Post Office Broadband

Post office broadband from £15.90 including line rentalCompare Post Office Broadband deals

Post Office Broadband Offer £15.90 per month

Post Office Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Post Office broadband reviews.

570 Post Office broadband reviews

1.1
570 customer reviews
Post review
  • 16
  • 9
  • 13
  • 53
  • 457
  • Package price
    1.8/5
  • Customer service
    1.3/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.2/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.8/5
Beyond awful
 · 19 hours ago
Review
Wish I had read the reviews on here. Changed from BT, who were providing decent service. Promised speed of 20Mbps and get only 2-3! Connection is none existent and keeps dropping. Avoid at all costs!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Worst WiFi in the UK, maybe the world. Don't get it!!!
 · 3 days ago
Review
Post office WiFi is the worst. It never works and when it does its so slow that nothing loads and only one person at a time can be using it otherwise it doesn't work. Had BT before but wanted a cheaper option and this was the worst choice I made!
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Terrible customer service
 · 6 days ago
Review
Never use PO broadband. After months of slow or non existent speeds, called up for engineer to come out. On both occasions they came at times when I was out and despite me ringing back promptly was told the job was no longer theirs. Attitude of post office was tough luck, nothing we can do about it.
Do yourself a favour and don't bother
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
Terrible quality and unreliable
 · 6 days ago
Review
For the past week or so my WiFi has been averaging 9mbs. And also at one point it reached 1mbs, it's crazy. I can't watch a video for more than 30 seconds without it pausing. I can't use a phone and a ps4 at the same time or else it will crash. It'll be a severe mistake to use this WiFi.
  • Package price
    2.0/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
The worst company I have dealt with in recent memory
 · 12 days ago
Review
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!
I must say that as both a service provider and customer support you are simply the worst I have encountered in several years.The internet was replacing BT whom we received no issues whatsoever but we were looking for a cheaper deal.1. You assured me when agreeing to the contract that the internet speed would be the same and you prided.2. As agreed the router arrived and was switched on as agreed.3. The internet speed was initially very slow and has remained so. The TV using i Player only works intermittently.4. I called twice and was simply cut off.5. I called again on 01/10/2019 and eventually I was found, then told I find what you are saying hard to believe and eventually booked '3 slots', why you need three I don't understand for Thursday 3rd am/pm and Friday am.Having taken time off work I called again today at 15.00 to be told my account wasn't there. Despite being told by your operator that my account had been found and changed.To date, I am still paying the account, have an incredibly poor service, have taken three half days off work and still have an internet service that is unusable and not fit for purpose.Today's phone call with George was reassuring and she listened to my complaint and dealt with it very well and she's a credit to you but the call made at 16.55 on Tuesday clearly requires and investigation as these members of staff will affect your business.I have now been assured of a call back but don't feel remotely confident that we'll ever have an acceptable service from the Post Office.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
  • Alastair 7 days ago
    Still no letter
    Still no engineer visit (four booked now)
    Still no phone call returned
    Still incredibly poor internet
  • Alastair Hutchings 9 days ago
    Surprisingly I received no phone call back
    The letter which I was told never arrived
    After the failure to attend the agreed appointments the engineer still hasn't made contact.
    I'm flabbergasted that the company is allowed to continue trading with the OFT being involved
  • N Power 11 days ago
    More negatives than positives. So glad I read the reviews before deciding on a new isp.
Horrific.
 · 14 days ago
Review
Robbed. Cheated. Ignored. Don't get Post office. I warn you. DON'T.!!! They will make you suffer relentlessly and without remorse.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful
  • Alastair 12 days ago
    I wish I'd seen this review and all others before
Poor service
 · 16 days ago
Review
Called customer service to inform them that I wasn’t getting correct service still poor they told me there was nothing they could do.
  • Package price
    0.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Unhelpful
 · 16 days ago
Review
Customer Service operator most unhelpful. Informed me he could not resolve my problem but would speak to his Supervisor. After 5 minutes came back to say his Supervisor (was too busy).
Extremely unhelpful and a total waste of time.
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
1 people found the following review helpful
Useless
 · 22 days ago
Review
Took my money and told me that the connection might drop off for the 1st couple of weeks. It continued to drop off so I called to cancel my contract after around 3 - 4 weeks. They told me that the cooling off period was over and I would have to pay a large amount of money to free me from the contract. I explained that the connection had never been up to scratch and and so the service was not fit for purpose. They told me that was just tough, that I had to stick with them or pay up.
So basically, as far as I'm concerned, it's a SCAM.

STAY AWAY.
  • Package price
    2.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    1.0/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
2 people found the following review helpful
  • Dame harry 19 days ago
    Too late for me. Signed up a month ago desperate to change from sky. Terrible service even their speedcheck service couldn’t connect as internet just kept dropping. I feel cheated. I’ve signed away 18 months to have a dire service. I’m furious. It’s a disgusting service I wish I’d seen your comment sooner.
  • Chris 21 days ago
    Totally agree. As soon as I was connected up my printer stopped working. Contacted them and was told it was an old style router installed. They performed a firmware update. My printer worked for all of a week then went tits up after that. No matter how I tried I wouldn't connect up. In the end used my smartphone WiFi hotspot to connect.
    Avoid Post Office broadband at all costs. It's the Ryanair of BT!! False economy
Get what you pay for
 · 23 days ago
Review
Cheap broadband deal promised 12/18mbps. get around 1 to 2mbps on a good day. Awful.
  • Package price
    3.5/5
  • Customer service
    0.5/5
  • Broadband speed
    0.5/5
  • Overall satisfaction
    0.5/5
Show more
0 people found the following review helpful

Find the best Post Office Broadband deals in your area

Just enter your postcode below to find the best Post Office Broadband deals

 
 

Post Office Features

How do I switch my broadband to the Post Office?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to the Post Office broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by the Post Office. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both the Post Office and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Post Office broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Post Office broadband calculator above to see which Post Office broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Post Office broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to the Post Office?

From the moment you order your new Post Office broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 10 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 10 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Post Office review logo

Post Office Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Post Office

Post Office Pro's

  • Below industry average Ofcom complaints in 2019
  • Very competitively priced
  • Free caller display and voicemail

Post Office Con's

  • Cheap, basic router
  • No TV options
  • No customer forum

Can I get Post Office broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Post Office broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to the Post Office and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Post Office broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Post Office broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (the Post Office). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.