TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk 38Mb Faster Fibre £22.95 per month
Including line rental

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

891 TalkTalk broadband reviews

1.0
891 TalkTalk broadband reviews
Post review
  • 9
  • 6
  • 15
  • 85
  • 776
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Useless beyond belief
TalkTalk broadband review by Mike Goodall 7 hours ago
Review
I will not expand on why I have tried to give zero stars, the reasons are already posted on here many times. If you’re considering Talktalk, before you sign up, try to contact them by email, or phone, but give yourself at least half an hour before you make progress, and don’t expect much progress.
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Massive Mishandling of a Line Move for Business
TalkTalk broadband review by Jayne 8 days ago
Review
I would give NO STARS if that were possible! I called to move my business line: having had to give up my previous premises because of COVID-19, I am having to start again in a new premises. At the end of the call I was under the impression that everything was ok, that my business line would be moved to my new premises and all would be well. Silly me! The operator had arranged for the line to be disconnected and moved back to my previous business address! I called and spent two hours on the phone trying to sort this. Various operators all telling me different things, one suggesting I could never keep my number unless I took VOIP, people failing to call back when they said they would because of appalling delay on the line making conversation impossible. I eventually got through to a lady who said she couldn’t understand why I’d had all the problems and been given so much misinformation, she would sort it she said: Transfer line from old premises to new premises and keep my number I brought to TalkTalk with me when I switched from BT in 2014. She even went away and checked everything. She said It was all done, line would be moved from old address to new and phone number would come too, and that “someone will be in touch to let you know about connecting the line but it might be as much as 40 days because of Covid”. I was ok with that as the line could be diverted to my mobile. Next thing I get is an email saying my account is now closed and TalkTalk are sorry to lose me! Emailed to find out what on earth was going on, as I clearly can’t get anyone who knows what they’re doing over the phone and I frankly didn’t want to go through the whole thing again when they don’t listen anyway. Two replies asking stupid questions about email addresses. When I was clearly making a complaint, I would have expected a call from someone sensible and with some kind of authority to sort this out! Chased for an actual reply to my email.

Still nothing as of today. Used the Chat facility yesterday. Brendon tells me the line is cancelled, my account is closed and that apparently this is what I asked to happen! I said no, not at all, the only cancellation I requested was the move of the line back to my old address that the operator had eroneously organised after my first call! Why on earth would I want the line moved back to where I had brought it from??? You asked for it says Brendon. How completely ridiculous! Of course I didn’t ask for that! So now I have no phone or broadband in my business at all and it seems I have lost my 13 year old phone number! Brendon then said “the easiest thing to do it’s start a new contract now”. Is this a joke? Seriously? You can’t handle a line transfer and have left me with no means of my clients contacting me, At a time when I have been unable to open for four months and have struggled to pay for the damn phone and broadband that I haven’t even been using!!! You have taken £51 out of my account this week! I asked for an email or number of a supervisor or manager. Brendon just gave me the regular “customer service” (cough) number. Absolutely appalling service! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Use at your own risk
TalkTalk broadband review by Adam 17 days ago
Review
My services were disconnected on 16/07/20 due to non payment. However after contacting the bank I was told that no such payments had been attempted. After asking why I had not been informed about this before the amount reached over £335 I was shouted down and told that it was my fault. I then asked to set up a payment arrangement and reconnect my services and was told that this would be possible but they would still attempt to take the full £335 again tomorrow and if they're unable to then my services would again be cut off. I asked why and was told because I would then be in default of the payment arrangement????? This is ridiculous as the payment arrangement would have nothing to do with the original £335. I asked when my contract ends and I was told September so I made it clear that I would be cancelling at the end of my contract. When asked why I stated because if this incident and the fact that the signal drops all the time.
Previously I was told I would receive a new upgraded TV box due to mine not working, I was sent the exact same type of box. Offered absolutely no help what so ever.
Genuinely the worst supplier I have ever had the misfortune of using.
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
TalkTalk are appalling
TalkTalk broadband review by Gavin Higginbottom 26 days ago
Review
These people are unbelievably incompetent and arrogant. After we cancelled our contract with them, within the cooling-off period, they put a "cease" on the line they hadn't even connected to us for the next three weeks, preventing our new provider from taking it over. They refused to remove this and when I complained they told me to contact our previous provider, which we do not have as we just moved into this flat. I am disgusted with the appalling level of service provided by this company and wouldn't recommend them to anyone, even if they paid me. it looks like I am going to have to pay to have a new line installed and then make a claim against them for their unreasonable behaviour through CISAS. They are a nightmare.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
TalkTalk Business AVOID AVOID AVOID
TalkTalk broadband review by NEILF 1 month ago
Review
TalkTalk Business installed a business line in my new premises. During the transfer of my existing phone number they messed it up resulting in all my lines and net access being cut off. They said a week to restore it!!!! This is talktalk mistake but I am picking up the full cost that could potentially run into tens of thousands of pounds. No phones, no email, no SIP trunks! In the middle of a global pandemic as if business isnt already hard enough! I was promised a call back within 8hrs (i kid you not!) from a “manager” to discuss my query, and guess what....they never called me back. DO NOT take any service with talk talk. You will be read pre scripted lines at customer service. You will here “i understand” and “im sorry” dozens of times which in itself is extremely frustrating because believe me they have zero understanding of the dire consequences for a small business for this to happen! They will do absolutely nothing to help you out of a situation they have caused. Avoid like the plague and go with a telco who will move heaven and earth to fix a situation they created and understand this type of mistake can sink a business very quickly.
  • Package price
    4.0/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
About Talk Talk
TalkTalk broadband review by Salvador 1 month ago
Review
I have superfibre 64MB service. Best speed i can get is 42 sometimes 44MB, I'm very upset about it and i would like to switch. But after reading about all the problems that others have, i really don't know if it's worth doing.
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    2.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    2.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Ok
TalkTalk broadband review by Winner 1 month ago
Review
So I got broadband and tv faster fibre.
They never increased the internet price for the first 2 months was perfect. Then it started jumping sometimes it's like 36 what it's meant to be but sometimes it's like 1 and when playing Fortnite sometimes the ping goes from 8 to 300 but definitely better than my old fast broadband sky. That would have got a half star review from me. It was slow, they always increase the price so. Talktalk is ok. And better than sky.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    3.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    2.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    3.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Happy so far
TalkTalk broadband review by JAMES 2 months ago
Review
Changed over from BT last month. Change over day went smooth, without bb for a few hours which is understandable as change over happening, went live around 3.30pm. Speeds seem equal to that of BT and are around the estimated ones given. Router slightly bigger compared to sleek BT one and made by Huawei. Changed only due to price and BT could not or would not match it. Looked at Sky also who where very close second on price and features. Speed roughly the same as all. My advise to all.... Look at estimated speeds and compare price. Research what you are buying and entitled too also look at cooling off periods don't just believe something you think to be true check. Most companies you only pay for hard wire connection not WiFi as it can't be guaranteed. Sky and BT are moving to WiFi guarantee but this comes with extra cost. I won't be giving a rating for customer service as not had to call yet, but all emails and packages arrived and full info in them. Hope this helps some people.
  • Package price
    4.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    5.0/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    James 1 month ago
    Update.... Had to contact customer services as Bill seemed incorrect.... Agent couldn't access account due to me not passing security... Gave all correct info. In end was asked to log into account online and check and call ended. Logged in to account all details as given.... Worked out billing issue myself. So it seems customer service at moment would not score as high as other areas did. Agent was polite... Will give her that.
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

TalkTalk - Faster Fibre

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£22.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £275.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Fast Broadband

Standard Broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£22.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £275.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Faster Fibre

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£23.5
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £282
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Superfast Fibre

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£25.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £311.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Superfast Fibre

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£26
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £312
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Faster 150 Fibre

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£28
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £336
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Fast Broadband + Entertainment Boost

Standard Broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£34.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £455.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Faster Fibre + Entertainment Boost

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£35.5
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £462
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Superfast Fibre + Entertainment Boost

Fibre Broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Offer Monthly cost
£38
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £492
Show cost details

Talk Talk Features

TalkTalk broadband options

Option 1 - Unlimited Broadband

This is TalkTalk's basic broadband option and is provided via a copper ADSL phone line. The speed of your connection will depend on the distance between your home and the phone exchange. TalkTalk will give you an estimated connection speed when you sign up. At least 50% of TalkTalk customers who choose this package achieve a connection speed of 11Mbps during peak times. This package is usually adequate for basic TV streaming and browsing the internet.

Option 2 - Unlimited Faster Fibre

The average download speed of this package is 38Mbps, over 3x faster than standard broadband! This package is perfect for homes with multiple devices streaming TV, playing online games and downloading large files at the same time.

Option 3 - Unlimited Superfast Fibre

Over 6x faster than standard broadband, TalkTalk Superfast Fibre has an average download speed of 67Mbps. It comes with the new, award-winning Wi-Fi Hub to offer you the best Wi-Fi signal around your home. This package is perfect if you want to stream Ultra HD movies without buffering, even when multiple users are online.

Can I use my own router with TalkTalk

Absolutely! If your tech savvy and want to use your own router you should have no problems connecting it to TalkTalk Broadband. The settings vary depending on the connection type, ADSL & Fibre. If you're using a non-TalkTalk router with TalkTalk's TV service, you'll need to configure IGMP for it to work correctly. IGMP is the data that your TalkTalk TV box uses to enable Internet channels, not all routers can support this. For the less adventurous customer don't worry the free WiFi router (worth over £120) supplied with TalkTalk Fibre broadband is an award winning bit of kit!

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Talk Talk

Talk Talk Pro's

  • No mid-contract price rises
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'The New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with Superfast Fibre broadband. The new TalkTalk router incorporates multiple antenna arrays to help maximise signal strength. It's basically a router that's worth having!

Talk Talk Con's

  • Minimum 18 month contract
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Above industry average Ofcom complaints for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2019)

30 Day Great Connection Guarantee

All internet service providers have to offer customers a cooling off period, this is normally about two weeks. However, they then advise you that your broadband speed will take up to two weeks to stabilise, after which you are locked into your contract. The 30 day great connection guarantee is a confident offer from TalkTalk. Here's how it works...

The 30-day guarantee applies to fibre connections only, fibre broadband customers are free to leave without any termination penalties if they're unhappy with their broadband connection within the first 30 days of being connected. All they need to do is call TalkTalk to cancel their contract within the first 30 days. They will then be sent a pre-paid bag to return TalkTalk's equipment. Once TalkTalk receive their equipment, a pro-rata refund is issued for any days the customer has not used the service. Set-up fees and delivery charges are non-refundable.

The 30 day great connection guarantee applies to all services purchased within a bundle from TalkTalk: For example, if a broadband customer has signed up for other services, like TalkTalk TV, then a termination of that service will be included within the guarantee.

Do I need Fibre broadband to watch TalkTalk TV?

To stream TalkTalk TV or other similar online TV services like Netflix & BBC iPlayer it’s advisable to have at least 3Mbps. This would be adequate to stream a Standard definition (SD) program. To stream TV in high definition (HD) it’s recommended you have a 5Mbps connection. To stream 4K TV ultra high-definition smoothly you’ll need to have a minimum speed of 25Mbps. It’s important to remember that your broadband connection speed is shared with other internet connected devices. So, streaming TV on two devices and a third device browsing the internet are going to need a combined broadband connection of at least 11Mbps. Remember broadband connection speeds can fluctuate during peak hours (8pm to 10pm). If you have multiple devices wanting to stream TV then a Fibre broadband package will give you the best experience. Use our broadband speed tester to check your download speed.

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.