important to remember that your broadband connection speed is shared with other internet connected devices. So, streaming TV on two devices and a third device browsing the internet are going to need a combined broadband connection of at least 11Mbps. Remember broadband connection speeds can fluctuate during peak hours (8pm to 10pm). If you have multiple devices wanting to stream TV then a Fibre broadband package will give you the best experience. Use our broadband speed tester to check your download speed.

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. To get TalkTalk broadband without a phone line you would need to order FTTP (Fibre to the Premises) 'TalkTalk Future Fibre' or 'Ultra Fibre Optic'.

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

906 TalkTalk broadband reviews

1.0
906 TalkTalk broadband reviews
Post review
  • 9
  • 6
  • 15
  • 87
  • 789
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
£105 out of pocket and issue still NOT fixed. Useless customer service. Waste of time
TalkTalk broadband review by Viktoria 6 days ago
Review
I don't often write negative reviews but I've had such an unpleasant experience with TalkTalk lately that I thought I'd warn others.
The speed has never really been a problem, it's a solid 15 Mbps as promised (we don't have fibre in the area).
It's the strength of connection which drops out many times a day that's the problem for both of us working from home. It's been a very stressful couple of months with the connection dropping out during important meeting, client calls and what not.
I have used live chat first to "troubleshoot". We didn't fix anything. I was sent an email on how to check it myself which I did. It was still bad.
I went on live chat to request a £40 engineer appt which resulted in nothing.
I asked for another option, which was a £65 engineer appt which also solved nothing.
At this point, over a month down the line, I am £105 out of pocket and very frustrated as you can imagine.
I went on live chat again where I went through the same "troubleshooting" procedure I've done many times before and then I was told that the speed was fine and above what is promised. I didn't complain about the speed. (this was 2 hours into our live chat by the way). So again, I explained in plain English numerous time that the connection drops out numerous time a day, both wifi and wired. At which point, they left the chat. Having wasted 2.5 hrs I was beyond annoyed so I tried getting through to someone via the phone. I thought I could reason with a person. When I finally did get through I was told to do the exact troubleshooting checks AGAIN. I told them I've just done them and then explained the situation. The person on the other end couldn't do anything but read off the script. She read why they won't refund the money and asked me if I want "troubleshooting guidance" emailed to me... It felt like talking to a wall. I will definitely be changing providers. Absolutely horrendous customer service.
  • Package price
    3.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    Deck Tronik 5 days ago
    Clearly your problem is 15mb is not enough bandwidth for what you and your wife require now when working from home, 15mbps good for a phone(1 device!) on the 4g mobile network to be no prob.(if you have a 4G phone and decent signal turn off wifi and run speed test i just got 11.8mbps with 1 bar off from max signal! ) not having fibre( I do 200mbps!) in your area is unfortunate but would advise ask talk talk if higher speed services are available and upgrade to the fastest possible, in the mean time when your and your wife are working online turnoff/disconnect from your network every other device(Smart T.V./Phone/Tablets etc.) apart from the ones your using for work to get most stable connection from your 15mbps .
Worst customer services ever experienced
TalkTalk broadband review by Naomi Acum 8 days ago
Review
We have had the worst experience of talk talk and reading these other reviews they deserve their terrible reputation. Talk talk slammed our internet and when we tried to resolve have spent days and days on the phone being passed from one rude agent to another. None have any interest in helping and when I asked for an email address was given an unmonitored account. It’s incredibly shocking to have such blatant disregard for customers. I hope others save themselves a similar experience.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Rubbish faster fibre 150
TalkTalk broadband review by Andrew 11 days ago
Review
I invested in faster fibre 150. Installed fine but chap from open reach installed an ugly 90s looking box under my TalkTalk router - apparently TalkTalk don’t invest in a router that can connect directly. He said they sometimes cause issues but mine worked fine - at first. Now I can’t get more than 35mbps, sometimes only 18, although there is 160mbps arriving at the open reach router. Of course I can’t actually get through to anyone at talk talk as it just diverts to an automated response telling me that it is all working fine, which it isn’t. And no, there is no issues with my set up. I bet I’m not the only one having the same issues with TalkTalk failing to upgrade their routers? I even bought mine it didn’t come free with a package - that is the thanks you get for being with them for 8 years. Roll on the end of the contract now that I can keep my email address and move ISP.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Worst company I have ever dealt with
TalkTalk broadband review by SArah 11 days ago
Review
No broadband for weeks, Dave from Bangladeshi was no help. Took 30 mins to get my name right. They lie to cover mistakes. Failed engineer appointment, appointment was never made but then told they had worked the problem from outside. 2 hrs on help chat to be cut off. Unable to leave under 30 day leave clause as the fault needs to be fixed first. Do not use this company they are so poor it’s actually funny.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Utter garbage
TalkTalk broadband review by Aaron 12 days ago
Review
Saving my time, basically read every other review here about speeds being cut shortly after contract started. You get blamed for not having setup correctly even though everything worked fine for however long until they pulled the plug. Don't trust TalkTalk
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Awful
TalkTalk broadband review by Annie 12 days ago
Review
Awful! I cannot imagine that there is a worse internet provider than talktalk. We have had no internet for over a month. After an array of diagnostics and changing their minds they have told us that open reach need to fix a cable. This was 3 weeks ago and still no movement. We have complained to a manager and now will be complaining to the ceo's office. As soon as I can leave without a penalty I will.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Avoid Talktalk by all means
TalkTalk broadband review by Avoid Talktalk and go to Virgin Media 15 days ago
Review
Customer Service is poor. Package price is cheap but offers very little. Broadband speed is appalling. Overall Satisfaction is poor.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Avoid by all means
TalkTalk broadband review by Betty 24 days ago
Review
Talk Talk customer service has lost its standards and values. I placed an order three weeks ago. I was told the service would start on the 18 October on the day when I called later I received an email my service will begin on the 24. Then I waited till the 24 no service. Here's where I started getting customer service, they keep passing me from one department to the other a week later, still no use. I have requested to speak to the manager twice no success. They keep taking my details and promise the manager will call in 24 hours waited five days I didn’t receive any call. I have cancelled my contract before my cooling period ends. They still hold the line for seven days after cancellation. I have to wait seven more days until I join the new provider.
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions