TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

Is TalkTalk Broadband any good?

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

TalkTalk - Fibre 35

Offer ends Wednesday 2nd of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£21
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 252
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 35

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£21
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 252
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 65

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£23
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 276
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 65

Offer ends Wednesday 2nd of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£23
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 276
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fast Broadband

Standard broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£22.95
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 285.35
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 35 TV Lite

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£27.5
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 355
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 150

Offer ends Wednesday 2nd of December 2020
Fibre broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£29.95
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 359.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 35 TV Plus

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£27.5
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 380
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 65 TV Lite

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£30
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 385
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fibre 65 TV Plus

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£30
24 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 410
Show cost details

Talk Talk Features

TalkTalk broadband options

Option 1 - Unlimited Broadband

This is TalkTalk's basic broadband option and is provided via a copper ADSL phone line. The speed of your connection will depend on the distance between your home and the phone exchange. TalkTalk will give you an estimated connection speed when you sign up. At least 50% of TalkTalk customers who choose this package achieve a connection speed of 11Mbps during peak times. This package is usually adequate for basic TV streaming and browsing the internet.

Option 2 - Unlimited Faster Fibre

The average download speed of this package is 38Mbps, over 3x faster than standard broadband! This package is perfect for homes with multiple devices streaming TV, playing online games and downloading large files at the same time.

Option 3 - Unlimited Superfast Fibre

Over 6x faster than standard broadband, TalkTalk Superfast Fibre has an average download speed of 67Mbps. It comes with the new, award-winning Wi-Fi Hub to offer you the best Wi-Fi signal around your home. This package is perfect if you want to stream Ultra HD movies without buffering, even when multiple users are online.

Can I use my own router with TalkTalk

Absolutely! If your tech savvy and want to use your own router you should have no problems connecting it to TalkTalk Broadband. The settings vary depending on the connection type, ADSL & Fibre. If you're using a non-TalkTalk router with TalkTalk's TV service, you'll need to configure IGMP for it to work correctly. IGMP is the data that your TalkTalk TV box uses to enable Internet channels, not all routers can support this. For the less adventurous customer don't worry the free WiFi router (worth over £120) supplied with TalkTalk Fibre broadband is an award winning bit of kit!

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pros & Cons

Key features for Talk Talk packages

Talk Talk Pros

  • No mid-contract price rises
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'The New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with Superfast Fibre broadband. The new TalkTalk router incorporates multiple antenna arrays to help maximise signal strength. It's basically a router that's worth having!

Talk Talk Cons

  • Minimum 18 month contract
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Above industry average Ofcom complaints for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2019)

30 Day Great Connection Guarantee

All internet service providers have to offer customers a cooling off period, this is normally about two weeks. However, they then advise you that your broadband speed will take up to two weeks to stabilise, after which you are locked into your contract. The 30 day great connection guarantee is a confident offer from TalkTalk. Here's how it works...

The 30-day guarantee applies to fibre connections only, fibre broadband customers are free to leave without any termination penalties if they're unhappy with their broadband connection within the first 30 days of being connected. All they need to do is call TalkTalk to cancel their contract within the first 30 days. They will then be sent a pre-paid bag to return TalkTalk's equipment. Once TalkTalk receive their equipment, a pro-rata refund is issued for any days the customer has not used the service. Set-up fees and delivery charges are non-refundable.

The 30 day great connection guarantee applies to all services purchased within a bundle from TalkTalk: For example, if a broadband customer has signed up for other services, like TalkTalk TV, then a termination of that service will be included within the guarantee.

Do I need Fibre broadband to watch TalkTalk TV?

To stream TalkTalk TV or other similar online TV services like Netflix & BBC iPlayer it’s advisable to have at least 3Mbps. This would be adequate to stream a Standard definition (SD) program. To stream TV in high definition (HD) it’s recommended you have a 5Mbps connection. To stream 4K TV ultra high-definition smoothly you’ll need to have a minimum speed of 25Mbps. It’s important to remember that your broadband connection speed is shared with other internet connected devices. So, streaming TV on two devices and a third device browsing the internet are going to need a combined broadband connection of at least 11Mbps. Remember broadband connection speeds can fluctuate during peak hours (8pm to 10pm). If you have multiple devices wanting to stream TV then a Fibre broadband package will give you the best experience. Use our broadband speed tester to check your download speed.

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. To get TalkTalk broadband without a phone line you would need to order FTTP (Fibre to the Premises) 'TalkTalk Future Fibre' or 'Ultra Fibre Optic'.

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

913 TalkTalk broadband reviews

1.0
913 TalkTalk broadband reviews
Post review
  • 9
  • 6
  • 16
  • 87
  • 795
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Might as well be a scam!
TalkTalk broadband review by Stacey Preece 3 days ago
Review
Might as well be a scam with how they operate. Called in nearly a week ago with a fault, assured that I would be put through with an emergency 24/48 hour appointment - lie number 1. Five days later ten minutes after they are due to arrive I recieved a phone call - apparently *I* have canecelled my appointment to go to hospital. No I haven't. Another call - no my engineer is going to hospital and no one is available and they don't know when someone will be - this was lie number 2; because when pushed further they found a new person in less than half an hour. Only the cocky, arrogant engineer - Wayne - they sent out, spent his time telling me how BT engineers are useless and call center agents are useless and that the fault is with the BT line - lie number 3. Because when BT come out we learn that the issue is with the router, a router that would have been in his van at the time. So now I have to wait a further 3+ days for them to send me one in the post because they "don't have anyone available" to come and put in a two minute job that *their* engineer should have fixed.

Meanwhile I'm a vulnerable person, stuck in a home where not even my TV works without internet and am expected to just continue to sit here while they charge me for each phone call, not to mention the extra phone data I have to buy! Almost £60!!
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Contract con
TalkTalk broadband review by Gray 4 days ago
Review
I have been with talk talk for 5 years. I am moving house with a gap of 5 weeks between, I have to pay £150 early exit because my new house is not ready. .. What rubbish.
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    4.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    Graham Robley 4 days ago
    Go to another company. Rubbish service, I spent 2 hours on the phone passed between departments And they lie.
Worst internet provider.
TalkTalk broadband review by Shahzad 9 days ago
Review
I had the misfortune of taking 2 year contract with talk talk. I had nothing but problems with them, once a week for a few hours the internet would stop working, it is very difficult to speak to them, no proper customer service. My internet has not been working since Friday night, but unable to speak to them. Even when it's working I get no more than 4MB internet speed. It's been the worst internet experience. I am not even sure if they even read these feedbacks, my post code is M19 2RS.

  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Absolute shambles of a company. Poor broadband speed, appalling customer support. Spend your money elsewhere
TalkTalk broadband review by Mark 10 days ago
Review
Don’t be tempted to get broadband via Talktalk be it for work, entertainment or social reasons. The packages appear to be competitively priced but you will not have a reliable service.

I was originally on an AOL line rental and broadband package and this got taken by Talktalk so i did not voluntarily subscribe directly to Talktalk!

I pay £20 for line rental and broadband so superficially this appears to be a good price. Broadband speeds vary between 2 to 8mbps download and 0.2 to 0.8 upload! Speed varies unpredictably during usage but dips significantly during peak usage time. Streaming is interrupted as are video calls and document downloads and even ordinary browsing!

I have done my faultfinding via their website which seems to indicate a fault with my connection. Following numerous online chats and actual calls to individuals (generally very unhelpful if not downright rude) I was repeatedly told there was no fault. Most conversations involved enticements to increase the speed of my connection, but this should not be an issue for ordinary streaming and low intensity internet browsing.

I think the speed is being deliberately dropped at various periods to entice me to go for a more expensive package!

Certainly I’m quitting this horrendous company that quite frankly deserves to go bust!!
Good luck to anyone who subscribes despite these reviews!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
TalkTalk are a thoroughly despicable company - do not ever ever sign up to these nasty people ever
TalkTalk broadband review by Ez 13 days ago
Review
When you try to leave, they will try to make up all mannerisms to postpone your leaving date to a date that has no relevance to you or your billing cycle. They then after your terminating date will make up a false amount of money to be paid without an accompanying bill as to why they have charged this amount. If you have also cancelled your direct debit to prevent them from taking this fictitious made up amount, then they will add this to another fictitious amount (again with no bill) the next month for a “late payment”. This is then packaged up as a debt and then sold off to a debt collecting agency. Completely and utterly unscrupulous company that should be investigated by all and sundry for the practices that they engage in. Do not go near this company if you value your life.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Damn
TalkTalk broadband review by B 13 days ago
Review
I’m shocked how bad something so simple can be. Never wrote a review in my life but damn this is the worst I’ve ever been dealt with
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Only a nutter would use talktalk
TalkTalk broadband review by only a nutter would use talktalk 1 month ago
Review
Although i don't use talktalk my elderly mother does. Had no internet for a month and can't reset her email password. We paid an IT expert to help but even he gave up. They did send my dead father a please rejoin us email though, even though we notified them of the death 3 years ago and asked them to shut his email.
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
£105 out of pocket and issue still NOT fixed. Useless customer service. Waste of time
TalkTalk broadband review by Viktoria 1 month ago
Review
I don't often write negative reviews but I've had such an unpleasant experience with TalkTalk lately that I thought I'd warn others.
The speed has never really been a problem, it's a solid 15 Mbps as promised (we don't have fibre in the area).
It's the strength of connection which drops out many times a day that's the problem for both of us working from home. It's been a very stressful couple of months with the connection dropping out during important meeting, client calls and what not.
I have used live chat first to "troubleshoot". We didn't fix anything. I was sent an email on how to check it myself which I did. It was still bad.
I went on live chat to request a £40 engineer appt which resulted in nothing.
I asked for another option, which was a £65 engineer appt which also solved nothing.
At this point, over a month down the line, I am £105 out of pocket and very frustrated as you can imagine.
I went on live chat again where I went through the same "troubleshooting" procedure I've done many times before and then I was told that the speed was fine and above what is promised. I didn't complain about the speed. (this was 2 hours into our live chat by the way). So again, I explained in plain English numerous time that the connection drops out numerous time a day, both wifi and wired. At which point, they left the chat. Having wasted 2.5 hrs I was beyond annoyed so I tried getting through to someone via the phone. I thought I could reason with a person. When I finally did get through I was told to do the exact troubleshooting checks AGAIN. I told them I've just done them and then explained the situation. The person on the other end couldn't do anything but read off the script. She read why they won't refund the money and asked me if I want "troubleshooting guidance" emailed to me... It felt like talking to a wall. I will definitely be changing providers. Absolutely horrendous customer service.
  • Package price
    3.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    Deck Tronik 1 month ago
    Clearly your problem is 15mb is not enough bandwidth for what you and your wife require now when working from home, 15mbps good for a phone(1 device!) on the 4g mobile network to be no prob.(if you have a 4G phone and decent signal turn off wifi and run speed test i just got 11.8mbps with 1 bar off from max signal! ) not having fibre( I do 200mbps!) in your area is unfortunate but would advise ask talk talk if higher speed services are available and upgrade to the fastest possible, in the mean time when your and your wife are working online turnoff/disconnect from your network every other device(Smart T.V./Phone/Tablets etc.) apart from the ones your using for work to get most stable connection from your 15mbps .
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions