Post Office Broadband

Post Office Broadband

Post office broadband from £18.00
including line rental

Post Office Broadband from £18 per month

Post Office Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Post Office broadband reviews.

752 Post Office broadband reviews

1.1
752 Post Office broadband reviews
Post review
  • 18
  • 10
  • 27
  • 73
  • 622
  • Package price
    1.8/5
  • Customer service
    1.3/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
If it was possible to give negative stars I would
Post Office broadband review by M 6 days ago
Review
Terrible internet and if at all possible WORSE customer service! Unfortunately locked into a contract. Internet drops off all the time, virtually impossible to work from home, no help from customer service and they know you have a contract for 12months so treat you poorly.
  • Package price
    1.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Never again
Post Office broadband review by S 7 days ago
Review
The worst Internet provider ever
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
WORST BROADBAND
Post Office broadband review by BUDGIE67 26 days ago
Review
I am not technically minded but my broadband connection repeatedly dropped and I never had the problem with previous providers. When I started to use a tv streaming service I couldn't get through a programme without it dropping connection. I finally got round to complaining and 6 months later it wasn't any better, so cancelled. At that point I realised I was paying £40 a month and could get an upgraded service from Vodafone for almost half that. No brainer. Post office also changed my number when I requested it stay the same. My original complaint was answered by an e mail telling me to contact a different department. Not good customer service. They didn't contact me to try and resolve the issue or ask me why I was cancelling either. Guess they don't need the business. I'm just annoyed at myself for putting up with it so long. I read that some routers are just rubbish and that some services deliberately reduce speeds to encourage customers to upgrade. No idea if that's true but I chose to upgrade with a different and cheaper company.
  • Package price
    1/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    1/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Absolutely dreadful, avoid avoid avoid!
Post Office broadband review by Amanda 1 month ago
Review
Switched from Sky, worst decision ever. Really slow and kept dropping out. The website where you log in to your account is no help. I printed off my final bill today to pay at my local Post Office like it said on the bill, but because there is no barcode on it they couldn't process it! Again, referred to website, no option of paying bills apart from phoning the 0345 number. So frustrating! Please think very carefully before getting into a contract with Post Office Broadband. Thankfully my contract ended last month and I am now with BT. Much quicker and more reliable (at the moment anyway).
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    1/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
3 people found the following review helpful
Awful
Post Office broadband review by MW 1 month ago
Review
I have slow broadband where I live, that's not their fault.

However, when I swapped from another company, the speed plummeted from 14Mbps to 8Mbps as soon as it swapped. No matter how hard I tried to get them to look at why, they just kept coming up with excuses and politely refusing to do anything. They even refused to swap the modem/router.

PO broadband are by far the cheapest, there's a good reason why!!!!
  • Package price
    5.0/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
As good as my last provider but a lot cheaper
Post Office broadband review by Sally 2 months ago
Review
Despite my doubts I decided to switch to PO broadband. Pleasantly surprised no issues for me. Not had to contact customer service yet, but fingers crossed it keeps working okay. Working from home at the moment so i hope it does not let me down,
  • Package price
    5.0/5
  • Customer service
    3.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    4.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    4.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Authors avatar
    Verity 28 days ago
    CANNOT believe you haven't had to speak to customer services yet .....as soon as i got set up with it I couldn't use social media -TOTAL BLOCK ON IT!!!!
    So had to call customer services and they are VERY BAD AT DEALING WITH ISSUES/NO IDEA / LONG WAIT TIMES......THE LIST GOES ON!!!!!
    I WOULD NEVER,NEVER , EVER, EVER RECOMMEND THIS PROVIDER .( The network was put in place by Someone who NEVER did her research & now I will have to put up with/ terrible customer services/ terrible slow network for year until contract ends .......I DID my research and have sent her loads of reviews to read and she will be leaving to go back to sky )

    Also lots of hidden extras on the Bill- IF YOU USE THE HOUSE LINE TO RING OUT ON !!! Example: Calling local numbers/ calling mobiles..... YOU PAY" ADD ON`s" EACH MONTH - THIS PROVIDER DOESN'T TELL YOU ABOUT THIS WHEN YOU SIGN UP!!! I FOUND THIS OUT BY going to P.O account and informing the person who signed up for P.O ...........
    RESEARCH , RESEARCH............... ASK AROUND ..............
Do Not Use
Post Office broadband review by Steve 5 months ago
Review
Speed is real rubbish. Promised 1.9 to 4.9 in true terms I get 0.6 to 3.9 on a good day. They blame Openreach. Engineer comes out eventually replace large section of line, still the same. Why do I have to give 3 days when an engineer can come. Means time off work. Compensation offered a joke for all the hassle. Best advice I can give is don't use them.
  • Package price
    4.5/5
  • Customer service
    1.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Warning read reviews.
Post Office broadband review by Jan 6 months ago
Review
I would advise that you read reviews. I would also advise you to use another provider. I have broadband buffering, pausing, slow speed, variable speed and most evenings very poor speed. My average speed with Sky was between 30 to 50% faster with the variation on the post office broadband. Probably the worst decision I have taken in many years. I will cast my opinion far and wide in order to advise everyone.


  • Package price
    3.0/5
  • Customer service
    2.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    1.0/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Post Your Review
By clicking submit you agree to Fasterbroadbands Terms & Conditions

Today's Best Broadband Deals

Our broadband deals are often cheaper than going direct

Post Office Features

How do I switch my broadband to the Post Office?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to the Post Office broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by the Post Office. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both the Post Office and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Post Office broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Post Office broadband calculator above to see which Post Office broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Post Office broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

Post Office review logo

Post Office Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Post Office

Post Office Pro's

  • Below industry average Ofcom complaints in 2019
  • Very competitively priced
  • Free caller display and voicemail

Post Office Con's

  • Cheap, basic router
  • No TV options
  • No customer forum

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to the Post Office?

From the moment you order your new Post Office broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 10 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 10 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Can I get Post Office broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Post Office broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to the Post Office and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Post Office broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Post Office broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (the Post Office). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.