Post Office Broadband

Post office broadband from £15.90 including line rentalCompare Post Office Broadband deals

Post Office Broadband Offer £15.90 per month

Post Office Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Post Office broadband reviews.

572 Post Office broadband reviews

1.1
572 customer reviews
Post review
  • 16
  • 9
  • 13
  • 53
  • 459
  • Package price
    1.8/5
  • Customer service
    1.3/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
NEVER HAD SUCH TERRIBLE TERRIBLE BROADBAND SINCE DIAL UP MODEM
 · 6 days ago
Review
On this assessment they assessed the spread as 6 - 11 mb, at the moment I am getting .05 mb. Going to phone and cancel , then going to refer them to trading standards, then I am going to take legal advice.........
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Rubbish
 · 1 month ago
Review
Engineer failed to show for first installation, had to call 3 times to rebook. Failed to attend again 2nd time with no explanation given. Now no internet after taking 2 days off work. Post Office best avoided for new customers as clearly not interested in new business.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Beyond awful
 · 1 month ago
Review
Wish I had read the reviews on here. Changed from BT, who were providing decent service. Promised speed of 20Mbps and get only 2-3! Connection is none existent and keeps dropping. Avoid at all costs!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Worst WiFi in the UK, maybe the world. Don't get it!!!
 · 1 month ago
Review
Post office WiFi is the worst. It never works and when it does its so slow that nothing loads and only one person at a time can be using it otherwise it doesn't work. Had BT before but wanted a cheaper option and this was the worst choice I made!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Terrible customer service
 · 1 month ago
Review
Never use PO broadband. After months of slow or non existent speeds, called up for engineer to come out. On both occasions they came at times when I was out and despite me ringing back promptly was told the job was no longer theirs. Attitude of post office was tough luck, nothing we can do about it.
Do yourself a favour and don't bother
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Terrible quality and unreliable
 · 1 month ago
Review
For the past week or so my WiFi has been averaging 9mbs. And also at one point it reached 1mbs, it's crazy. I can't watch a video for more than 30 seconds without it pausing. I can't use a phone and a ps4 at the same time or else it will crash. It'll be a severe mistake to use this WiFi.
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
The worst company I have dealt with in recent memory
 · 1 month ago
Review
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!
I must say that as both a service provider and customer support you are simply the worst I have encountered in several years.The internet was replacing BT whom we received no issues whatsoever but we were looking for a cheaper deal.1. You assured me when agreeing to the contract that the internet speed would be the same and you prided.2. As agreed the router arrived and was switched on as agreed.3. The internet speed was initially very slow and has remained so. The TV using i Player only works intermittently.4. I called twice and was simply cut off.5. I called again on 01/10/2019 and eventually I was found, then told I find what you are saying hard to believe and eventually booked '3 slots', why you need three I don't understand for Thursday 3rd am/pm and Friday am.Having taken time off work I called again today at 15.00 to be told my account wasn't there. Despite being told by your operator that my account had been found and changed.To date, I am still paying the account, have an incredibly poor service, have taken three half days off work and still have an internet service that is unusable and not fit for purpose.Today's phone call with George was reassuring and she listened to my complaint and dealt with it very well and she's a credit to you but the call made at 16.55 on Tuesday clearly requires and investigation as these members of staff will affect your business.I have now been assured of a call back but don't feel remotely confident that we'll ever have an acceptable service from the Post Office.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
4 people found the following review helpful
  • alastair hutchings 1 month ago
    Post Office, after several complaints both written and by telephone I did indeed receive a telephone call back from Post Office communications explaining that I certainly shouldn't have been told an engineer would call despite being told twice that one would. I was then told that several changes had been made to my supply and it should be 'much improved'. I missed a call today from Post Office communications but was unavailable. After arriving home and nothing loading via my home internet that was described as a 'typical download speed of 17-24' I decided to check again. The results are as follows; 1.11 Mbps download 0.69 Mbps upload latency 23ms server; London
    At this time I am still on hold waiting for yet another person to complain to.
    The company that sells itself on the back of the brand name 'Post Office' is;
    Extremely efficient at;
    Selling you the product advertising making cancellation impossible
    Extremely inefficient at;
    Providing any service providing what is advertised giving anything positive to the customer follow upInter department communication
    Anyway, after another five minutes I was finally returned with being told 'I'm sorry as a complaint is live no-one other than technical support can assist and once again on hold.
    Technical support are unavailable.
    I've now asked to be put through to cancellation and have now been on hold for some time.
    I suspect that I will eventually be cut off or told its the wrong department and be put back on hold, lets see.
    After another six minutes I'm still on hold.
    After another six minutes an answer.
    I'm now through and have been told by Arif that due to my technical issues I can cancel with no charges for early cancellation ref; 146603510.
    I suspect that I'll receive a letter demanding fees and that they have no record of any Arif and the reference given doesn't exist.
    I'll certainly keep my review of the Post Office communications open and hopefully will at least be able to report that I was allowed to leave with no penalty as promised.
    Alastair Hutchings
  • Alastair 1 month ago
    Still no letter
    Still no engineer visit (four booked now)
    Still no phone call returned
    Still incredibly poor internet
  • Alastair Hutchings 1 month ago
    Surprisingly I received no phone call back
    The letter which I was told never arrived
    After the failure to attend the agreed appointments the engineer still hasn't made contact.
    I'm flabbergasted that the company is allowed to continue trading with the OFT being involved
Horrific.
 · 1 month ago
Review
Robbed. Cheated. Ignored. Don't get Post office. I warn you. DON'T.!!! They will make you suffer relentlessly and without remorse.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Alastair 1 month ago
    I wish I'd seen this review and all others before
Poor service
 · 1 month ago
Review
Called customer service to inform them that I wasn’t getting correct service still poor they told me there was nothing they could do.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
Unhelpful
 · 1 month ago
Review
Customer Service operator most unhelpful. Informed me he could not resolve my problem but would speak to his Supervisor. After 5 minutes came back to say his Supervisor (was too busy).
Extremely unhelpful and a total waste of time.
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful

Find the best Post Office Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best Post Office Broadband deals

 
 

Post Office Features

How do I switch my broadband to the Post Office?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to the Post Office broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by the Post Office. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both the Post Office and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Post Office broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Post Office broadband calculator above to see which Post Office broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Post Office broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to the Post Office?

From the moment you order your new Post Office broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 10 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 10 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Post Office review logo

Post Office Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Post Office

Post Office Pro's

  • Below industry average Ofcom complaints in 2019
  • Very competitively priced
  • Free caller display and voicemail

Post Office Con's

  • Cheap, basic router
  • No TV options
  • No customer forum

Can I get Post Office broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Post Office broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to the Post Office and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Post Office broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Post Office broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (the Post Office). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.