TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk 38Mb Faster Fibre £22.95 per month
Including line rental

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

888 TalkTalk broadband reviews

1.0
888 TalkTalk broadband reviews
Post review
  • 9
  • 6
  • 15
  • 85
  • 769
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Avoid!
TalkTalk broadband review by Wayne Seward 3 years ago
Review
Been a talktalk customer for years and was happy with the service and thought they were good. Then had a problem with the internet, now 40 days later with a barely 0.5mb service that drops out every few minutes and the most useless customer service department I have ever dealt with I am finally leaving - not that was easy. If you go with them they are fine till something goes wrong, the guys on the other end of the line seem helpful enough but wont phone you back when they say they will, they wont do what they tell you and will even tell you they will waive the cancellation fees due to their handling of it. Then send you the bill for it and deny they said it. Pay more and go with someone that will at least put some effort into their customer service teams.
  • Package price
    4/5
Show more
10 people found the following review helpful
Never use TalkTalk
TalkTalk broadband review by Ivan Stoyanov 3 years ago
Review
Let me introduce you to the worst internet company in UK - TalkTalk. When we made our contract two years ago, the very kind agent we spoke to explained us that for our big house we better get two routers and he guaranteed the internet will be with the best quality and high speed. 

However three months ago one of the routers stop working properly and the internet at home became very slow. I called the company straight away and they sent us an engineer to determine the issue. 
Further more they informed me that if the issue is with any of the routers at home we would have to pay them £75 for the engineer coming. 

After the check from the engineer he determined that the issue is from the network somewhere outside, not from our home. He said they will call another engineers from OPENREACH to come and make tests outside so we don't need to do nothing more.

After that we waited for couple of weeks but we never had an internet again. Meanwhile I was still paying my monthly bill even that I haven't used their service for a long time.

I called again and the same thing happened again. They had to send an engineer home again to determine the issue as they never recorded our complaint the the last time. 
An engineer came and he said the same thing. He said they will call the technicians from Open to come and fix the problem in the Network outside.
While waiting another month our other router also stop working and we were left without any internet. However I was still paying for the internet I didn't have for months.
 After three months I spoke with a manager from TalkTalk and I requested a full refund for the time we were paying the internet which we didn't have.
 However I still don't know what caused the problem but I highly recommend you DO NOT MAKE A CONTRACT WITH TALKTALK if you want to avoid all the struggle me and my family gone through. 

In 21 century I use my mobile internet so I can still work and watch TV.
 This is totally unacceptable.

 NEVER NEVER USE TALKTALK
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
Show more
9 people found the following review helpful
Avoid like the plague
TalkTalk broadband review by Hillary 3 years ago
Review
Staff are extremely rude and argumentative. Never arrived to install and I only found out reason why when I called them myself. Apparently there is no bt line in my property and it's a new build even though I have lived here nearly 6 years and the property was not new then. Went to another company who were able to install without delays. Staff shouted at me on the phone and argued with everything I said avoid like the plague.
Show more
8 people found the following review helpful
Talk Talk billing issue
TalkTalk broadband review by Paul 3 years ago
Review
I received a letter from TalkTalk this morning billing me for £832.68 there's just one problem..............I've never had TalkTalk thankfully!
Show more
6 people found the following review helpful
Cowboys
TalkTalk broadband review by Kerry Griggs 3 years ago
Review
My broadband with talk talk is so slow. I keep phoning them and talking to foreign people who are brain-dead Moran's. I want to leave but am probably tied into a contract, if I stop my direct debit they will prob fine me... cowboys
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
7 people found the following review helpful
Extremely negative experience with Talk talk
TalkTalk broadband review by Adinda Van Hemelrijck 3 years ago
Review
I have an extremely negative experience with Talk talk with regard to their customer service. I called to request an early cancellation of my contract because I have to move out of the country which doesn't make it possible to transfer my account to a new address in the UK. They answered this is not a valid reason to stop the contract and therefore want to charge me 200 pounds!!! I've been a client for about 5 years, so I was shocked! They let me wait on the line for more than half an hour in order to put me through to a manager. Instead of a manager I was connected to another employee. Finally they simply interrupted the call. I feel this is outrageous! I have never experienced something like this before.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
Show more
5 people found the following review helpful
Slow
TalkTalk broadband review by Paulius Jarasunas 3 years ago
Review
Worst internet i EVER HAD! Download 18mb/s but upload worst then ever... 0.8mb/s Where we living in 21 century right? I want to cancel that crap or boost upload speed somehow.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
Show more
5 people found the following review helpful
Dont ring me again....................
TalkTalk broadband review by mike hession 3 years ago
Review
I had broadband installed 2 wks ago on 16th June 2017 I wish I hadn't bothered, first up the speed is so slow I could draw the pages quicker than they appear, talktalk sent an engineer who couldn't fix the speed, then rang me up to tell me they can fix the speed but that I must upgrade from the package I paid for which is £22 a month approx to a fibre optic broadband which is £33 a month that's a bit like selling someone a car that u say works they drive it and it doesn't but if u pay more they can fix ... in one word SHI!T.
  • Package price
    1/5
Show more
6 people found the following review helpful
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

TalkTalk - Faster Fibre

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£22.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £275.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fast Broadband

Standard Broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£22.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £275.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Faster Fibre

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£22.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £275.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Superfast Fibre

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£25.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £311.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Superfast Fibre

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£25.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £311.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Fast Broadband + Entertainment Boost

Standard Broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£34.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £419.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Faster Fibre + Entertainment Boost

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£34.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £419.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Superfast Fibre + Entertainment Boost

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£37.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £455.4
Show cost details

Talk Talk Features

TalkTalk broadband options

Option 1 - Unlimited Broadband

This is TalkTalk's basic broadband option and is provided via a copper ADSL phone line. The speed of your connection will depend on the distance between your home and the phone exchange. TalkTalk will give you an estimated connection speed when you sign up. At least 50% of TalkTalk customers who choose this package achieve a connection speed of 11Mbps during peak times. This package is usually adequate for basic TV streaming and browsing the internet.

Option 2 - Unlimited Faster Fibre

The average download speed of this package is 38Mbps, over 3x faster than standard broadband! This package is perfect for homes with multiple devices streaming TV, playing online games and downloading large files at the same time.

Option 3 - Unlimited Superfast Fibre

Over 6x faster than standard broadband, TalkTalk Superfast Fibre has an average download speed of 67Mbps. It comes with the new, award-winning Wi-Fi Hub to offer you the best Wi-Fi signal around your home. This package is perfect if you want to stream Ultra HD movies without buffering, even when multiple users are online.

Can I use my own router with TalkTalk

Absolutely! If your tech savvy and want to use your own router you should have no problems connecting it to TalkTalk Broadband. The settings vary depending on the connection type, ADSL & Fibre. If you're using a non-TalkTalk router with TalkTalk's TV service, you'll need to configure IGMP for it to work correctly. IGMP is the data that your TalkTalk TV box uses to enable Internet channels, not all routers can support this. For the less adventurous customer don't worry the free WiFi router (worth over £120) supplied with TalkTalk Fibre broadband is an award winning bit of kit!

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Talk Talk

Talk Talk Pro's

  • No mid-contract price rises
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'The New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with Superfast Fibre broadband. The new TalkTalk router incorporates multiple antenna arrays to help maximise signal strength. It's basically a router that's worth having!

Talk Talk Con's

  • Minimum 18 month contract
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Above industry average Ofcom complaints for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2019)

30 Day Great Connection Guarantee

All internet service providers have to offer customers a cooling off period, this is normally about two weeks. However, they then advise you that your broadband speed will take up to two weeks to stabilise, after which you are locked into your contract. The 30 day great connection guarantee is a confident offer from TalkTalk. Here's how it works...

The 30-day guarantee applies to fibre connections only, fibre broadband customers are free to leave without any termination penalties if they're unhappy with their broadband connection within the first 30 days of being connected. All they need to do is call TalkTalk to cancel their contract within the first 30 days. They will then be sent a pre-paid bag to return TalkTalk's equipment. Once TalkTalk receive their equipment, a pro-rata refund is issued for any days the customer has not used the service. Set-up fees and delivery charges are non-refundable.

The 30 day great connection guarantee applies to all services purchased within a bundle from TalkTalk: For example, if a broadband customer has signed up for other services, like TalkTalk TV, then a termination of that service will be included within the guarantee.

Do I need Fibre broadband to watch TalkTalk TV?

To stream TalkTalk TV or other similar online TV services like Netflix & BBC iPlayer it’s advisable to have at least 3Mbps. This would be adequate to stream a Standard definition (SD) program. To stream TV in high definition (HD) it’s recommended you have a 5Mbps connection. To stream 4K TV ultra high-definition smoothly you’ll need to have a minimum speed of 25Mbps. It’s important to remember that your broadband connection speed is shared with other internet connected devices. So, streaming TV on two devices and a third device browsing the internet are going to need a combined broadband connection of at least 11Mbps. Remember broadband connection speeds can fluctuate during peak hours (8pm to 10pm). If you have multiple devices wanting to stream TV then a Fibre broadband package will give you the best experience. Use our broadband speed tester to check your download speed.

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.