TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk Superfast fibre broadband + TalkTalk TV £25.95
Free Gift: Amazon Prime free for a year

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

823 TalkTalk broadband reviews

1.0
823 customer reviews
Post review
  • 8
  • 6
  • 14
  • 71
  • 694
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.7/5
BROADBAND
 · 3 hours ago
Review
Moved in to new house in 18/07/2019 told number would be transferred moved in no phone for two weeks and should have had fast broadband still not sorted (all you get are false promises and lies not happy).
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Talktalk - Avoid like the plague
 · 1 month ago
Review
Absolutely appalling service - Took over a week, and numerous phone calls, emails and messages to secure a router. Information provided by customer service was misleading and inaccurate. Lodged a complaint and Talktalk expected me to ring them to resolve it! Deeply regret having chosen them.
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Please read BEFORE choosing TalkTalk
 · 1 month ago
Review
I do not normally leave bad reviews for any service.

TalkTalk will be one of the first.
I took out a contract in September 2018 at £24 a month.
The internet connection was reliable and average speed for the first two weeks. It went downhill from there, getting slower and connection issues occurring regularly.
I’m talking about 0.5Mbps - and it wasn’t a constant, there were periods it dropped. The ping was awful 500ms+ at times.

Tried many times to have them diagnose an issues - was simply passed around when one test/check did not work.
Long story short - haven’t used TalkTalk for 9 months out of the 12 month contract - it was faster tethering my phone to my laptop to watch Netflix.

Then tried to cancel before my bill went up to £36 a month. They messed around with ‘Maintenance ongoing’ while I was trying to cancel my account.
Now I have been charged £36 and it will take 28 days to leave on something I have not signed up for (meaning a further £36 charge).
Will absolutely be taking this as far as I can, it’s a very unfair business practice.

Ignore the half star, they’re just the lowest rating possible.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE OF A COMPANY.
 · 1 month ago
Review
I ordered superfast broadband on the 3rd of Sept, 6 weeks later and it's still not up and running, I've actually lost count how many times I've called them to sort this out and still my mbps is sitting at 7.now they're sending an engineer out tomorrow, fkn joke ,the stress and hrs dealing with them Beggars belief, I'm changing provider tomorrow, STAY WELL CLEAR ,my advice.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
1 star is generous
 · 1 month ago
Review
I have had the worst experience with TalkTalk I could imagine.

From being told different things by 3 people including the call centre manager, being given £100 Bill's that I was never told i would receive when I cancelled my package, plus an additional £20 for service that I was never told I told receive.

Every person in that call centre, once again, even the manager was extremely unhelpful and wasn't willing to listen.

The agent told me the same thing over and over for 25 minutes, plus had me on hold for 20 just to come back and tell me the same thing again.

I would rather play word searches in the daily newspaper than have TalkTalk internet.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Gerry Clark 1 month ago
    FKN DISTRESSING, INCOMPETENT, can't understand they're language most of the time ,the waiting time is beyond a joke. I hate them with a passion.
  • Karen Wilkes 1 month ago
    Report your issues to OFCOM.
    0300 123 3333, there you can make a complaint and they will advise you of your rights.
Do not touch with a barge pole
 · 1 month ago
Review
I simply do not even know where to start - poor service is little of the worried there customer care team seem to be all a bunch of idiots reading from a script , cannot read are not helpful in anyway ! I’ve had two complains over speeds and billing and I’ve had to sort out myself ! Currently reporting them to ofcom and would advise everyone else to do whose had w issue because dealing with talk talk is like banging head up against a brick wall constantly
  • Package price
    4.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Absolute TomFullery
 · 1 month ago
Review
Never have I ever in my Born days with stood so much f*ckn about, these blithering Buck Daft squirees have cancelled my Order not once but Twice, yes that is twice they’ve cancelled my order. I have been sat in my New Flat waiting 2 weeks at a time for my broadband box to be sent out to me and they’ve took it upon themselves to randomly cancel my order! This is not the professional service you would think that Talk Talk provide But Buck me Threw it happend. I have spent hours on end on the phone with them trying to resolve this issue but frankly I’ve got more sense coming from a Fermented Grapefruit. I strongly say to use all that you seek internet connection else where I wouldn’t wish what I’ve battled threw upon anyone. They’ve Bewildered me I am on tethers end with them I shan’t be continuing on my journey with talk talk I Will go elsewhere in search of internet. I’ve now been waiting near A Month for Internet and they just keep cancelling and giving me pathetic excuses for it! I’ve a Bleeedin well Que of Netflix to watch and it’s building up an building up, Sky will be rang and Proper Order will follow.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
always down
 · 1 month ago
Review
Lose connection several times a day
  • Package price
    4.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Awful
 · 1 month ago
Review
awful
inconsistent connection internet would drop out at least once per week, poor customer service, unable to tell me before cancelling what charges i would be incurring
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
No broadband
 · 1 month ago
Review
Should have been online by midnight, next day still no broadband will not communicate to let me know why, still waiting, should have read these reviews before I ordered, I've only just changed so I'm going to cancel and go to Virgin.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful

Find the best TalkTalk Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best TalkTalk Broadband deals

 
 

Talk Talk Features

How do I switch my broadband to Talk Talk?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Talk Talk broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Talk Talk. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Talk Talk and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Talk Talk broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Talk Talk broadband calculator above to see which Talk Talk broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Talk Talk?

From the moment you order your new Talk Talk broadband online to the date of installation can be as little as 15 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 15 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Talk Talk

Talk Talk Pro's

  • Fixed price for contract length
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with fibre broadband

Talk Talk Con's

  • Slower switching estimates
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Top the Ofcom complaints league for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Talk Talk and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Talk Talk broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Talk Talk broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Talk Talk). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.