TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

Is TalkTalk Broadband any good?

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

TalkTalk - Fast Broadband

Standard broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£22.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 275.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Faster Fibre

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£24
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 288
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Superfast Fibre

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£24
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 288
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Faster Fibre

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£24
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 288
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Superfast Fibre

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£24
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 288
Show cost details

TalkTalk - Faster 150 Fibre

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
145Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£32
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 384
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Fast Broadband + Entertainment Boost

Standard broadband
Average speed*
11Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£38.95
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 467.4
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Faster Fibre + Entertainment Boost

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
38Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£40
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 480
Show cost details

TalkTalk - TV Plus with Superfast Fibre + Entertainment Boost

Fibre broadband
Average speed*
67Mb
Broadband Deal Monthly cost
£40
18 month contract Setup cost £0
Total first year cost £ 480
Show cost details

Talk Talk Features

TalkTalk broadband options

Option 1 - Unlimited Broadband

This is TalkTalk's basic broadband option and is provided via a copper ADSL phone line. The speed of your connection will depend on the distance between your home and the phone exchange. TalkTalk will give you an estimated connection speed when you sign up. At least 50% of TalkTalk customers who choose this package achieve a connection speed of 11Mbps during peak times. This package is usually adequate for basic TV streaming and browsing the internet.

Option 2 - Unlimited Faster Fibre

The average download speed of this package is 38Mbps, over 3x faster than standard broadband! This package is perfect for homes with multiple devices streaming TV, playing online games and downloading large files at the same time.

Option 3 - Unlimited Superfast Fibre

Over 6x faster than standard broadband, TalkTalk Superfast Fibre has an average download speed of 67Mbps. It comes with the new, award-winning Wi-Fi Hub to offer you the best Wi-Fi signal around your home. This package is perfect if you want to stream Ultra HD movies without buffering, even when multiple users are online.

Can I use my own router with TalkTalk

Absolutely! If your tech savvy and want to use your own router you should have no problems connecting it to TalkTalk Broadband. The settings vary depending on the connection type, ADSL & Fibre. If you're using a non-TalkTalk router with TalkTalk's TV service, you'll need to configure IGMP for it to work correctly. IGMP is the data that your TalkTalk TV box uses to enable Internet channels, not all routers can support this. For the less adventurous customer don't worry the free WiFi router (worth over £120) supplied with TalkTalk Fibre broadband is an award winning bit of kit!

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pros & Cons

Key features for Talk Talk packages

Talk Talk Pros

  • No mid-contract price rises
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'The New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with Superfast Fibre broadband. The new TalkTalk router incorporates multiple antenna arrays to help maximise signal strength. It's basically a router that's worth having!

Talk Talk Cons

  • Minimum 18 month contract
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Above industry average Ofcom complaints for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2019)

30 Day Great Connection Guarantee

All internet service providers have to offer customers a cooling off period, this is normally about two weeks. However, they then advise you that your broadband speed will take up to two weeks to stabilise, after which you are locked into your contract. The 30 day great connection guarantee is a confident offer from TalkTalk. Here's how it works...

The 30-day guarantee applies to fibre connections only, fibre broadband customers are free to leave without any termination penalties if they're unhappy with their broadband connection within the first 30 days of being connected. All they need to do is call TalkTalk to cancel their contract within the first 30 days. They will then be sent a pre-paid bag to return TalkTalk's equipment. Once TalkTalk receive their equipment, a pro-rata refund is issued for any days the customer has not used the service. Set-up fees and delivery charges are non-refundable.

The 30 day great connection guarantee applies to all services purchased within a bundle from TalkTalk: For example, if a broadband customer has signed up for other services, like TalkTalk TV, then a termination of that service will be included within the guarantee.

Do I need Fibre broadband to watch TalkTalk TV?

To stream TalkTalk TV or other similar online TV services like Netflix & BBC iPlayer it’s advisable to have at least 3Mbps. This would be adequate to stream a Standard definition (SD) program. To stream TV in high definition (HD) it’s recommended you have a 5Mbps connection. To stream 4K TV ultra high-definition smoothly you’ll need to have a minimum speed of 25Mbps. It’s important to remember that your broadband connection speed is shared with other internet connected devices. So, streaming TV on two devices and a third device browsing the internet are going to need a combined broadband connection of at least 11Mbps. Remember broadband connection speeds can fluctuate during peak hours (8pm to 10pm). If you have multiple devices wanting to stream TV then a Fibre broadband package will give you the best experience. Use our broadband speed tester to check your download speed.

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. To get TalkTalk broadband without a phone line you would need to order FTTP (Fibre to the Premises) 'TalkTalk Future Fibre' or 'Ultra Fibre Optic'.

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

896 TalkTalk broadband reviews

1.0
896 TalkTalk broadband reviews
Post review
  • 9
  • 6
  • 15
  • 86
  • 780
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.8/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Regularly says “server stopped responding
TalkTalk broadband review by Avril 6 days ago
Review
Can hardly ever get an internet connection. Regularly says “the server stopped responding”. Have reset EVERYTHING time and time again but it just keeps happening. TalkTalk just can’t be bothered to listen to you. Just someone that barely speaks English tell you to do all the things you have already done numerous times. Don’t even consider signing up with this company, there is no way to get any satisfaction from them.
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Rubbish internet speed, no internet in any other room and they questioned my gender! Worst customer service and internet ever... AVOID!!!!
TalkTalk broadband review by Dan67 11 days ago
Review
When I first moved to my partner’s home, he’d already been with TalkTalk for 6 months. As he works away, he very rarely used the internet aside from in his office where the modem is. When I moved in, we converted a room upstairs to an office. We live in a 2 bed terrace house for context.
I’d already noted that the internet is very slow and cuts out constantly throughout the day - it takes almost 5 mins to buffer Netflix in the room next door.
When I discovered I couldn’t connect to the internet upstairs, I’d had enough and called TalkTalk to request a booster. The guy on the phone could barely understand me when I was being very clear - we pay to have internet around the house and we only get it in one room, we need a booster. After attempting to charge me £40 for a booster, I requested a manager (no judgements please) who said that they would provide one for free. Great!
Roll on a week later, they’d sent the wrong item as it requires a Ethernet cable upstairs, I’m fine about this as mistakes are made so I call again. This time I’m met with a guy who asks me to confirm I’m the account holder to which I reply yes and I confirm my details and password. He again asks me to confirm this to which I do and he then says “you sound like a girl and Dan’s a man’s name”. RUDE.. I just have a slightly more feminine voice! I brushed this off but was extremely annoyed as why does this matter? Anyway, he then spends 15 mins trying to figure out what I’m saying and I explain there’s a difference between their products (a network connector IS different to a booster). Eventually he gets it and then has to speak to a manager for another 10 minutes as there’s a price difference. Once he returns he said I need to send the network connector back before they can looks at sending the booster. Annoyed and exhausted from being on the phone so long repeating myself, I agree. So now I’m still left with no internet outside the room the modem is and I have to call them up again.
Save yourself the hassle and go with someone else if your house is bigger than one room.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Awful service
TalkTalk broadband review by Aruna 13 days ago
Review
Pathetic service though reasonable prices.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Sam
TalkTalk broadband review by Sam 14 days ago
Review
Worst internet ever. No proper network at all. Keeps buffering for hours after every 2-3 hours. Do not recommend to any one
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
awful
TalkTalk broadband review by seamus 26 days ago
Review
Speed so inconsistent, love to change but they all seem to be c- -p
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Useless beyond belief
TalkTalk broadband review by Mike Goodall 1 month ago
Review
I will not expand on why I have tried to give zero stars, the reasons are already posted on here many times. If you’re considering Talktalk, before you sign up, try to contact them by email, or phone, but give yourself at least half an hour before you make progress, and don’t expect much progress.
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    3.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Massive Mishandling of a Line Move for Business
TalkTalk broadband review by Jayne 1 month ago
Review
I would give NO STARS if that were possible! I called to move my business line: having had to give up my previous premises because of COVID-19, I am having to start again in a new premises. At the end of the call I was under the impression that everything was ok, that my business line would be moved to my new premises and all would be well. Silly me! The operator had arranged for the line to be disconnected and moved back to my previous business address! I called and spent two hours on the phone trying to sort this. Various operators all telling me different things, one suggesting I could never keep my number unless I took VOIP, people failing to call back when they said they would because of appalling delay on the line making conversation impossible. I eventually got through to a lady who said she couldn’t understand why I’d had all the problems and been given so much misinformation, she would sort it she said: Transfer line from old premises to new premises and keep my number I brought to TalkTalk with me when I switched from BT in 2014. She even went away and checked everything. She said It was all done, line would be moved from old address to new and phone number would come too, and that “someone will be in touch to let you know about connecting the line but it might be as much as 40 days because of Covid”. I was ok with that as the line could be diverted to my mobile. Next thing I get is an email saying my account is now closed and TalkTalk are sorry to lose me! Emailed to find out what on earth was going on, as I clearly can’t get anyone who knows what they’re doing over the phone and I frankly didn’t want to go through the whole thing again when they don’t listen anyway. Two replies asking stupid questions about email addresses. When I was clearly making a complaint, I would have expected a call from someone sensible and with some kind of authority to sort this out! Chased for an actual reply to my email.

Still nothing as of today. Used the Chat facility yesterday. Brendon tells me the line is cancelled, my account is closed and that apparently this is what I asked to happen! I said no, not at all, the only cancellation I requested was the move of the line back to my old address that the operator had eroneously organised after my first call! Why on earth would I want the line moved back to where I had brought it from??? You asked for it says Brendon. How completely ridiculous! Of course I didn’t ask for that! So now I have no phone or broadband in my business at all and it seems I have lost my 13 year old phone number! Brendon then said “the easiest thing to do it’s start a new contract now”. Is this a joke? Seriously? You can’t handle a line transfer and have left me with no means of my clients contacting me, At a time when I have been unable to open for four months and have struggled to pay for the damn phone and broadband that I haven’t even been using!!! You have taken £51 out of my account this week! I asked for an email or number of a supervisor or manager. Brendon just gave me the regular “customer service” (cough) number. Absolutely appalling service! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
  • Package price
    1.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Use at your own risk
TalkTalk broadband review by Adam 2 months ago
Review
My services were disconnected on 16/07/20 due to non payment. However after contacting the bank I was told that no such payments had been attempted. After asking why I had not been informed about this before the amount reached over £335 I was shouted down and told that it was my fault. I then asked to set up a payment arrangement and reconnect my services and was told that this would be possible but they would still attempt to take the full £335 again tomorrow and if they're unable to then my services would again be cut off. I asked why and was told because I would then be in default of the payment arrangement????? This is ridiculous as the payment arrangement would have nothing to do with the original £335. I asked when my contract ends and I was told September so I made it clear that I would be cancelling at the end of my contract. When asked why I stated because if this incident and the fact that the signal drops all the time.
Previously I was told I would receive a new upgraded TV box due to mine not working, I was sent the exact same type of box. Offered absolutely no help what so ever.
Genuinely the worst supplier I have ever had the misfortune of using.
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions