TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk Faster fibre broadband
Only £22.95 per month | 38Mb Average speed

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

829 TalkTalk broadband reviews

1.0
829 customer reviews
Post review
  • 8
  • 6
  • 14
  • 71
  • 700
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.7/5
Down Hilllllllll
 · 5 months ago
Review
12 weeks with out internet when i am still playing the bills. 2 week with 15Kbs download and more time with the most **** internet speeds i have ever seen. airport wifi was better.
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
TalkTalk service is a bad joke
 · 5 months ago
Review
Keep out of this so called service provider. I have had such bad experiences:
- my maximum net speed was under 3Mbps for a contract with minimum 10Mbps,
- I complained about this but nothing changed,
- then I called them to cancel the contract, but guess what: they said I didn’t do that, I just asked for details so they prolonged my contract and of course with an increased payment,
- I called them again to cancel the contract, but they said they cannot cancel immediately but after one more month,
- not to mention I was already moved to another address when I called them first time, therefore I didn’t received any service from them last month of the old contract and the two months of the last one,
- I complained on the phone to them directly and chat but nothing has changed

Basically I lost £78 for nothing.
Therefore, DON’T sign any contract with them in first place. If they manage to fool you, then be sure to complain using emails, so you can later have proofs when file complaint to ombudsman.
  • Package price
    3.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Very slow. Customer service terrible.
 · 5 months ago
Review
I complained about broadband speed being well below guaranteed minimum. Customer service tries to upsell you fibre broadband rather than fixing the problem. Internet drops out fairly often with no explanation. Avoid!
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Bad company
 · 5 months ago
Review
After trying this company I would not recommend them, STAY well away after talking to them then cancelling my services I still find we are paying for there mistakes bad customer service bad CEO who did very little to sort this out KEEP WELL away
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Bad comunicator
 · 5 months ago
Review
The assistant during the chat was not able to express himself in a way that I could understand he would use words instead of others and when I was asking clarification eh would explain in a different way. A wast of time chatting with these people.
  • Package price
    4.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Don't go with them
 · 5 months ago
Review
Just load of crap what can I say
  • Package price
    3.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Pathetic service and even worse customer services
 · 5 months ago
Review
Worst service provider I have ever experienced.
Been a customer less than 5 months,
The initial connection was late and faulty, have to reset my router several times every week.
Had no Internet at all for two weeks in June, no automatic compensation, even though they are signed up to Ofcom compensation scheme.
Speed is no where near as fast as they quote.
I've spent literally hours on the phone with them, have been cut off several times.
Useless, hopeless, pathetic service and terrible, terrible customer service.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Sh*t customer service!
 · 5 months ago
Review
Took £108 out of my account as they made out I cancelled my broadband! I had not cancelled at all and continued to pay my direct debit every month on time, absolutely appalling!
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Terrible
 · 5 months ago
Review
Sort your sh*t together TalkTalk! I can never have any internet connection with you! You’re f*king awful and everyone in TalkTalk needs to re-think their life and get sacked. It took you 3 weeks to give us a new Router when we knew we should’ve had a new one 3 minutes into the problem. Your customer service is terrible and no one can understand anything!

Me: ‘We done the checks 3 times over, we just want a new router’

TalkTalk: I’ll need to do some checks’

Morons!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Stay away from talk talk
 · 5 months ago
Review
Same old story... poor customer services- guarantee one thing in one online chat, say they can't deliver that guarantee in the next online chat - I've now been told an engineer will be coming on weds under the guarantee that they will come after 4.30.pm, then told can't guarantee a time and I'll be charged £65 if i miss the appointment. Have screenshot the guarantee chat convo as evidence when taken to the small claims court....started chat as I'm only getting 60% of "guaranteed" minimum 35mbps. Should i pay 60% of contract price??? Soon after that my internet went off...been off for 5 hours so far. asked them to run diagnostic, they refused as an engineer is coming on weds...it is now the sunday prior. They take the rip as, having done nothing to help, they then have the nerve to as if there's anything else they can help you with... Was told if they can't fix it in 30 days i can cancel contract with no fee...NO. I WANT THEM TO HONOUR THEIR CONTRACT!!! I'm surprised they are still in business...surely Ofcom have something to say about this...my dialup was more reliable. STAY AWAY FROM TALK TALK
. ( or "Lie Lie" as they should be known )
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Sandra 5 months ago
    And another thing Talk Talk like to do is sneak in new charges whilst you are in a contract without telling you. I always check my account on line for this & saw today that they are now charging 2p to access voicemail 1571. Rang them straight away for the usual half to one hour talk to sort it out - no they can't sort it out but I could pay an extra pound a month to cover this charge! Whaaaat! They say they brought in this charge in August (I was already in a contract with them) but failed to notify me. They always say they send emails out informing customers. I have never received one.
    To break my contract now will cost me £131.19 they tell me. Shall be looking for a new provider nearer the end on the contract.
    Absolutely appalling customer service. I don't know how they get away with it.
    Sandra, Suffolk

Find the best TalkTalk Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best TalkTalk Broadband deals

 
 

Talk Talk Features

TalkTalk broadband options

Option 1 - Unlimited Broadband

This is TalkTalk's basic broadband option and is provided via a copper ADSL phone line. The speed of your connection will depend on the distance between your home and the phone exchange. TalkTalk will give you an estimated connection speed when you sign up. At least 50% of TalkTalk customers who choose this package achieve a connection speed of 11Mbps during peak times. This package is usually adequate for basic TV streaming and browsing the internet.

Option 2 - Unlimited Faster Fibre

The average download speed of this package is 38Mbps, over 3x faster than standard broadband! This package is perfect for homes with multiple devices streaming TV, playing online games and downloading large files at the same time.

Option 3 - Unlimited Superfast Fibre

Over 6x faster than standard broadband, TalkTalk Superfast Fibre has an average download speed of 67Mbps. It comes with the new, award-winning Wi-Fi Hub to offer you the best Wi-Fi signal around your home. This package is perfect if you want to stream Ultra HD movies without buffering, even when multiple users are online.

Can I use my own router with TalkTalk

Absolutely! If your tech savvy and want to use your own router you should have no problems connecting it to TalkTalk Broadband. The settings vary depending on the connection type, ADSL & Fibre. If you're using a non-TalkTalk router with TalkTalk's TV service, you'll need to configure IGMP for it to work correctly. IGMP is the data that your TalkTalk TV box uses to enable Internet channels, not all routers can support this. For the less adventurous customer don't worry the free WiFi router (worth over £120) supplied with TalkTalk Fibre broadband is an award winning bit of kit!

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Talk Talk

Talk Talk Pro's

  • No mid-contract price rises
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'The New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with Superfast Fibre broadband. The new TalkTalk router incorporates multiple antenna arrays to help maximise signal strength. It's basically a router that's worth having!

Talk Talk Con's

  • Minimum 18 month contract
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Above industry average Ofcom complaints for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2019)

30 Day Great Connection Guarantee

All internet service providers have to offer customers a cooling off period, this is normally about two weeks. However, they then advise you that your broadband speed will take up to two weeks to stabilise, after which you are locked into your contract. The 30 day great connection guarantee is a confident offer from TalkTalk. Here's how it works...

The 30-day guarantee applies to fibre connections only, fibre broadband customers are free to leave without any termination penalties if they're unhappy with their broadband connection within the first 30 days of being connected. All they need to do is call TalkTalk to cancel their contract within the first 30 days. They will then be sent a pre-paid bag to return TalkTalk's equipment. Once TalkTalk receive their equipment, a pro-rata refund is issued for any days the customer has not used the service. Set-up fees and delivery charges are non-refundable.

The 30 day great connection guarantee applies to all services purchased within a bundle from TalkTalk: For example, if a broadband customer has signed up for other services, like TalkTalk TV, then a termination of that service will be included within the guarantee.

Do I need Fibre broadband to watch TalkTalk TV?

To stream TalkTalk TV or other similar online TV services like Netflix & BBC iPlayer it’s advisable to have at least 3Mbps. This would be adequate to stream a Standard definition (SD) program. To stream TV in high definition (HD) it’s recommended you have a 5Mbps connection. To stream 4K TV ultra high-definition smoothly you’ll need to have a minimum speed of 25Mbps. It’s important to remember that your broadband connection speed is shared with other internet connected devices. So, streaming TV on two devices and a third device browsing the internet are going to need a combined broadband connection of at least 11Mbps. Remember broadband connection speeds can fluctuate during peak hours (8pm to 10pm). If you have multiple devices wanting to stream TV then a Fibre broadband package will give you the best experience. Use our broadband speed tester to check your download speed.

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.